courting in marriage is it really necessary?

Date: 14-08-2012 10:36 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Okonkwo ore
[1] 2 3 4
- at 14-08-2012 10:36 PM (11 years ago)
HI my naijapalers, i don come again. i was going through a confession now and pals where crucifying the confee for the length of time she dated her hubby before marriage. so i want to know what do you think? how long do u need to[color=blue] beat your chest and say i know this person?[/color]. does the length of time for courting determine the chemistry of the couples, the happiness , love and how long the marriage will last? does this also assure that you wont have problems in your marriage? and is this length of time in courtship the gateway to null problems in marriage? or the solution of the future problems. my honourable pals lets get these place heated Wink whats your take on this?

Posted: at 14-08-2012 10:36 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jossy4reall at 14-08-2012 10:47 PM (11 years ago)
it does not determine hw long d marriage wil last and all dat.........but it helps 2 learn ur partner a bit and see if u can blend in wit him or her.....,thou d modern courtship allow d couples 2 fcuk out dia brains b4 they tie d knot...........but a solid marriage is the 1 built on love and understanding not courtship

Posted: at 14-08-2012 10:47 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- truenaija2 at 14-08-2012 11:04 PM (11 years ago)
 Grin Cool but it is presumed the key to longlasting happiness
Posted: at 14-08-2012 11:04 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jossy4reall at 14-08-2012 11:12 PM (11 years ago)
which 1 be presume kwa again??........ in dat case u can court 4 like 30 yrs.........if it doesn't work out den u part.., find anoda pesin and court 4 anoda 30yrs may be dat 2nd 1 will lead 2 marriage

Posted: at 14-08-2012 11:12 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- truenaija2 at 14-08-2012 11:20 PM (11 years ago)
 : Cheesy if e no lead u continue Lips Sealed  afterall were were ni ise oluwa. make i  no wnt talk go vex anybody  Cool
Posted: at 14-08-2012 11:20 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ice4jez at 15-08-2012 01:44 AM (11 years ago)
Thanks for dis topic.pple can be annoying.the same pple point fingers re now pple who can't say the time dey feel its ok for courtship.read wat u write pls before u post
Posted: at 15-08-2012 01:44 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Neglito at 15-08-2012 06:15 AM (11 years ago)
In relationship there's no such thing as IDEAL but I can say It's important that intending partners should know each other well before getting married.
Posted: at 15-08-2012 06:15 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DarkCoco at 15-08-2012 06:19 AM (11 years ago)
NEEVVVVEERRRRRR

Posted: at 15-08-2012 06:19 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 15-08-2012 07:14 AM (11 years ago)
no conment
Posted: at 15-08-2012 07:14 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Treasure2 at 15-08-2012 07:59 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Neglito on 15-08-2012 06:15 AM
In relationship there's no such thing as IDEAL but I can say It's important that intending partners should know each other well before getting married.
When you say well..what do you mean by that...Even in marriage is difficult to knw your wife/husband well..much more relationship.
Posted: at 15-08-2012 07:59 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 15-08-2012 09:17 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: truenaija2 on 14-08-2012 10:36 PM
HI my naijapalers, i don come again. i was going through a confession now and pals where crucifying the confee for the length of time she dated her hubby before marriage. so i want to know what do you think? how long do u need to[color=blue] beat your chest and say i know this person?[/color]. does the length of time for courting determine the chemistry of the couples, the happiness , love and how long the marriage will last? does this also assure that you wont have problems in your marriage? and is this length of time in courtship the gateway to null problems in marriage? or the solution of the future problems. my honourable pals lets get these place heated Wink whats your take on this?

What is important to remember is that every situation is unique. What may be best for one couple might not work for another at all.
One of the most important elements in a courtship relationship is the emphasis on discerning marriage. One way a courtship differs from dating is that the couple has chosen to use this time together to discern whether or not marriage is their calling. It is not just a series of dates without direction. Some couples will have a fairly good idea early on in their relationship if they are called to marriage. A courtship should still give them time to allow them to grow in a Christ-centered relationship. Time spent wisely in a courtship can greatly bless the marriage that springs forth from it.

For some couples, it can take a long time to be certain that marriage is for them. There may be obstacles to overcome – distance, career-challenges, family matters, etc. What is important in both short and long-term courtships is that a couple needs to commit themselves to purity in their relationship if they are to live out chastity. They need to set realistic guidelines to help them stay on track. They need to keep in touch with at least one mentoring couple who will challenge them, guide them and be there to support them through the difficulties. Courtship is a time to grow in a relationship. A couple gets to see each other in a variety of settings: family, work, leisure, church, service. This helps them to identify potential problems in their relationship and address these before entering marriage. It also helps them to mature as individuals through practicing self-discipline and right judgment. A long-term courtship can be more difficult, because the couple, once having determined they are called to marriage, may grow frustrated with the wait. Sometimes life calls us to be patient and wait for a long time for the things we desire most. Though this can present challenges, it doesn’t make it wrong. We need to always trust that God has a perfect plan for our lives and that He will give us His best if we allow Him to, in His time. A quick courtship can have its pitfalls as well. Just because a couple knows early on that they want to get married does not mean that they should skip the courtship stage all together. The danger here is that their decision to marry might be based more on emotions than on prayerful discernment. There are valuable lessons to be learned along the path for a courting couple. A hasty courtship that does not allow proper time to discern has the potential of leading into difficulties in marriage . . . but not necessarily. A courtship should be an exciting and fun stage in life. It should be a time of growth both personally and as a couple. It should be a time of coming closer to God and to each other. But don’t keep the courtship going on indefinitely just for the sake of the courtship itself. If the relationship really does not seem to be going toward marriage, be honest, step back and call it off. This allows both persons to move on in their vocations with less baggage. A properly done courtship should allow a couple to break up if they so discern without regrets. If the couple has reserved their physical affection they will find it easier to go separate ways if that is God’s will. Don’t rush it . . . but don’t drag it out unnecessarily! The key in all of this is prayerful discernment.

Posted: at 15-08-2012 09:17 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 15-08-2012 09:27 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Neglito on 15-08-2012 06:15 AM

GBAM!!  Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss u spoke well my PONKI master  Grin

Posted: at 15-08-2012 09:27 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- denmal at 15-08-2012 10:26 AM (11 years ago)
as long as ‘u want
Posted: at 15-08-2012 10:26 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lovecommander at 15-08-2012 10:30 AM (11 years ago)
OUR PARENTS AND GRAND PARENTS, HOW LONG DID THEY COURT, AND THERE MARRIAGES ENDURED THROUGH THICK AND THIN AND EMERGED AS THE SUPER HOMES THAT PRODUCED GREAT MEN AND WOMEN OF TODAY. NOW WE HAVE COURTSHIPS FULL OF WONDERFUL AND UNPRACTICABLE THEORIES THAT RESULTS IN DIVORCE ALL OVER THE PLACE. PEOPLE IF YOU WANT TO MARRY, GO AND FIND A GUY OR BABE THAT CAN OPERATE ON YOUR LEVEL AND MOVE WITH YOU TO THE NEXT LEVEL AND SETTLE WITH HIM/HER.
Posted: at 15-08-2012 10:30 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- jamesbondchick at 15-08-2012 11:38 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: jossy4reall on 14-08-2012 10:47 PM
it does not determine hw long d marriage wil last and all dat.........but it helps 2 learn ur partner a bit and see if u can blend in wit him or her.....,thou d modern courtship allow d couples 2 fcuk out dia brains b4 they tie d knot...........but a solid marriage is the 1 built on love and understanding not courtship

well said!  Cool Cool Cool Cool

Posted: at 15-08-2012 11:38 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Neglito at 15-08-2012 12:24 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Treasure2 on 15-08-2012 07:59 AM
When you say well..what do you mean by that...Even in marriage is difficult to knw your wife/husband well..much more relationship.

I mean in and out of the bedroom.
Posted: at 15-08-2012 12:24 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Neglito at 15-08-2012 12:28 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 15-08-2012 09:27 AM
GBAM!!  Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss u spoke well my PONKI master  Grin

What a beautiful title from the one and only Sophiebaby. Make I ponki dey go nah, abi?
Posted: at 15-08-2012 12:28 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- verah at 15-08-2012 12:33 PM (11 years ago)
it nt hw far, it hw well..................... if u lik date am fr 10yrs if he no go marry u he would not.. so wat will b will definately b nd wat wont b would never b.. but ladies that date guys fr long dey try oo, wen is nt that u r blind women u hav to b very observant

Posted: at 15-08-2012 12:33 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Amor1444 at 15-08-2012 12:51 PM (11 years ago)
what's the ideal length of courtship before marriage? very funny question. To me, the ideal length is one quarter yard. Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 15-08-2012 12:51 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- sophiebaby at 15-08-2012 01:30 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Neglito on 15-08-2012 12:28 PM
What a beautiful title from the one and only Sophiebaby. Make I ponki dey go nah, abi?

Ponki dey go.. notin do u  Kiss

Posted: at 15-08-2012 01:30 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
[1] 2 3 4