3 Reasons Why Being Single Is Good For Your Health

Date: 31-08-2012 3:57 pm (11 years ago) | Author: uduak Sophia Monday
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 31-08-2012 03:57 PM (11 years ago)
Single life is underrated. When you’re single you can dance like a crazy thing, flirt with your cute colleague and if your friends ask you to go with them to Boracay for the long weekend, then (money aside) why not? Not only can the single life be far more fun, it also has some major health perks. So, if you’re feeling glum about not finding The One, cheer yourself up knowing that being single means you have:

More friends
Ditching your buddies for romantic dates out or cozy nights in is a classic sign of a serious relationship. However, friendship is a hugely undervalued resource. A 10 year Australian study found that older people with a large amount of friends were 22 per cent less likely to die during the study than those older people with fewer friends. Also Harvard researchers suggested that strong social ties may promote brain health as we age and another study found that those with high social relationships were 50 per cent more likely to survive during the period of study. So it turns out friends are not just there for secret sharing and karaoke fun.

Singles keep fitter

It seems that when you get married, you not only gain a spouse, you also gain a considerable amount of weight. A poll commissioned by the Department of Health found that only 27 percent of adults met the recommended 150 minutes of physical activity each week. Of those 27 per cent, the majority were married. So how much weight does a pair in couple-kingdom gain? According to US researchers it depends on your gender. 46 per cent of the 5,000 ladies who took part in the US study gained at least 20 pounds. However, for the guys the increased weight risk was not as high. Unlike women, men gained the most weight during divorce.

Smaller portions
The fairytale goes… girl meets boy, they fall in love, marry and live happily ever after. What the fairytale doesn’t tell us is that when you meet that someone special you will find yourself feasting on man-sized portions and calorific meals. Women typically gain weight when they begin a relationship because they eat man-sized portions; but men tend to burn calories faster than women. Similarly men gain weight because couples order in more takeaways and eat out too. Considering that the average restaurant takeout food contains 1,436 calories it is not surprising that couples pile on the pounds.

Cool

Posted: at 31-08-2012 03:57 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- HOPEA23 at 31-08-2012 04:01 PM (11 years ago)
I don't needs to read this but I know...when one is single , that person is more happier than been in a relationship....when u are single u only have to worry about yourself...do whatever u like and so on...but when in a relationship..omg..,your partner keeps nagging or around...wants to know every shits.

Posted: at 31-08-2012 04:01 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 31-08-2012 04:07 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: HOPEA23 on 31-08-2012 04:01 PM
I don't needs to read this but I know...when one is single , that person is more happier than been in a relationship....when u are single u only have to worry about yourself...do whatever u like and so on...but when in a relationship..omg..,your partner keeps nagging or around...wants to know every sh*ts.

huahuahuahua laffing in ibibio  Kiss Kiss Kiss

Posted: at 31-08-2012 04:07 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- HOPEA23 at 31-08-2012 04:10 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 31-08-2012 04:07 PM
huahuahuahua laffing in ibibio  Kiss Kiss Kiss
I hope your kisses nor get infection sha lol Kiss Tongue Kiss

Posted: at 31-08-2012 04:10 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- rayOFsunshine at 31-08-2012 04:11 PM (11 years ago)
this is onyibonised
Posted: at 31-08-2012 04:11 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Idbabe at 31-08-2012 04:21 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: HOPEA23 on 31-08-2012 04:01 PM
I don't needs to read this but I know...when one is single , that person is more happier than been in a relationship....when u are single u only have to worry about yourself...do whatever u like and so on...but when in a relationship..omg..,your partner keeps nagging or around...wants to know every sh*ts.

Yes ooo, u will no longer be living ur life but another person's life.  Its well sha
Posted: at 31-08-2012 04:21 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- HOPEA23 at 31-08-2012 04:22 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Idbabe on 31-08-2012 04:21 PM
Yes ooo, u will no longer be living ur life but another person's life.  Its well sha
Yes oooo....

Posted: at 31-08-2012 04:22 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 31-08-2012 04:25 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: HOPEA23 on 31-08-2012 04:10 PM
I hope your kisses nor get infection sha lol Kiss Tongue Kiss

i no be pastor na  Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 31-08-2012 04:25 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 31-08-2012 04:26 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Idbabe on 31-08-2012 04:21 PM

AMEN

Posted: at 31-08-2012 04:26 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- HOPEA23 at 31-08-2012 04:30 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 31-08-2012 04:25 PM
i no be pastor na  Grin Grin Grin Grin
Lol

Posted: at 31-08-2012 04:30 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 31-08-2012 04:32 PM (11 years ago)
 Tongue

Posted: at 31-08-2012 04:32 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickman2 at 31-08-2012 08:21 PM (11 years ago)
passing ..
Posted: at 31-08-2012 08:21 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Adego1 at 31-08-2012 08:28 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 31-08-2012 08:28 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aso4life1 at 31-08-2012 08:39 PM (11 years ago)
Dr.Love

Posted: at 31-08-2012 08:39 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Neglito at 31-08-2012 09:12 PM (11 years ago)
Can't you see how healthy Catholic priests, Bishops and Popes are. No stress from wifey.
Posted: at 31-08-2012 09:12 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bigdad95 at 31-08-2012 09:23 PM (11 years ago)
being single is good, but never ever been so happy with my lovely wife loneliness has gone 4ever
Posted: at 31-08-2012 09:23 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- lakman at 31-08-2012 09:49 PM (11 years ago)
lie, being single is bad, check ur vicinity married people are more happy than unmarried people.
Posted: at 31-08-2012 09:49 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- denmal at 31-08-2012 10:03 PM (11 years ago)
akuko
Posted: at 31-08-2012 10:03 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 31-08-2012 10:05 PM (11 years ago)
who care..
Posted: at 31-08-2012 10:05 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- toibeli at 31-08-2012 10:08 PM (11 years ago)
Being single is great until you encounter a 'dry spell' (that's  when all the women folk are either too busy or
not available when you need them.)
Posted: at 31-08-2012 10:08 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7

1. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

2. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

3. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

4. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

5. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

6. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

7. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

8. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

3. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

4. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

5. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

6. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

7. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

8. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

9. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

10. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria