Police arrest man, 35, over girlfriend’s death

Date: 05-08-2012 8:35 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Pat Chinsley
- at 5-08-2012 08:35 PM (11 years ago)
By Ruth Chukwuemeka

Residents of Idikan Street in Akesan area of Lagos, are currently gripped with fear following the death of a 22-year-old lady who reportedly bled to death after allegedly taking some drugs to abort her five months old pregnancy.

Already the lady’s boyfriend, Monday Edeye has been arrested, in connection with the death of his girlfriend, Tolani Adeuja. Monday who is at the Homicide section of the dreaded State Criminal Investigation Department (SCID), Yaba, allegedly gave Tola, as she was popularly called , some tablets to terminate the pregnancy.

The love birds, as gathered, had been going out until Tolani discovered that she was pregnant., She was said to have hidden the pregnancy from her family, apparently thinking the relationship would result into marriage. But when it became evident that there was no plan for marriage soon, the love birds reportedly opted for an abortion. Although Tola was said to have expressed fears but was assured that nothing would happen to her.

When Crime Guard visited the area on Thursday, the residents kept mute,saying they did not want to get into trouble. When our reporter visited the street where the suspect resides, his family members were seen but they refused to grant audience to Crime Guard.

There were however, two versions of how Tolani met her unprepared death. A version said her 35 year-old boyfriend bought some drugs from a medicine store and instructed her to take it. But immediately after that, she reportedly started having stomach pains, which resulted in profuse bleeding.

Another version said she was taken to a quack doctor who reportedly carried a D and C on her . But on reaching her boyfriend’s house, she reportedly started bleeding, in the process of which she fainted.She was thereafter rushed to the hospital where unfortunately was certified dead.

A resident who simply gave his name as James when approached said, “ nobody will speak with you because we do not know the one we will say that will put us into trouble. The only thing I can say is that yes, the incident happened and we are all making effort to release Monday.

We have even contributed money to that effect . He was not the person that gave Tola the drugs. Whoever told you that lied. She was taken to the hospital . It is only God who knows what happened. Policemen from Igando later came and arrested Monday. Since then , he has not come home” James said.

via Vanguard

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2012/08/police-arrest-man-35-over-girlfriends-death/

Posted: at 5-08-2012 08:35 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- BendelArmedRobb at 6-08-2012 10:13 AM (11 years ago)
Naija i hear say Usain Bolt is origin from Nigeria    Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes   E real name na Olamide Olusegun Usain Balogun . Naija una too much oo  coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Posted: at 6-08-2012 10:13 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BendelArmedRobb at 6-08-2012 10:31 AM (11 years ago)
dis people Boko haram and goodluck jonathan beef never stil finish    Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes    Naija una too much oo  coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Posted: at 6-08-2012 10:31 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 8-08-2012 01:55 PM (11 years ago)
 Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad
Posted: at 8-08-2012 01:55 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero