DEVINE CALL? "God chose me, even if I’m not the best" - President GEJ

Date: 16-04-2012 10:49 am (12 years ago) | Author: Akeem Jaffe Jaffa
- at 16-04-2012 10:49 AM (12 years ago)

President Goodluck Jonathan declared yesterday that his leadership of the country is by the grace of God and not necessarily because he is the best person available for the job.

Speaking at a prayer meeting at the State House, Abuja, the President said he and his team were put in charge of the nation’s affairs by divine will.

The breakfast meeting was to seek God’s intervention in the myriad of problems facing the country.

He said :”I always make my supplications to God that, in selecting me as the President of this country, the Vice President, the Governors, members of the national assembly, the ministers, we are not the best material but God knows why he chose us and we pray He should use us to change this country.

“We believe that with God using us collectively we will be able to transform this country. We all as Nigerians want a better country, we want a country that there would be peace, power, that will take care of our health needs, that we can move freely from one part of the country to the other, that our children will have hope.”

He expressed optimism that the problems were not too much for God to solve and Nigerians only needed to trust Him.

“With unwavering faith in God and renewed recommitment to the national cause by us all, I’m confident that Nigeria will emerge from these trying times a stronger, more united, more stable and more prosperous nation.

“Now than ever before, our nation’s leadership needs to rededicate itself to the realisation of the grand vision of one big strong multi-ethnic, multi-cultural, diverse but united nation which steered our founding fathers. We must live above those primordial tendencies which can only compromise our growth as a nation. We should be guided by the ideals of justice, equity, selflessness and above all the fear of God in every conduct public or private,” he said.

President Jonathan noted that the country can only attain its heights and endowment which God has destined if Nigerians are individually prepared to make the requisite sacrifice as “championing narrowing sectional causes does not add value to our national development efforts”.

On the promises he made during the electioneering campaign, he said:”Our administration was voted into office by overwhelming majority of Nigerians cutting across ethnic, social, cultural and even political barriers. We therefore owe all Nigerians the sacred duty to toil endlessly for the enhanced welfare and wellbeing of all. This is a duty I have vowed to commit my all to achieve.

“I am aware that the task of national transformation is daunting one, I am, however, more aware that there is nothing that God cannot do. With Him on our side I am confident every stumbling block on our way shall become a stepping stone into national rebirth. I assure you that our trials at all times for the greatest good of the greatest number guided always by the fear of God.”

Earlier in his message, the President of the Christian Association of Nigeria, Ayo Oritsejafor said it was pertinent that Nigeria builds an altar.

He identified four altars, the family, church, personal and national altar and said the gathering of the day was that of the national altar and at the national altar there is power to change the situation of Nigeria.

At the service were former Heads of state, Gen. Yakubu Gowon, Chief Ernest Shonekan, Kenya’s Vice President , Mr. Kalonzo Musyoka, Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Emeka Ihedioha, Governors Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom, Jonah Jang of Plateau, Peter Obi of Anambra and Adams Oshiomhole of Edo. Also in attendance were members of the federal cabinet and other presidential aides.

Posted: at 16-04-2012 10:49 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Idbabe at 16-04-2012 11:12 AM (12 years ago)
Am aware
Posted: at 16-04-2012 11:12 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- onyimau20 at 16-04-2012 11:27 AM (12 years ago)
Yesooooo, my president..I am aware that u are divinely chosen by God himself and there is nothing, absolutely nothing any humanbeing will do about that..You are the best and i pray that God will use u to quench this fire that is burning right now in the country.
Posted: at 16-04-2012 11:27 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ticho at 16-04-2012 01:35 PM (12 years ago)
Thief
Posted: at 16-04-2012 01:35 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- IqquodNineJar at 16-04-2012 01:37 PM (12 years ago)
He's a humble man. God will help our country through him.
Posted: at 16-04-2012 01:37 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- feelfee at 16-04-2012 02:48 PM (12 years ago)
for ue humility, God will raise you for greater fulfilment as Naija Presido
Posted: at 16-04-2012 02:48 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ssstrawberry at 16-04-2012 02:52 PM (12 years ago)
das true
Posted: at 16-04-2012 02:52 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Diamond4u at 16-04-2012 03:02 PM (12 years ago)
God bless u
Posted: at 16-04-2012 03:02 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Senegal at 16-04-2012 03:02 PM (12 years ago)
GEJ
Posted: at 16-04-2012 03:02 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- tippa at 16-04-2012 03:16 PM (12 years ago)
he really can't do nada, let's put on our armour & face lyf. he's nt d messiah...
Posted: at 16-04-2012 03:16 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- agbonson at 16-04-2012 03:33 PM (12 years ago)
then go and change him
Posted: at 16-04-2012 03:33 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- malvin2525 at 16-04-2012 03:46 PM (12 years ago)
 Cool
Posted: at 16-04-2012 03:46 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nonsovin at 16-04-2012 03:58 PM (12 years ago)
I BELIEVE YOU MY BROTHER, YOU ARE THE CHOSEN ONE. HOW I WISH THAT THOSE PEOPLE THAT CALL THEMSELVES BOKO HARAM WILL LEAVE YOU ALONE, FOR YOU TO FACE YOUR JOB. WE DONT ALWAYS VALUE WHAT WE HAVE UNTILL WE LOOSE IT, THEN WE WILL KNOW THE VALUE. GOD WILL SURELLY HELP YOU, YOU WILL SUCCEED IN JESUS NAME, AMEN!!
Posted: at 16-04-2012 03:58 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fuckinjoe2 at 16-04-2012 04:09 PM (12 years ago)
No weapon fashioned by muhammadeens and their agents that will harm you..........Amen.   you are choosing by God to rule us, go ahead Mr President.   Cool Cool

Posted: at 16-04-2012 04:09 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- habiziz at 16-04-2012 04:30 PM (12 years ago)
We know u are not the best. nobody will ever be. but i doubt if God chose u. cuz God chosen one will suffer no calamity or challenge, even though there are challenges, he/she will overcome then with jst raising one of his/her fingers. take joshua in the bible for an example and compare him with u. mtcheeew God chosen one indeed. Roll Eyes Angry
Posted: at 16-04-2012 04:30 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Shaunie at 16-04-2012 04:41 PM (12 years ago)
No one becomes a king without God chose him
Posted: at 16-04-2012 04:41 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- habiziz at 16-04-2012 05:11 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Shaunie on 16-04-2012 04:41 PM
No one becomes a king without God chose him

actually my brother. They do.  lets take dis back to the land of Canaan. after  joshua reign, and rested b4 our Lord, the isrealites turned dier back against him because they never believe nor had faith in him. they followed him because their king said so. after joseph death, the isrealites asked for a king to rule dem. Our Lord was angry becuz they didnt regard him as their king. they turned dier backs against him and worship the neighboring countries gods. they chose dier kings by "demselves" but they never knew  God chose the Kings to punish dem and bring misery to their Land. and here is where GEJ comes in. at least we should Thank Our Lord dat he is a christian. Nigeria now is no diffrent from the land of canaan back den. only few worshiped him.  but i know the Lord our God will rescue us from dis predicaments naija is facing today. remember God told moses or someone i cant remember dat if dere was one person dat obeys him in the Land of jerusalem? he will save the city. so i hope dat applies to nigeria too.
Posted: at 16-04-2012 05:11 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- bright332 at 16-04-2012 05:52 PM (12 years ago)
Even am not a prophet, But i believe what he said, From the first day i know that he is God chosen one,Cary go God is with alwaysd no matter what happen God is still God and he is with you my Presido
Posted: at 16-04-2012 05:52 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- bright332 at 16-04-2012 05:53 PM (12 years ago)
Even am not a prophet, But i believe what he said, From the first day i know that he is God chosen one,Cary go God is with you always no matter what happen God is still God and he is with you my Presido
Posted: at 16-04-2012 05:53 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- interpo77 at 16-04-2012 05:57 PM (12 years ago)
guud samon from GEJ,
Posted: at 16-04-2012 05:57 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac