Jamaica Smashes World Record To Win Men’s 4×100 Relay, Canada Disqualified

Date: 12-08-2012 12:09 am (11 years ago) | Author: franel
- at 12-08-2012 12:09 AM (11 years ago)
«§» 12 August 2012

Usain Bolt got the gold medal and another world record, too, anchoring the Jamaicans to victory in 36.84 seconds Saturday night to cap off his second straight 3-for-3 Olympics.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zH6os9HKLcM" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zH6os9HKLcM</a>

The United States finished in 37.04 seconds, the old world-record time set by Bolt and the Jamaicans last year. Trinidad & Tobago got the bronze medal when Canada was disqualified after finishing third.

Bolt had already won the 100 and 200 gold medals to become the first person to go back-to-back in both Olympic sprints.

The race was pretty much even when Bolt and Ryan Bailey received the baton for the homestretch, but Bolt pulled away to help Jamaica set the relay record for the third time since 2008.

The men’s 4×100 relay ended in tears for the Canadian team.

The foursome of Gavin Smellie, Seyi Smith, Jared Connaughton and Justyn Warner crossed the line in the race in bronze medal position but was disqualified soon after for a lane violation.
Jared Connaughton admitted he stepped on the line. “The rule’s pretty unforgiving,” he said to Farhan Lalji of CTV. “I’m sorry for costing my teammates a medal.”

Posted: at 12-08-2012 12:09 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- mylittleman at 12-08-2012 02:50 AM (11 years ago)
My god...what happened?
I turned my back for a minute and now this PLEASE GISTAMEMI
give us back the old Naijapals.....and my pictures... and profile   and pals
I spent hoiurs decorating my profile with music etc.....this new N/Pals STINKS ... UGHH !!!
Posted: at 12-08-2012 02:50 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- aso4life1 at 12-08-2012 04:37 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: mylittleman on 12-08-2012 02:50 AM
My god...what happened?
I spent hoiurs decorating my profile with music etc.....this new N/Pals STINKS ... UGHH !!!
Gistamania sucks, people will be leaving the site

Posted: at 12-08-2012 04:37 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Originalsly at 12-08-2012 05:44 AM (11 years ago)
My god...what happened?
   I agree.
Posted: at 12-08-2012 05:44 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- nonsovin at 12-08-2012 07:25 AM (11 years ago)
My god...what happened?
OK NAA!  I THINK SAY NA FOR MY COMPUTER ONLY THE TIN CHANGE, THE TIN REACH YOUR SIDE TOO? ?  WAHALA DEY OO!   NAIJAPALS WHY UNA COME CHANGE THIS SITE NAA?  ME I NO LIKE AM LIKE THIS OO!  I PREFER AS THE TIN DEY BEFORE,  MAKE UNA GO PUT AM AS D TIN DEY BEFORE OO!
Posted: at 12-08-2012 07:25 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vantheo at 12-08-2012 07:30 AM (11 years ago)
Na wa oh. Is this naijapals or nairaland? Huh?

Posted: at 12-08-2012 07:30 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Aquarium at 12-08-2012 08:19 AM (11 years ago)
Honestly,i prefer the other naijapals interface. Come on, this one sucks. Back to Bolt, i assure guys that i'm gonna beat that guy in the next olympics. I'll give you the time of 8:10s.

Posted: at 12-08-2012 08:19 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Senegal at 12-08-2012 09:15 AM (11 years ago)
This site sucks, Naijapals administrator what is going on?
Posted: at 12-08-2012 09:15 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- blessland at 12-08-2012 11:16 AM (11 years ago)
Which kind mess site b dis? abeg we need d old one back. this is rubbish.
Posted: at 12-08-2012 11:16 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Donjaxy at 12-08-2012 11:23 AM (11 years ago)
This site sucks please change it

Posted: at 12-08-2012 11:23 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- denmal at 12-08-2012 12:49 PM (11 years ago)
comfirm
Posted: at 12-08-2012 12:49 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Jonso at 12-08-2012 01:16 PM (11 years ago)
You all echo my feelings too. I prefer the old site.
Posted: at 12-08-2012 01:16 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- toibeli at 12-08-2012 03:22 PM (11 years ago)
Did the site administrators ever contact/poll the NP members b/4 making this change?
Posted: at 12-08-2012 03:22 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Nigayoyo at 12-08-2012 05:36 PM (11 years ago)
Methinks the original Naijapals was attacked by virus because I do see an alert warning me of malicious files being hosted by this site. I'm sure it's gonna get better with this new site...goodluck
Posted: at 12-08-2012 05:36 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Neglito at 12-08-2012 06:15 PM (11 years ago)
Na so Naija thing be, how can they do this without prior notification. Anyway, the Jamaican team is indeed a dream team.
Posted: at 12-08-2012 06:15 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- seeuthere22 at 12-08-2012 08:21 PM (11 years ago)
status quo pls...before i change my mind......cos this is garbage....
Posted: at 12-08-2012 08:21 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- 9jabreed at 13-08-2012 01:17 AM (11 years ago)
everybody dey disown naija , make naijapals still remain? they change the name and color from nija color and name hai!!!

Posted: at 13-08-2012 01:17 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- BiafranBabe at 13-08-2012 01:21 AM (11 years ago)
My god...what happened?

Bad government and autocracy is everywhere not only at the federal and state level
Posted: at 13-08-2012 01:21 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- deboalabi262 at 13-08-2012 02:08 AM (11 years ago)
Welldone Bolt...

Posted: at 13-08-2012 02:08 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Nicksam at 13-08-2012 09:05 AM (11 years ago)
JAMAICAN HAVE TRIED....BOLT REMAIN THE BEST
Posted: at 13-08-2012 09:05 AM (11 years ago) | Hero