"Northerners can return to Agriculture if Nigeria break up" - Northern Leaders

Date: 19-04-2012 8:21 am (11 years ago) | Author: Akeem Jaffe Jaffa
[1] 2 3 4 ... 10
- at 19-04-2012 08:21 AM (11 years ago)

Northern leaders took a swipe on their southern counterparts on Wednesday, saying they are not gaining anything from the present arrangement of the country and can therefore stand on their own if the country eventually breaks up.

The Northern leaders, who met under the auspices of the Arewa Elders Forum, said that even though they can afford to survive in a divided Nigeria, they have resolved not to be the cause of the breakup of the country.

One of the leaders of the new group and former Special Adviser to ex-President Olusegun Obasanjo on Food Security, Prof .Ango Abdullahi, told the Hausa service of the British Broadcasting Corporation monitored in Kaduna that the north has always been on its own and will continue to survive without the oil resources from the south.

Abdullahi, who was reacting to calls from southern leaders for the convocation of a Sovereign National Conference, said that some people are hiding under the agitation to show to the world that they were tired of staying in a united Nigeria.

We know this is an old call because it has been on for over 20 years. They have been saying this corporate existence of the country and the Federal system is faulty.

They are keen on sitting down to discuss what kind of arrangement would be conducive for Nigerians.  This is an old call and it is not a new thing… some people are hiding under the guise of this agitation to show that they are tired of staying in a united Nigeria.

Therefore, we have resolved that we are not going to be the cause of Nigeria breaking up; but if others decided that the country should be divided, and they insisted that Nigeria should break up, we won’t say no because we realized there is nothing we are getting from the current arrangement that other sections of the country are not getting.

“If they insisted, why don’t we sit down and talk? If at the end, everybody agree that Nigeria should be divided and if at the long run, everybody is satisfied that the country should break up, let it be”.

Speaking further on whether the north can stand on its own if the country breaks up, the former Vice Chancellor of Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria said that the North has always been on its own because the poor in the North has always been on his own. “He (the poor) feeds himself from what he cultivates in the farms and feeds Nigeria up till tomorrow.

It is possible if all Northerners would return to what their forefathers did through agriculture with which proceeds they built the North and Nigeria as a whole,” Abdullahi said.

http://247nigerianewsupdate.com/we-are-not-gaining-anything-from-nigeria-northern-leaders/

Posted: at 19-04-2012 08:21 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bomsiluv at 19-04-2012 08:31 AM (11 years ago)
Dem go gree enter bush?
Posted: at 19-04-2012 08:31 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MEND at 19-04-2012 01:31 PM (11 years ago)
Una neva see anyfin. Una must enta bush go do farm work. Shai una call Goodluck Jonathan say Him na Fisherman during election? Trap don catch una. All doz Abokis including Fateewase, Wilat, Ajani, Jublow, etc mek una go carry cutlass mek una go farm. Pikin wen say E mama nor go sleep, dat pikin sef go sleep?
Posted: at 19-04-2012 01:31 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- FBI_CIA at 19-04-2012 01:33 PM (11 years ago)
Just stop by to say Hi

Posted: at 19-04-2012 01:33 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- fextux at 19-04-2012 01:34 PM (11 years ago)
Wot will boko den do return to d baracks as northern army!!!!

Posted: at 19-04-2012 01:34 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- wilson200 at 19-04-2012 01:44 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: MEND on 19-04-2012 01:31 PM
Una neva see anyfin. Una must enta bush go do farm work. Shai una call Goodluck Jonathan say Him na Fisherman during election? Trap don catch una. All doz Abokis including Fateewase, Wilat, Ajani, Jublow, etc mek una go carry cutlass mek una go farm. Pikin wen say E mama nor go sleep, dat pikin sef go sleep?
laye-laye de pikin no fit sleep,dem never see anytin,i wonder de kain eye wey AJANNI,FATEEWASE & co go take look dat dia(ABOKI)broda wey spoil show(one nigeria)for dem.
Posted: at 19-04-2012 01:44 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- crusifixo at 19-04-2012 02:10 PM (11 years ago)
see him mouth.........person wey no know the difference between spade and shovel dey talk of agriculture...........
Posted: at 19-04-2012 02:10 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ssstrawberry at 19-04-2012 02:25 PM (11 years ago)
just imagine others dey pray for peace and others dey pray for bad and i know they are just doing dat for der selfish interest 
Posted: at 19-04-2012 02:25 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- rayOFsunshine at 19-04-2012 02:39 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Bachelorette on 19-04-2012 08:21 AM

Northern leaders took a swipe on their southern counterparts on Wednesday, saying they are not gaining anything from the present arrangement of the country and can therefore stand on their own if the country eventually breaks up.

The Northern leaders, who met under the auspices of the Arewa Elders Forum, said that even though they can afford to survive in a divided Nigeria, they have resolved not to be the cause of the breakup of the country.

One of the leaders of the new group and former Special Adviser to ex-President Olusegun Obasanjo on Food Security, Prof .Ango Abdullahi, told the Hausa service of the British Broadcasting Corporation monitored in Kaduna that the north has always been on its own and will continue to survive without the oil resources from the south.

Abdullahi, who was reacting to calls from southern leaders for the convocation of a Sovereign National Conference, said that some people are hiding under the agitation to show to the world that they were tired of staying in a united Nigeria.

We know this is an old call because it has been on for over 20 years. They have been saying this corporate existence of the country and the Federal system is faulty.

They are keen on sitting down to discuss what kind of arrangement would be conducive for Nigerians.  This is an old call and it is not a new thing… some people are hiding under the guise of this agitation to show that they are tired of staying in a united Nigeria.

Therefore, we have resolved that we are not going to be the cause of Nigeria breaking up; but if others decided that the country should be divided, and they insisted that Nigeria should break up, we won’t say no because we realized there is nothing we are getting from the current arrangement that other sections of the country are not getting.

“If they insisted, why don’t we sit down and talk? If at the end, everybody agree that Nigeria should be divided and if at the long run, everybody is satisfied that the country should break up, let it be”.

Speaking further on whether the north can stand on its own if the country breaks up, the former Vice Chancellor of Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria said that the North has always been on its own because the poor in the North has always been on his own. “He (the poor) feeds himself from what he cultivates in the farms and feeds Nigeria up till tomorrow.

It is possible if all Northerners would return to what their forefathers did through agriculture with which proceeds they built the North and Nigeria as a whole,” Abdullahi said.

http://247nigerianewsupdate.com/we-are-not-gaining-anything-from-nigeria-northern-leaders/

nothing do you
Posted: at 19-04-2012 02:39 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Lekan22 at 19-04-2012 03:29 PM (11 years ago)
We shall see.
Posted: at 19-04-2012 03:29 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- daddison at 19-04-2012 03:32 PM (11 years ago)
Thank you Prof Ango for telling us the mind of the North. Now that you are ready, let us then organize the National conference to agree on a peaceful home going. This is the time, right now!!
Posted: at 19-04-2012 03:32 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- sonarus at 19-04-2012 03:42 PM (11 years ago)
Nigeria's agricultural industry is very under utilized as it is would be nice if the north embraced agriculture well so as to up nigerias food produuction
Posted: at 19-04-2012 03:42 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Neglito at 19-04-2012 03:47 PM (11 years ago)
He is right, the North will survive on Agriculture.
Posted: at 19-04-2012 03:47 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Angelita2 at 19-04-2012 03:56 PM (11 years ago)
THE NORTH IS BETTER THAN ODA PART OF THIS COUNTRY SO SPLIT.
Posted: at 19-04-2012 03:56 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- britex100 at 19-04-2012 03:58 PM (11 years ago)
It is only a fool will point at his father with the left finger,after u idiots have filled ur pockets with proceeds frm crude oil,u want d country to divide so that ur felow ABOKIS will sufer frm generation to generation.Since u abokis want to go and sufer ngwa na,atleast the xpences of using our revenue to feed plenty ingrate frm the so called northern EWU will reduce.c as e dry lyk okporoko fish.
Posted: at 19-04-2012 03:58 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- malvin2525 at 19-04-2012 04:00 PM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed
Posted: at 19-04-2012 04:00 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- verah at 19-04-2012 04:21 PM (11 years ago)
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin lwkmd  abeg wetin remain again mak we break now....... na farm all of dem go die put all their people wen dey suffer frm malnourishmnt na him wan farm? i laff out loud ..... may they all farm to death.... wether them tink say agriculture na to plant bomb......... wetin dem knw wen them wan agric nt to talk of culture  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Posted: at 19-04-2012 04:21 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dizhadah at 19-04-2012 04:22 PM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 19-04-2012 04:22 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nice9ija at 19-04-2012 04:36 PM (11 years ago)
HAHAHA.... ME I DEY LARFF OOH
Posted: at 19-04-2012 04:36 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fuck_Muslims at 19-04-2012 04:47 PM (11 years ago)
see the old man face sef...............Oya make una enter bush go farm jor, so una wan milk us dry first b4 una farm?..................phyuk ALL MUSLIMS
Posted: at 19-04-2012 04:47 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 10