Modern Day Slavery at United Bank For Africa (UBA)

Date: 23-08-2012 1:37 am (11 years ago) | Author: Ariyo Wiliams
- at 23-08-2012 01:37 AM (11 years ago)
The Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English like many others, defines ‘probation’ as a period of time, during which someone who has just started a job is tested to see whether they are suitable for what they are doing.  By this definition, probation should be for a specified period of time. The question on the lips of some staff of United Bank for Africa (UBA) is, what meaning do the powers that be give to this word?

An ugly trend started in the bank that prides itself as Africa’s Global Bank last year when a set of freshers that were recruited in April 2011, having worked for the probationary period of 6 months, despite their confirmation were still said to be on probation. During the 6 months of probation, these set of staff were referred to as Executive Trainee on Probation (EToP) and months after their confirmation, they still remain EToP. This is fast becoming a norm in the bank as the subsequent batches of fresh employees are all victims of this obnoxious act.

Inquest reveals that on the confirmation letter issued to each of the staff, it was stated that “Following your satisfactory performance during the probationary period, Management is pleased to inform you that your appointment with the bank has been confirmed”. One begins to wonder the motive behind this if after confirmation, a staff is still said to be on probation.

Information has it that the Legal Department of the bank waded in, condemning the decision and advised the Human Resources Directorate to correct the but months after, nothing has been done on it.

In a bank like UBA where promotion is rare to come by, the fate of these helpless staff hang in the balance. The management of UBA should not because of the overpopulated labour market allow this injustice to stand for too long. A motivated staff is a dedicated staff.

Posted: at 23-08-2012 01:37 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- winace at 23-08-2012 03:16 AM (11 years ago)
Hmmmm... Whr is dis country to sef. Na wa o. Wicked employers
Posted: at 23-08-2012 03:16 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ice4jez at 23-08-2012 11:02 AM (11 years ago)
Neva like the bank anyway .
Posted: at 23-08-2012 11:02 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickman2 at 23-08-2012 11:27 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ice4jez on 23-08-2012 11:02 AM
Neva like the bank anyway .
why na..
Posted: at 23-08-2012 11:27 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- interpo777 at 23-08-2012 11:54 AM (11 years ago)
that is a categorical injustice  though such baboo will be working and monkey will be chopping has been out there in nigeria , but what battles me is that many medias (CNN)quoting nigerian labour market as  getting better but with these unfair treats am affraid.
Posted: at 23-08-2012 11:54 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jamesbondchick at 23-08-2012 12:37 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked I THANK GOD FOR MY JOB OHHHH

Posted: at 23-08-2012 12:37 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- richi192 at 23-08-2012 12:55 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 23-08-2012 12:55 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 23-08-2012 01:09 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 23-08-2012 01:09 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- lanudja at 23-08-2012 01:23 PM (11 years ago)
Dnt d bank sector av labour union? If we can treat ourselves like slave why complain abt foreigner treating us like slave... Like they said, d labour market is populated so, who's fault? Abeg make i pass jor...
Posted: at 23-08-2012 01:23 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- toibeli at 23-08-2012 01:45 PM (11 years ago)
I worked  there so many years ago, the probationary period was 6 months. At the end of 6 months, they either
confirm your appointment or they let you go.
Posted: at 23-08-2012 01:45 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- JB_Akpan at 23-08-2012 01:53 PM (11 years ago)
For balanced reporting, what effort did you make to get official position of UBA?
Posted: at 23-08-2012 01:53 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- chicco77 at 23-08-2012 01:57 PM (11 years ago)
passing
Posted: at 23-08-2012 01:57 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ikwo1 at 23-08-2012 02:06 PM (11 years ago)
I will not marry a banker and if i do,i will ask her to stop immediately.
Posted: at 23-08-2012 02:06 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Sean-Dada at 23-08-2012 02:43 PM (11 years ago)
Who dey talk abt banks? Dem be like indian companies 4 Nigeria. No job security, no better pension, hirer n fire palava etc! Make d banks go hug transformers!!
Posted: at 23-08-2012 02:43 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Neglito at 23-08-2012 03:02 PM (11 years ago)
Nothing seems to be working in Nigeria of today.
Posted: at 23-08-2012 03:02 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Idbabe at 23-08-2012 04:11 PM (11 years ago)
A motivated staff is a dedicated staff.[/size]

Well said bros, I concur. 

No be d mgt fault, they are taking advantage of the high rate of unemployment in town.  They should not forget some bigwigs of some banks that are nowhere to be found 2day, courtesy of Emir of CBN (Sanusi)
Posted: at 23-08-2012 04:11 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Idbabe at 23-08-2012 04:15 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: lanudja on 23-08-2012 01:23 PM
Dnt d bank sector av labour union? If we can treat ourselves like slave why complain abt foreigner treating us like slave... Like they said, d labour market is populated so, who's fault? Abeg make i pass jor...

Sis, labour union only fight for their members and as a staff under probation, ur not yet a member until ur confirmed as a full staff.  So the wicked mgt and board of directors know what they are doing
Posted: at 23-08-2012 04:15 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 23-08-2012 04:45 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Idbabe on 23-08-2012 04:11 PM
A motivated staff is a dedicated staff.[/size]

Well said bros, I concur. 

No be d mgt fault, they are taking advantage of the high rate of unemployment in town.  They should not forget some bigwigs of some banks that are nowhere to be found 2day, courtesy of Emir of CBN (Sanusi)
Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 23-08-2012 04:45 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- tippa at 23-08-2012 05:27 PM (11 years ago)
poster u're just realizing it now, nigerians are still slaves just as our leaders are slaves to whites.
Posted: at 23-08-2012 05:27 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- kebella at 23-08-2012 06:48 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 23-08-2012 06:48 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero