The more you sit, the shorter your life span -Study

Date: 10-07-2012 1:07 pm (11 years ago) | Author: franel
- at 10-07-2012 01:07 PM (11 years ago)
«§» 10 July 2012

Too much time sitting and watching TV is taking years off your life expectancy, a study says. Researchers arrived at the conclusion from the results of five studies that explored the effects on nearly 167,000 people of sitting and watching television.

Peter Katzmarzyk, the study’s lead author and a professor at the Pennington Biomedical Research Center in Baton Rouge, La., said “…the study doesn’t establish a direct cause-and-effect relationship between sitting, TV watching and death. But the evidence suggesting an association between shortened lives and sedentary activities, like TV watching and driving, is piling up”

There also seems to be something about sitting itself that is bad for one’s health. Studies in both animals and humans have found that sitting leads to changes in resting glucose levels and blood pressure, and that lots of sitting bumps up levels of certain biomarkers of cardiovascular disease and cancer.

“The take-home message is clear: we may not know exactly why sitting is bad for you, but if you reduce the amount of time spent sitting, there are real health benefits,” the researchers said.

Katzmarzyk said since many people spend at least eight hours each day sitting at a computer, the workplace is an ideal place to start looking for ways to reform behavior. People can get up to talk to colleagues instead of emailing them, or spend a few minutes of their lunch breaks taking a short walk.  And of course, a good place to start making changes is by squeezing the recommended 30 minutes of exercise into every day.

Source: http://www.channelstv.com/home/2012/07/10/the-more-you-sit-the-shorter-your-life-span-study/

Posted: at 10-07-2012 01:07 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 10-07-2012 01:10 PM (11 years ago)
thank God its sitting n watching TV (am really not into watching TV only when its football) not My computer..... Grin

Posted: at 10-07-2012 01:10 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 10-07-2012 01:12 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: franel on 10-07-2012 01:07 PM
«§» 10 July 2012

Too much time sitting and watching TV is taking years off your life expectancy, a study says. Researchers arrived at the conclusion from the results of five studies that explored the effects on nearly 167,000 people of sitting and watching television.

Peter Katzmarzyk, the study’s lead author and a professor at the Pennington Biomedical Research Center in Baton Rouge, La., said “…the study doesn’t establish a direct cause-and-effect relationship between sitting, TV watching and death. But the evidence suggesting an association between shortened lives and sedentary activities, like TV watching and driving, is piling up”

There also seems to be something about sitting itself that is bad for one’s health. Studies in both animals and humans have found that sitting leads to changes in resting glucose levels and blood pressure, and that lots of sitting bumps up levels of certain biomarkers of cardiovascular disease and cancer.

“The take-home message is clear: we may not know exactly why sitting is bad for you, but if you reduce the amount of time spent sitting, there are real health benefits,” the researchers said.

Katzmarzyk said since many people spend at least eight hours each day sitting at a computer, the workplace is an ideal place to start looking for ways to reform behavior. People can get up to talk to colleagues instead of emailing them, or spend a few minutes of their lunch breaks taking a short walk.  And of course, a good place to start making changes is by squeezing the recommended 30 minutes of exercise into every day.
[/color]
Source: http://www.channelstv.com/home/2012/07/10/the-more-you-sit-the-shorter-your-life-span-study/

GBAM!!!

but what if overtime follow for the launch break... make i go for break and walk, or forget my money  Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Grin

Posted: at 10-07-2012 01:12 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- franel at 10-07-2012 01:18 PM (11 years ago)
woww, you are a football lover

Posted: at 10-07-2012 01:18 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- franel at 10-07-2012 01:22 PM (11 years ago)
dont over labor yourself Grin

Posted: at 10-07-2012 01:22 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 10-07-2012 01:56 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: franel on 10-07-2012 01:18 PM
woww, you are a football lover

yes oooo..  Grin Grin Grin..

i wont over labour mysef.. but i must sign the overtime  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 10-07-2012 01:56 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Idbabe at 10-07-2012 02:23 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 10-07-2012 01:10 PM
thank God its sitting n watching TV (am really not into watching TV only when its football) not My computer..... Grin

Who dey watch ur own football wen u play in ur bedroom?
Posted: at 10-07-2012 02:23 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 10-07-2012 02:30 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Idbabe on 10-07-2012 02:23 PM
Who dey watch ur own football wen u play in ur bedroom?

we dey watch ourselves for mirror naaaaaa  Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 10-07-2012 02:30 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Idbabe at 10-07-2012 02:45 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 10-07-2012 02:30 PM
we dey watch ourselves for mirror naaaaaa  Grin Grin Grin

Ok, now i understand.  Keep up the good work.  Ur big tommy is my joy/concern  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 10-07-2012 02:45 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Solidstonez at 10-07-2012 05:24 PM (11 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 10-07-2012 05:24 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Senegal at 10-07-2012 05:47 PM (11 years ago)
Hummm
Posted: at 10-07-2012 05:47 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Ecto at 10-07-2012 05:55 PM (11 years ago)
Make we no study again?

Na waao

Students no fit burn the mightnigh candle again
Posted: at 10-07-2012 05:55 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- HOPEA23 at 10-07-2012 06:11 PM (11 years ago)
true

Posted: at 10-07-2012 06:11 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Neglito at 10-07-2012 06:15 PM (11 years ago)
That means doing it doggy way can prolong my life kwa. From today na doggy no more missionary.
Posted: at 10-07-2012 06:15 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- xband at 10-07-2012 06:20 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 10-07-2012 06:20 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- BendelArmedRobb at 10-07-2012 06:54 PM (11 years ago)
una too much!!! coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this
Posted: at 10-07-2012 06:54 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 10-07-2012 07:22 PM (11 years ago)
what about siting on the computer? i mean been on the net for along time
Posted: at 10-07-2012 07:22 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- interpo777 at 10-07-2012 07:46 PM (11 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin, GUUD NEWS ATLEAST SOME GULS WILL NOT FIGHT REMOTE AGAIN WITH THEIR HOBBIES, MAKE THEM GO WORK NA OR THEY FACE SHORT LIFE SPAN
Posted: at 10-07-2012 07:46 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ZION7ZION at 10-07-2012 07:53 PM (11 years ago)
Well shaa, it depends on what you are watching on the Tv, if you are watching documentary on Bill gate, Donald Trump, Dangote etc, I doubt if it has any negative effect on human life,but watching Nigerian news at the moment ones life will reduce.
Posted: at 10-07-2012 07:53 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sammy111 at 10-07-2012 08:04 PM (11 years ago)
WAT ABOUT PEOPLE DAT SIT GLUE TO COMPUTER ALL DAY...HW IT GO BEE..BCOS ME  I DEY 4 SYSTEM MOST TYM
Posted: at 10-07-2012 08:04 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming