The Best Nigerians Serve.

Date: 03-03-2009 6:42 am (15 years ago) | Author: Michael George
- at 3-03-2009 06:42 AM (15 years ago)
Let us put it this way for the sake of this article. That somebody is the governor of a state, local government chairman or president of a country does not make him or her wisest and all knowing individual. In my opinion, it will do us a lot of good if we get rid of the notion that people we elect or appoint into public offices are gods and that they know everything and need no help from us. (Continue below)

It is important, I say here, that these men and women, whether be it a governor or president, are human beings like us. Flesh and blood with a heart beating like that of yours and mine. And as humans, we are imperfect and are bound to making mistakes. Also, we may know what is good, but we are weak to know what is best for us and what is correct. So, the point I am trying to make is that it is not correct for us to sit in our houses and distances and shower blames on governments and public office holders. Instead, we should always participate in the process of governing, by reminding and making calls to our leaders to do the things that are necessary for us. I agree that the governor is one man. And it is true that he appoint people to work with him. But it is also true that it is impossible for them to reach out to evry one and everyehere. Where they cannot reach out to, we, as good citizens, should help by bringing that point to them. (Continue below)

We can give many examples in respect to all of these. Now, say, someone or a company has being given a contract to do a particular job and the person or company collects the money and refuse to do the job. We, as the people to benefit from this project should go to these fellows and demand for reasons why they have refused to do what they have collected money for. If they refuse to give any explanations, then we should go to the appropriate quarters and demand for actions against these people. By the time this happens up to ten times and made public, changes will begin to surface. (Continue below)

This is just one of many ways to  show that we all can make a different. What we need is a sense of concern, patriotism and determination to change our country. And I can assure you that just a little effort and determination, change will come. For, where determination is predominant, failure cannot dismantle the flag of success. If we all unite behind a single flag and form a common front to stand against; abandoned projects, corruption, neglect, man know man, lack of reliable power supply and clean drinking water for all and other nagging problems and anti-developmental practices, we will not only lift our land out of frustration, but we will be able to create a new world safer and more prosperous and leave it for the next generations. For, the unity of a people can change any system. (Continue below).

Fellow Niger-Deltans and Nigerians, we must put our country first in our public lives. If we change our current approach towards political, social, economic and moral issues, our lives will be better and our governments will function better. Our governors, especially, in the Niger-Delta, need our help and participation in the governing process. I know they do and if we can drop our anger and join hands in working with them now, they will do better and give us the opportunities we seek. Let us speak the truth always and contribute positively to our governments and stop making it a one man’s job to change the situation of things. There is no need to be afraid to speak the truth. For if we do the things we fear, then, the death of fear is certain.

George Esule Michael
Founder The Eagles Movement.

Posted: at 3-03-2009 06:42 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- hackynoni111 at 3-09-2015 03:30 PM (8 years ago)
naija for ever
Posted: at 3-09-2015 03:30 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bukolabk at 4-09-2015 11:33 AM (8 years ago)
i lov naija
Posted: at 4-09-2015 11:33 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming