Nigeria's black Jews re-discovered?

Date: 24-07-2012 3:13 am (11 years ago) | Author: Tony Ladipo
[1] 2 3 4 ... 27
- at 24-07-2012 03:13 AM (11 years ago)
New Yorker's documentary takes an in-depth look at Jews in Nigeria and their path at rediscovering Jewish heritage.

Tali Farkash

Published:    07.14.12, 08:28 / Israel Jewish Scene

Jews of Nigeria

A new documentary by New Yorker Jeff Lieberman called Re-Emerging: The Jews of Nigeria is taking an in depth look into one of the most unique 'Jewish' communities in the world:

Lieberman's film is a rare testimonial to the daily life of a group that for years has been living off the official Jewish radar and in a political atmosphere of massacres between Christians and Muslims with the constant threat of destruction over their heads. Vibrant and joyous it celebrates what it sees as its Jewish roots. Make no mistake this is Africa but African Jewish style.
So how did Jews get to Africa? And why has no one heard of this community until now? That question has a simple enough answer: The group is part of one of the largest ethnics in Nigeria.

Trailer - Re-Emerging: The Jews of Nigeria

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=q_6fAI5pGcg#!

Lieberman explains that the unique situation of the community in Nigeria is a direct result of a local history.
The similarities between what the missionaries brought with them and the ancient tribal traditions led to mass-conversion to Christianity. The fact that Christians also offered a life of economic security helped.

According to Lieberman, within this huge tribe, lives a community that still defines itself as Jewish in every way. In fact, Lieberman said that should they be offered the opportunity to convert to Judaism they would be offended. In their eyes, they are as Jewish as any other Jew.

When the internet came into the picture, some of the people there tried to use it to understand what it means to be Jewish. Their location and inaccessibility to the outside world did not allow them to learn about Jews and Judaism before the internet age.

The release date for this documentary is yet to be announced.[/color][/font]

This article is an edited version click the link below for the full story, comments or more information:
http://www.ynetnews.com/articles/0,7340,L-4253145,00.html

Please let’s not bash or attack each or other over this interesting story and perhaps we should all start tracing our roots.

Posted: at 24-07-2012 03:13 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- feferiti at 24-07-2012 05:09 AM (11 years ago)
arrant non-sense the jews knows them self,there is no way indulges in any religious make you jews,they found their fellow jew in  ethiopia they went to carry those that agrees to follow them,but for nigeria case even if the country is as rich and develop like u.s.a no jews govt will make such mistakes,been a christian does make you jew,rather christ follower,some ppl in nigeria do not their ancestors,and they are pushing their selves to holy land ,to destroy it with arm robber,kidnapping,419,drugs,violence and terrorism just for money.
Posted: at 24-07-2012 05:09 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- winace at 24-07-2012 06:07 AM (11 years ago)
Ok which part of nigeria is dis jews.
Posted: at 24-07-2012 06:07 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fuckinjoe2 at 24-07-2012 06:50 AM (11 years ago)
There are more Igbo's converting to Judaism than any tribe in the world..........Even though there have been a lot of historical, archaeological and scientific proof of Igbo's Origin from Israel........but i do not accept the Idea of converting to Judaism.         the Igbo's of Imo and Abia State please take note, it's more rampant in this 2 states.        Shalom...

Posted: at 24-07-2012 06:50 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dlimelite at 24-07-2012 07:38 AM (11 years ago)
INTERESTING
Posted: at 24-07-2012 07:38 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- feferiti at 24-07-2012 09:03 AM (11 years ago)
@phyukinjoe2,we needs fact not noise,is not what you are converted too or what you practiced,purely who you are,where are you from ancestral background,culture,history,there is no linkage.let us stop deceiving our self,ethiopia do not approach tel aviv,before they found that they have brother and sisters there.igbo man you fit do 419 or robbed,for there oooooooo 
Posted: at 24-07-2012 09:03 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- sugarpepper at 24-07-2012 12:21 PM (11 years ago)
u people are just crazy.......who told u dat the igbo man is jew.......mad people.......
Posted: at 24-07-2012 12:21 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- richi192 at 24-07-2012 12:33 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 24-07-2012 12:33 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Neglito at 24-07-2012 12:44 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: feferiti on 24-07-2012 05:09 AM
arrant non-sense the jews knows them self,there is no way indulges in any religious make you jews,they found their fellow jew in  ethiopia they went to carry those that agrees to follow them,but for nigeria case even if the country is as rich and develop like u.s.a no jews govt will make such mistakes,been a christian does make you jew,rather christ follower,some ppl in nigeria do not their ancestors,and they are pushing their selves to holy land ,to destroy it with arm robber,kidnapping,419,drugs,violence and terrorism just for money.

With all due respect sir, I'd rather advice you go back to school because there is nothing as dangerous as being a half-baked. I can't understand what you meant having read your comment.
Posted: at 24-07-2012 12:44 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Treasure2 at 24-07-2012 12:50 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: sugarpepper on 24-07-2012 12:21 PM
u people are just crazy.......who told u dat the igbo man is jew.......mad people.......
Posted: at 24-07-2012 12:50 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- babydesire at 24-07-2012 12:55 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: sugarpepper on 24-07-2012 12:21 PM
ASK DEM COS ME KNOW KNOW Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 24-07-2012 12:55 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aso4life1 at 24-07-2012 01:09 PM (11 years ago)
Our Igbo Jews in the house, please signify by raising up your hands....haha!

THE HOT AMALA with GBEGIRI & EWEDU wey i dey chop dey sooth me more than this JEWISH story...Naija I hail o

Posted: at 24-07-2012 01:09 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- proly at 24-07-2012 01:10 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 24-07-2012 01:10 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- exever100 at 24-07-2012 01:12 PM (11 years ago)
noise pollution nonsense
Posted: at 24-07-2012 01:12 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 24-07-2012 01:12 PM (11 years ago)
PAPADIP, nice post there...you finally got it...This post is far better than some posted news without source, or showing us women ass, its educating, discus-sable,expository and so on

Posted: at 24-07-2012 01:12 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- aso4life1 at 24-07-2012 01:13 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: phyukinjoe2 on 24-07-2012 06:50 AM
There are more Igbo's converting to Judaism than any tribe in the world..........Even though there have been a lot of historical, archaeological and scientific proof of Igbo's Origin from Israel........but i do not accept the Idea of converting to Judaism.         the Igbo's of Imo and Abia State please take note, it's more rampant in this 2 states.        Shalom...

phyukingjoe how you dey?  are you now a JEWISH-IGBO now? when you go convert?

Posted: at 24-07-2012 01:13 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- daddison at 24-07-2012 01:15 PM (11 years ago)
I'm happy my people are rediscovering their roots. No wonder we are indestructible despite all the atrocities committed against us by the Nigerian nation. God own people cannot be destroyed.
Posted: at 24-07-2012 01:15 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- HOPEA23 at 24-07-2012 01:31 PM (11 years ago)
Hahaha just
Laughing and passing

Posted: at 24-07-2012 01:31 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- jamesbondchick at 24-07-2012 01:34 PM (11 years ago)
Madness in practice, e go soon start!

Posted: at 24-07-2012 01:34 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jamesbondchick at 24-07-2012 01:34 PM (11 years ago)
Madness in practice, e go soon start!

Posted: at 24-07-2012 01:34 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 27

1. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

2. Man Catches His Wife In Bed With Another Man, Stabs Her To Death With Knife In Imo

3. American Idol Star, Mandisa Lynn Hundley Found Dead At Her Nashville Home

4. IMF Urges Nigeria To Remove Fuel Subsidies: Here's Why

5. 45-Year-Old Man, Samson Adedokun Defiles His 16-Year-Old Daughter Inside Their Home In Lagos

6. Man Detained For Trying To Sneak Into London-Bound Airplane

7. Five-Year-Old Boy Dies After Falling From Fence While Playing With His Friends In Lagos

8. Tragic As Suspected Fulani Militia Kill Plateau State Uni Student, Dading James Jordan

9. Eight Nigerians Arrested For Assaulting Police During Drug Raid In Northern Cape, S/Africa

10. Fatal Collision Claims Two Lives, Leaves Three Injured On Ijebu-Ode-Ore-Benin Expressway

11. Nigerian Skit Maker & Actress, Taaooma Embraces Fame Despite Criticisms

12. President Tinubu Commends Nigerian Chess Maestro For Guinness World Record Achievement

13. "Nigerians Don’t Deserve Me" - Nigerian Hip-Hop Sensation Vic O Reveals As He Quits Music

14. Vice President Shettima Foresees Nigeria's Economic Ascendancy Under Tinubu Presidency

15. Nicki DaBarbie Recalls Skiibii's Ex-Girlfriend's Allegations In Ritual Drink Controversy (Video

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

4. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

7. Tragedy As Two Teenage Girls Drown As Canoe Capsizes In Niger State

8. Actor, Yul Edochie Mocks Comedia, AY Makun Over His Failed Marriage

9. PDP NEC Meeting: Tensions Rise Within Wike’s Camp As Gov. Makinde Dumps G-5 Governors

10. Alleged Naira Abuse: Singer, Davido Reacts To Cubana Chief Priest’s Bail