We’ll die if we live on land: Displaced Makoko residents tell Fashola

Date: 20-07-2012 1:33 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Master John Adikpe
- at 20-07-2012 01:33 PM (11 years ago)
Seven-year-old Friday Joseph was born in Oko-Agbon, one of the sprawling slums on the Lagos Lagoon, by Makoko. He lives with his parents in one of the wooden shanties precariously erected on the blackish waters of the Lagos Waterfront. He sleeps, wakes and fishes with his other siblings on the putrid environment in which human excreta, repulsive wastes and all sort of debris freely float. He has not seen the four walls of a classroom, but he’s well schooled in the art of fishing and swimming. For his age, Friday can, with expertise, navigate a canoe through the labyrinth of passages criss-crossing the floating homes in the area.

However, the peace and carefree lifestyle enjoyed by this youngster was abruptly shattered with the recent demolition of homes on the lagoon.  Speaking in Yoruba, he said: “I have been sleeping inside our canoes with my two brothers and sisters since Monday when our house was destroyed by the government. Yesterday, it rained heavily in the midnight and it fell on me and my parents. The sun has been hard on us because we don’t have any roof over our heads.” Most of the residents, who are migrants, are mainly Egun from Lagos and Ogun States, Ilaje and Ijaw from Ondo State, as well as the Ijaws from Delta, Bayelsa and Rivers State live and engage mainly in fishing. Some others sell foodstuff, firewood and fish to make pittance for daily survival. Close proximity to high tension cables and the Third Mainland Bridge, continued development of shanties and unwholesome structures on the Lagos waterfront were reasons given for the recent demolition of homes erected on the lagoon.

The unusual quietness and gloomy faces of people sitting and floating in hundreds of canoes on the water spoke volume about their losses. The canoes have turned to homes and they have refused to put up temporarily with those living on land at the edge of the lagoon. This development has disrupted their means of livelihood, as most have not been able to fish and trade since the demolition took place.

“We can’t live on land. Half of us would die within a year,” blurted Benjamin Wuse, an undergraduate of University of Abuja.  “My parents and ancestors lived all their lives on water. It’s like taking a fish out of water to live on land. The fish would definitely die. If we live on land, how do we monitor our boats and fishing nets?

We don’t deserve this from the Lagos State government. “ With bloodshot eyes still brimming with tears, Margaret Odeinde, a grandmother narrated that when men of the Kick Against Indiscipline (KAI) stormed their area, most of them were still fast asleep.    She said but not for her swift move, her one-month-old grandchild would have drowned when their hut was slashed from the root.

Source: http://www.sunnewsonline.com/news-plus/article/we%E2%80%99ll-die-if-we-live-land

Posted: at 20-07-2012 01:33 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Idbabe at 20-07-2012 02:02 PM (11 years ago)
They will not die, bring them to the land
Posted: at 20-07-2012 02:02 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ugonwenyi at 20-07-2012 02:28 PM (11 years ago)

Hello my dearest.
How are you? Hope you are doing well.
My name is Miss gladise I'm 23 years old, single and never married, I am 5 feet 8 inches tall and weigh 64 kilos.

My interests/activities, and reading, sports, surfing the Internet, watching TV, and cooking. I'm also passionate about family, friends and love ones.i love your profil ,and i will like to know you more
here is my private mail box,[email protected]
i will be glad to hear from you,thanks

Posted: at 20-07-2012 02:28 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Fuck_Muslims at 20-07-2012 02:37 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ugonwenyi on 20-07-2012 02:28 PM
Hello my dearest.
How are you? Hope you are doing well.
My name is Miss gladise I'm 23 years old, single and never married, I am 5 feet 8 inches tall and weigh 64 kilos.

My interests/activities, and reading, sports, surfing the Internet, watching TV, and cooking. I'm also passionate about family, friends and love ones.i love your profil ,and i will like to know you more
here is my private mail box,[email protected]
i will be glad to hear from you,thanks

[/quote

God don catch you today, u don mistakenly post am here make the world see you.......419 no be work, shame on you
Posted: at 20-07-2012 02:37 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- dlimelite at 20-07-2012 02:59 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 20-07-2012 02:59 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 20-07-2012 02:59 PM (11 years ago)
This is sad
Posted: at 20-07-2012 02:59 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- lanudja at 20-07-2012 04:36 PM (11 years ago)
Really sad... I feel for them
Posted: at 20-07-2012 04:36 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- chicco77 at 1-08-2012 07:41 PM (11 years ago)
 Angry
Posted: at 1-08-2012 07:41 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- patriotoipoi at 5-02-2014 08:38 PM (10 years ago)
why would the state governor demolish those huts on the water without first providing adequate alternative accommodation for them ? Is this how he serves his religion ? why be so heartless ? So he does not care about the deaths that will result from this ?
Posted: at 5-02-2014 08:38 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie