1. Chinua Achebe, 80, Nigerian, Novelist.jpg

1. Chinua Achebe, 80, Nigerian, Novelist

Description: 1. Chinua Achebe, 80,

Nigerian,

Novelist

The father of African literature authored the 1958 classic, Things Fall Apart which has been translated into over 50 languages and has sold over 10 million copies internationally. In September, Achebe made headlines when he turned down a $1million offer from American Hip-Hop act, Curtis Jackson (A.K.A 50 Cent) for permission to use the Things Fall Apart title for an upcoming movie. The renowned novelist is also an essayist, political critic and currently serves as Professor of African studies at Brown University, Rhode Island.

Comments

Geematrix

23-07-2012 12:22 PM
Senior Man.

Amypikin

23-07-2012 09:45 AM
Great man

mg777

23-07-2012 02:38 AM
He is the MAN.

ugdadiya

21-07-2012 07:02 PM
That is my father so far as literature is considered

BORN4NAIJA

21-07-2012 04:09 PM
THAT IS WHAT WE WANT IN AFRICA.AFRICA AHOO!!!!!

shakazulu

21-07-2012 03:58 PM
no one know him in african histiry so s a lie

jojohn

21-07-2012 01:31 PM
am proud of him keep it up  

RealOnyeigbo

21-07-2012 01:15 PM
HE IS AND REMAIN THE ICON OF AFRICAN LITERATURE.I became amazed when I travelled through Tanzania, Uganda, Namibia, Zimbabwe, South Africa, and later to Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, St. Vincent and Grenadines (SVG), and other Carriabbean Islands countries and heard that Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe of Nigeria is their Secondary school recommended Literature in English.I couln't believe my ears and the the praises being reigned on this ICON. He is more popular than most, if not, all Nigeria's Presidents and Prime Ministership.I became more proud to be an Igbo man where this LEGEND hails from. WE ARE PROUD OF YOU SIR.And Igbo people of Eastern Nigeria had added another International Literature and Noble Prize Winner, czar/figure - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, author of Half of Yellow Sun, Purple Hibiscus, etc.

PRINCENDY

21-07-2012 10:54 AM
HE ALSO MADE HEADLINES WHEN HE REJECTED CONSECUTIVELY THE NIGERIA,S HON OURS AWARD OF COMMANDER OF THE ORDER OF THE NIGER PROFFERED BY THE PRESENT GOVERNMENT IN PROTEST FOR THE IRREGULARITIES OF THE CONTEMPORARY GOVERNANCE.MY DEAR PROF. YOU ARE THE PRIDE OF THE IGBO NATION. SECOND ONLY TO DIM CHUKWUEMEKA ODUMEGWU OJUKWU, IKEMBA.MAY YOUR DAYS BE LONG.

jerrycee

21-07-2012 09:44 AM
Ride on papa

ucbooo

21-07-2012 08:46 AM
Respect Sir a true son of Igbo land we are proud of you and Nigeria will always be proud of you one love and may you live long Porf Respect large wella.................

desiresluv20

21-07-2012 08:41 AM
He deserve it

moriztuos

21-07-2012 08:35 AM
Give it to him

Ademola1494

21-07-2012 07:42 AM
Correct Pride of Nigeria.... May u life long.

richardyard

21-07-2012 06:15 AM
Am proud of my country Nigeria.

richardyard

21-07-2012 06:13 AM
Am proud of him.

bb4sure

21-07-2012 05:32 AM
you are an icon, we love u.

iykepower

21-07-2012 02:52 AM
Is honour for Igbos and  entire great Nigeria

kingpago

21-07-2012 02:45 AM
respect

ebbi

21-07-2012 01:33 AM
people like him gives me confidence i am a black man.

dlimelite

20-07-2012 11:53 PM
The great ledgend

Boogieplaza

20-07-2012 10:46 PM
A rare gem

Ifemylove

20-07-2012 09:37 PM
MAXIMUM RESPECT TO YOU SIR!

kingnoah

20-07-2012 03:46 PM
greatest, icon indeed

okorodennis

20-07-2012 01:57 PM
Naija we allwayz see u as an icon

okorodennis

20-07-2012 01:54 PM
Naija we allways see u as an icon.

emilink

20-07-2012 09:46 AM
We luv u

dorisedem29

20-07-2012 08:11 AM
Our great father we respect u

richi192

20-07-2012 06:59 AM
yes o our great Dude

dedonmicky

20-07-2012 06:13 AM
Great man you will be forever remember.

IamME

20-07-2012 05:33 AM
the MAN himself

Return to Gallery

Do you have photos that you would like us to publish? Send it to [email protected]