Traders Count Losses As Fire Destroy Goods Worth Billions Of Naira In Edo

Date: 24-04-2024 2:48 pm (1 week ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 24-04-2024 02:48 PM (1 week ago)

Traders at Ekiosa Market in Benin City, Edo State, have begun tallying their losses in the wake of the fire that engulfed a section of the market in the early hours of Tuesday.

Daily Post reports that the market, located by Third Junction, Murtala Muhammed Way, has about 20 shops housing various items estimated to be billions of naira, destroyed by the inferno.

One of the victims, identified as Sani Yakubu, said the fire started between 1:30 am and 2 am.

Yakubu, who is also the caretaker of the building, estimated that traders lost goods worth billions of naira in the fire.

According to him, the fire started between 1:30 am and 2 am, and we don’t know the cause of the fire.

“I was at home when they called me that the building was on fire, and that they could not save their goods as the whole shops were on fire.

“Traders and Bureau De Change operators have shops here. Besides, the goods, dollars, euros, and other international as well as local currencies were burnt to ashes in the fire.

“Nobody took anything out of their shops, provisions, electronic gadgets, generators were destroyed. I can say that goods worth billions of naira were lost to the fire. Our hope is in God, and we believe it is an act of God,”
he said.

Another trader, Ugochinyere Francis, lamented that she lost over a million in the inferno that razed the shops.

“We couldn’t do anything when we came because the flame was much, that no one could go near it. I lost over a million naira, but I don’t want to cry, and I know God will take control.

“I have a shop here, and my mother also has a shop. I sell cosmetics and articles. They called me at about 2 am that our shops were on fire, but before we could reach there, the fire had already enveloped the whole shop. It was such that no one could go near,”
she added.

She, however, appealed to governments to come to their aid as their means of livelihood have been destroyed.

Others who also spoke on the development, however, called on the state government to assist them in starting a new life.

Posted: at 24-04-2024 02:48 PM (1 week ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 24-04-2024 04:40 PM (1 week ago)
na wa oooooo
Posted: at 24-04-2024 04:40 PM (1 week ago) | Grande Master
- fineboy77 at 24-04-2024 05:54 PM (1 week ago)
chai

Posted: at 24-04-2024 05:54 PM (1 week ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Tinubu’s Son On Chagoury’s Board Is A Conflict Of Interest Says Atiku

2. Heartbroken Father Mourns His 14yr Old Daughter Who Was Reportedly Poisoned in School

3. VIDEO: Church Service Comes To A Halt As Man Pulls Gun And Attempts To Shoot Pastor

4. Crystal Palace v Manchester Utd: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

5. "We Are Not Involved In Prince Harry, Meghan Visit To Nigeria" - British High Commissioner

6. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

7. VIDEO: Nollywood Actress & Ex-Beauty Queen, Ronke Tiamiyu Welcomes First Child

8. Former Kano State Governor, Shekarau’s Residence Razed By Inferno

9. Bayern Munich Considers Replacing Tuchel With Man Utd Rejected Coach, Ten Hag

10. Benue Man, Prince Matthew Regains Freedom From Kidnappers On His Birthday

11. VIDEO: Singer, Yemi Alade Berates House Demolition By Lagos Govt. Across The State

12. Actor, Murphy Afolabi’s Daughter Celebrates His Posthumous Birthday With Touching Note

13. Lagos Govt Shut Down 367 Churches, Mosques, Hotels, Others

14. 'My Father Justice Oputa Was Socrates Of Nigerian Supreme Court'– Charly Boy Says, Pays Tribute

15. NDLEA Intercepts 4,752kg Of Cannabis In Gas Tanker In Abuja

16. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

17. VIDEO; "Grammy Don Cast, Make We Manage Headies" – BBnaija’s Whitemoney

18. 'If You Have Erection, Size & Fertility Issues, Discuss It With Her Before Engaging Her' -Man

19. How Terrorists’ Explosion Devices Kill Seven Civilians In Borno

20. Two Police Officers, Three Vigilante Members Killed By Unknown Gunmen In Enugu

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

3. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

4. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

5. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

6. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

7. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

8. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria

9. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

10. Why I Am Hardly Seen in Public These Days - Veteran Actress, Stella Damasus Opens up (VID)