Should female children share in the family inheritance? (Page 3)

Date: 18-05-2012 5:14 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Vivian Johnson
1 2 [3] 4 5 6 ... 12
- helsinkinwata at 19-05-2012 08:54 AM (11 years ago)
Inasmuch as I don't condone chauvinism,I think the younger wife's idea is a little bizarre to me.Well,her argument should have been to have the inheritance distributed among the children,albeit not equitably.But,to say the sharing exercise should wait until her female children give birth to boys is kinda preposterous.She is indirectly saying her female children aren't supposed to partake in anything,prompting her suggestion about the future.That's like shooting yourself in the leg.She should know that in the part of the world where we come from,girls are treated with disdain when it concerns inheritance,even when it should be the prerogative of all.It's high time men gave women the freedom of expression because we are all equal before God.If you know what you stand for,go for it and don't quiver!
Posted: at 19-05-2012 08:54 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- helsinkinwata at 19-05-2012 09:02 AM (11 years ago)
I think this is peculiar to some Nigerian tribes or  let's say people.In Cameroon,everybody is equal.Fascinatingly,women stay at the forefront when inheritance distribution is concerned.They get first before male issues because they value them more.All in all,every single member of the family gets a share.There's absolutely no practice of gender inequality.Folks,I think this is the best kind of life we all should live,init?
Posted: at 19-05-2012 09:02 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Treasure2 at 19-05-2012 09:03 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: helsinkinwata on 19-05-2012 08:54 AM
Inasmuch as I don't condone chauvinism,I think the younger wife's idea is a little bizarre to me.Well,her argument should have been to have the inheritance distributed among the children,albeit not equitably.But,to say the sharing exercise should wait until her female children give birth to boys is kinda preposterous.She is indirectly saying her female children aren't supposed to partake in anything,prompting her suggestion about the future.That's like shooting yourself in the leg.She should know that in the part of the world where we come from,girls are treated with disdain when it concerns inheritance,even when it should be the prerogative of all.It's high time men gave women the freedom of expression because we are all equal before God.If you know what you stand for,go for it and don't quiver!
That is why men should share their properties while alife.
Posted: at 19-05-2012 09:03 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 19-05-2012 09:04 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: helsinkinwata on 19-05-2012 09:02 AM
I think this is peculiar to some Nigerian tribes or  let's say people.In Cameroon,everybody is equal.Fascinatingly,women stay at the forefront when inheritance distribution is concerned.They get first before male issues because they value them more.All in all,every single member of the family gets a share.There's absolutely no practice of gender inequality.Folks,I think this is the best kind of life we all should live,init?
Every child has a right in his/her father's property.
Posted: at 19-05-2012 09:04 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ozonadakar at 19-05-2012 09:41 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: confyworld on 18-05-2012 05:50 PM
the female children should concentrate on getting marry n leaving the house. They dont ve business with the properties pls
that is the correct answer to that.
Posted: at 19-05-2012 09:41 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Sophyrocks at 19-05-2012 09:41 AM (11 years ago)
@Lakman Special preference 4 one particular sex n downgrading of oda sex is calld wat? Abeg make i hear word! So its only wen som pple r comin 2 pay ur daughter's bride price u wil knw her value? Nigeria shud grow up jare!

Posted: at 19-05-2012 09:41 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Treasure2 at 19-05-2012 09:44 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ozonadakar on 19-05-2012 09:41 AM
that is the correct answer to that.
May God give you only females ooo.
Posted: at 19-05-2012 09:44 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ozonadakar at 19-05-2012 09:55 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Ifemylove on 18-05-2012 11:58 PM
no be as dem born male child, dem still born d females?
it's only in benin they believe in such tradition, even seff d benin pple dey gv small portion 2 d females..
i totally disagree wit u dear......in my family, everything is been shared equally, even in d female child is 3 months old.....
in your family everthing is been shared equally, go home and ask question, how can you shar things equally with your father's first son, then take urs to ur husband who is not even a menmber of the family.
Posted: at 19-05-2012 09:55 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- franciskingjnr4 at 19-05-2012 09:55 AM (11 years ago)
Rubbishhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
Posted: at 19-05-2012 09:55 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- ozonadakar at 19-05-2012 09:56 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: needluv on 19-05-2012 01:18 AM
In a good family with understanding the female kids and their mother would be given 1 house even if is not the best house among the houses but the must be given 1 house except the man have written his will that the female should not be given a house then the boys would on their own have a general compensation that any of the lady who wishes to live in any of those houses with their husband would not pay house rate on the flat given to them.
good talk
Posted: at 19-05-2012 09:56 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Princestevo at 19-05-2012 09:56 AM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 19-05-2012 09:56 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- youngeazy at 19-05-2012 09:57 AM (11 years ago)
 yes de female ve de right 2 ve their own share in de house, coz 2mrrow if dere husband insult them so dat dey can see wht dey use in taking care of de children and there life so dat dey will nt fall a victim of having affair in another man's wife or all dis rubbish life
Posted: at 19-05-2012 09:57 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Princestevo at 19-05-2012 09:57 AM (11 years ago)
make una no count female out oo they follow
Posted: at 19-05-2012 09:57 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ozonadakar at 19-05-2012 09:59 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: lakman on 19-05-2012 03:36 AM
this is not discrimination in igbo tradition the male children will inherit the man properties, except if the man will some to the daughters which is not the birth right of the first son. tradition is like a law it has being there b4 both are being married.
God bless broo u know much about igbo tradition
Posted: at 19-05-2012 09:59 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- steveoneal at 19-05-2012 10:03 AM (11 years ago)
GOOD QUESTION;;; FOR ME ITS 50/50 NO CHEATING ; SOMEONE SAID UP THERE THAT IT SHOULDNT BE SO COS THE FEMALE CHILD TAKES HERS TO ANOTHER MAN IF SHARED EQUALLY;; IS THE MALE CHILD NOT GONNA TAKE HIS TO ANOTHER FEMALE;; MORESO;; WHEN A MALE CHILD MARRIES; MOST IF NOT ALL HIS LOVE IF HIN BE TYPE OF MR ROMEO;; SHIFTS ALL HIS LOVE TO HIS SPOUSE;;;; SO IN MOST CASES; THE WOMEN TEND TO BE MERCIFUL AND CARING TO THEIR PARENTS;:;; BUT SUCH BARBARIC PRACTISE STILL EXIST IN SOME REGIONS ;;BUT NOT ALL;;;50/50 SHOULD BE THE RATIO
Posted: at 19-05-2012 10:03 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Treasure2 at 19-05-2012 10:04 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ozonadakar on 19-05-2012 09:59 AM
God bless broo u know much about igbo tradition
Am sure that you are a typical igbo man. Ndi aka gum.. Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 19-05-2012 10:04 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 19-05-2012 10:05 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: franciskingjnr4 on 19-05-2012 09:55 AM
Rubbishhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
Posted: at 19-05-2012 10:05 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 19-05-2012 10:05 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: steveoneal on 19-05-2012 10:03 AM
GOOD QUESTION;;; FOR ME ITS 50/50 NO CHEATING ; SOMEONE SAID UP THERE THAT IT SHOULDNT BE SO COS THE FEMALE CHILD TAKES HERS TO ANOTHER MAN IF SHARED EQUALLY;; IS THE MALE CHILD NOT GONNA TAKE HIS TO ANOTHER FEMALE;; MORESO;; WHEN A MALE CHILD MARRIES; MOST IF NOT ALL HIS LOVE IF HIN BE TYPE OF MR ROMEO;; SHIFTS ALL HIS LOVE TO HIS SPOUSE;;;; SO IN MOST CASES; THE WOMEN TEND TO BE MERCIFUL AND CARING TO THEIR PARENTS;:;; BUT SUCH BARBARIC PRACTISE STILL EXIST IN SOME REGIONS ;;BUT NOT ALL;;;50/50 SHOULD BE THE RATIO
Just for you... Kiss
Posted: at 19-05-2012 10:05 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- patbest at 19-05-2012 10:14 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: aso4life1 on 19-05-2012 04:02 AM
The female has the same right ....so she has the right to claim anything in her father's house

Even when she want to claim the owner of her father's house when her brothers are there, a woman her right in her husband's house and not in her father's house, it is the men that stay behind and keep the family name going. so stop all this ur equal right.

If ur father has one house will u allow ur sister to start fighting u onto who will inherit the house, wake up guy
Posted: at 19-05-2012 10:14 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- moriztuos at 19-05-2012 10:19 AM (11 years ago)
Sure i do think so
Posted: at 19-05-2012 10:19 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 2 [3] 4 5 6 ... 12

1. Disgraceful Videos Of Student Bullying In Nigeria's Boarding School, Lead British School Abuja

2. Kenyan Police Reportedly Arrest Binance Executive, Nadeem Anjarwalla Who Fled Nigeria

3. SAD: Five Missing Children Found Suffocated To Death Inside Car In Niger State

4. Many Dead As Two Navy Helicopters Crash After Colliding Mid-Air In Malaysia

5. Police, Ogun State Govt On Trail Of Killers Of Babcock University Lecturer

6. 500 Lawyers Storm Supreme Court Over Planned Arrest Of Ex-kogi Gov, Yahaya Bello On Fraud

7. Total Blackout Hits Three States As Vandals Destroy TCN Towers

8. How Strange Illness Claims 8 Lives In Sokoto, 208 Cases Identified

9. Mercy Chinwo Not Aware EeZee Tee Treated Me Unfairly – Producer Dr Roy Says After Calling Her

10. NSCDC Intercepts 10 'Potential' Human Trafficking Victims In FCT

11. "Most Hit Songs In Nigeria Are Not Good Music" – Nigerian Singer Ric Hassani Claims

12. Naira Abuse: I’m Only Artist Who Stops Supporters From Spraying Me Says Seun Kuti

13. Singer, Fireboy Recounts How He Failed Trying To Copy Beyonce's Stage Presence

14. Kanye West Shocks Many As He Says He Wants To Have Threesome With Ex 1st Lady, Michelle Obama

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. Nigerian Man Introduces Innovative Solution For Money Spraying At Parties Amidst EFCC Crackdown

10. Owner of Cybercrime 'Yahoo Yahoo' Training School, Ikemesit Edet Jailed 10 Years in Uyo