Should female children share in the family inheritance? (Page 5)

Date: 18-05-2012 5:14 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Vivian Johnson
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 ... 12
- osamabinladin at 19-05-2012 12:24 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: patbest on 19-05-2012 10:24 AM

Do you know that when a woman get married she only come to her father's house for a visit this is because she has found a new family, the only people who can keep the family name going are the men who will stay by and also marry girls from another family to come and live with them.

Let me ask you a question, must Africans copy and live the way the white people do, every little thing you guys will say africa mentality, is white mentality the best Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?

If you tell me the girls deserve little things, something they can easily take along with them to their new family that will be ok, if the man has too many houses he can give any to he girls but the house most be located out the family compound or area, but should not be 50/50. That is just my opinion
Interesting
Posted: at 19-05-2012 12:24 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- smartiyke at 19-05-2012 12:37 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: helsinkinwata on 19-05-2012 08:54 AM
Inasmuch as I don't condone chauvinism,I think the younger wife's idea is a little bizarre to me.Well,her argument should have been to have the inheritance distributed among the children,albeit not equitably.But,to say the sharing exercise should wait until her female children give birth to boys is kinda preposterous.She is indirectly saying her female children aren't supposed to partake in anything,prompting her suggestion about the future.That's like shooting yourself in the leg.She should know that in the part of the world where we come from,girls are treated with disdain when it concerns inheritance,even when it should be the prerogative of all.It's high time men gave women the freedom of expression because we are all equal before God.If you know what you stand for,go for it and don't quiver!

Thank you
Posted: at 19-05-2012 12:37 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- georgecool at 19-05-2012 12:40 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: steveoneal on 19-05-2012 11:36 AM
YOU RE ARE RIGHT ON SPOT AND VERY CORRECT;;TELL THEM LET THEM HEAR AND STOP THIS INJUSTICE TO THE FEMALE CHILD;;;; IF I CAN ASK U WHERE YOU DEY FOR BRUSSELS??? ANDERLECHT; MOLENBEEK; SAINT GUIDON; OR 1000 BRUSSELS GRANDPLACE;;;

Brother na antwerpen i dey live ooo,Hoboken.....
Posted: at 19-05-2012 12:40 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- smartiyke at 19-05-2012 12:45 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ozonadakar on 19-05-2012 09:59 AM
God bless broo u know much about igbo tradition

It used to be, but, no more. Poor people go by those rules. People don't go by that law these days
Posted: at 19-05-2012 12:45 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- needluv at 19-05-2012 12:54 PM (11 years ago)
Africa culture is still the best on earth but I don't welcome any imprudent tradition just like traditional burial is imprudent, white man culture on woman having power over the men is imprudent and the worst in the history of man. people with good understanding of human nature and life would offer the ladies a share which would be written not for sale and family name unchangeable which would simple means the house must bear the ladies family name in order to protect them if any of their husband in future tries to sale or take it away from them but can be willed to their sons in the same ways as unchangeable family name and not for sale. It can be for sale when the need for it is reasonable and generally accepted by the family only excluding their husbands,elders and the wives of the male members of the family in fact no outsider needed .
Posted: at 19-05-2012 12:54 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- steveoneal at 19-05-2012 01:00 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: georgecool on 19-05-2012 12:40 PM
Brother na antwerpen i dey live ooo,Hoboken.....
ALRIGHT BROS;I SABI ANTWERP;I DEY FALL IN THERE SOMETIMES; ENJOY YOURSELF;; AND REMAIN BLESSED
Posted: at 19-05-2012 01:00 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ozonadakar at 19-05-2012 01:03 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: smartiyke on 19-05-2012 12:45 PM
It used to be, but, no more. Poor people go by those rules. People don't go by that law these days
guy the rules have nothing to do with been poor or not, no matter how poor a man can be he most at least have land or lands in his home town,  now you want to tell me that is such man pass way, his daughter  will come all the way from her husband house to come and take way land.

guy have you forget that once any a man pass away his first son is the next father of the family, his first son will take care of all of his belonging and us it to take care of others.
Posted: at 19-05-2012 01:03 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Fertymor at 19-05-2012 01:07 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: confyworld on 18-05-2012 05:50 PM
the female children should concentrate on getting marry n leaving the house. They dont ve business with the properties pls
... why are u talking like dis, is d Female not d man child also why are u people saying dis all bcos they are female but remember dat if GOD what to do something 4 people, HIS not going to say, u are d Brother so, u will be d only one dat will hv SUCCESS and d Sister will not hv... as 4 me o, as far as am concern, d FEMALE also hv d right in the inheritance bcos she is also d Late child but she may not hv up to d Male
Posted: at 19-05-2012 01:07 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fertymor at 19-05-2012 01:08 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: victory4life on 18-05-2012 06:13 PM
So what the man does not have any my son. But to be fair all children are entittle to the Will of there father so forget about male or female. They all have equal right
... I so much LOVE ur comment, u are right
Posted: at 19-05-2012 01:08 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- smartiyke at 19-05-2012 01:10 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: lakman on 19-05-2012 03:36 AM
this is not discrimination in igbo tradition the male children will inherit the man properties, except if the man will some to the daughters which is not the birth right of the first son. tradition is like a law it has being there b4 both are being married.

It is discrimination against women, in those days, women were considered as men's properties. A man goes out and marry as many wives as possible (to show how much wealth he has), the wives took cake of the man segxwally, worked around the house and had no say in the affairs of the house. Fortunately, things have changed and that law or whatever you called it will not hold water in court.
Posted: at 19-05-2012 01:10 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- maizaxx at 19-05-2012 01:14 PM (11 years ago)
I want to ask if all those boys were thieves and murders will they want to associate with them? So why the Segregation? Give them. Equal opportunities and entitlements
Posted: at 19-05-2012 01:14 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- smartiyke at 19-05-2012 01:20 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ozonadakar on 19-05-2012 10:30 AM
may God give you more wisdom, ur are true son of ur father.

God give him wisdom for what? You did not even what the women to get a penny. Please make up your mind, do you what them to get something or nothing - You just can not be on both sides. What are you. an Oh yes member or what?
Posted: at 19-05-2012 01:20 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- tippa at 19-05-2012 01:23 PM (11 years ago)
females are entitled to any family share.
Posted: at 19-05-2012 01:23 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- jossy4reall at 19-05-2012 01:24 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: smartiyke on 19-05-2012 11:44 AM
That is BS, it doesn't work like that these days hommie. Things are changing, are you sure that you are an Igboman?

I am not sure my brother ......so tell me ..,how it is been done in Igbo land now??

Posted: at 19-05-2012 01:24 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- smartiyke at 19-05-2012 01:25 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: mizcollins1 on 19-05-2012 11:50 AM
when there is peace in the family  wheather there is will or not the property still get share nicely.... but when there is greed or more than one wife! even when there is will  still  confusion develops Undecided

Thank you
Posted: at 19-05-2012 01:25 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- smile77 at 19-05-2012 01:27 PM (11 years ago)
who get the properties still die self
Posted: at 19-05-2012 01:27 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- smartiyke at 19-05-2012 01:30 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ozonadakar on 19-05-2012 01:03 PM
guy the rules have nothing to do with been poor or not, no matter how poor a man can be he most at least have land or lands in his home town,  now you want to tell me that is such man pass way, his daughter  will come all the way from her husband house to come and take way land.

guy have you forget that once any a man pass away his first son is the next father of the family, his first son will take care of all of his belonging and us it to take care of others.

True, but the woman should get something, I am sure that if something like that happens to you, you will give your sisters a little something and not take all.
Posted: at 19-05-2012 01:30 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- eoadex2003 at 19-05-2012 01:31 PM (11 years ago)
What of if none of them av a male child? begin a girl does not mean u don't av right in ur father's house no matter ao small it is, this is ao our great grand grand fore fathers has been doing it does not make it a right thing.
Posted: at 19-05-2012 01:31 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ozonadakar at 19-05-2012 01:32 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: smartiyke on 19-05-2012 01:20 PM
God give him wisdom for what? You did not even what the women to get a penny. Please make up your mind, do you what them to get something or nothing - You just can not be on both sides. What are you. an Oh yes member or what?
u too harsh for this matter, i am not saying that d women should not get any thing from their family inheritance, they should if there is enough to share, but not equally.
Posted: at 19-05-2012 01:32 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- denmal at 19-05-2012 01:32 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 19-05-2012 01:32 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 ... 12

1. Time To Tell The World - Primeboy Files Petition Against Mohbad's Widow, Wunmi Over Allegations

2. American Rapper, 50 Cent Faces Rap3 Accusations By Ex-girlfriend, Daphne Joy

3. Peter Obi Meets Labour Party's Edo State Governorship Candidate, Olumide Akpata (Photos)

4. VIDEO: AY Makun Shares Video Of Renovated Mansion Months After Fire Accident

5. "I’ve Not Touched My N120M" - Ilebaye Odiniya Debunks Financial Struggles Rumors On Snapchat

6. Gospel Artist, Chinyere Udoma Mourns Loss as Fire Destroys Lagos Music Studio (Video)

7. After Spending Two Years In Prison, Court Acquits 23-year-old Accused Of R*ping Girlfriend

8. “You No Go Pay”: Drama As Old Video Of Basketmouth Begging Wizkid For Free Promo Surfaces Onlin

9. Former BBNaija Contestant, Deji Morafa Attains Pharmaceutical License In The U.S.

10. Pregnant Woman, Mmesoma Odili Loses Baby During Detention Over Land Dispute In Anambra

11. Kano Police Apprehend 22 Suspected Hoodlums, Declare 30 Others Wanted (Photos)

12. 'You’re The Prettiest Woman In The World' - BBNaija's Angel Celebrates Mom On Her Birthday

13. Oxlade Raises Concerns About Treatment In Nigerian Music Industry

14. 'It Was All A Stunt' -Eniola Ajao Pleads Again, Begs Nigerians To Watch Her N200m Movie

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

6. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

7. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

8. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

9. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)

10. VID: 44yr Old Senegalese President-Elect Melts Hearts As He Flaunts His 2wives