World’s Ugliest Woman, Lizzie Velasquez - Now World's Inspirational Woman(VIDEO)

Date: 15-09-2012 6:39 pm (11 years ago) | Author: franel
- at 15-09-2012 06:39 PM (11 years ago)
«§» 15 September 2012

The Woman who was being labeled as world’s ugliest woman bounced back and is now an inspirational and motivational speakers for the world. This is what is called true self esteem and self respect. If God has made you like this accept it – love it – enjoy it.

Battle: Lizzie Velasquez says she has had to face being stared at and bullied because of her unusual looks

Truly truly.. inspirational..!!

She has been ridiculed, stared at in the street and called ‘the world’s ugliest woman’ by insensitive cyber bullies.

SCROLL DOWN FOR VIDEO…

But, after years of misery and self doubt, Lizzie Velasquez says she can finally shrug off the hurtful comments about her looks as ‘just words’.

Miss Velasquez, from Austin, Texas, was born without adipose tissue – meaning she has no body fat and, despite eating up to 60 small meals a day, remains at a delicate 4.4stone (58lbs).

The rare condition still baffles doctors and is thought to affect just two other people worldwide.

Miss Velazquez has now written a second book about her struggle to be accepted and hopes it will help others in a similar position.

In Be Beautiful, Be You the 23-year-old college senior shares advice on being unique, how to make and keep good friends and how to deal with bullying and negativity.

Speaking to Dr Drew Pinsky on Tuesday night about her experiences, Miss Velasquez said when cyber bullies first started attacking her online it was hard.

She told Dr Drew: ‘I’m human… of course these things are going to hurt… (but) I’m not going to let those things define me.’

Eventually Miss Velasquez realised the people issuing the hurtful comments online were just cowards hiding behind a computer screen.

‘At the end of the day, these are just words,’ Miss Velasquez told Dr Drew. ‘If they are so proud, then they should show their face.’

When asked how she deals with being constantly stared at in the street Miss Velasquez said: ‘I’m starting to want to go up to these people and introduce myself or give them my card and say, “Hi, I’m Lizzie – maybe you should stop staring and start learning”.’

Miss Velasquez also revealed she does not have any desire to look like a beautiful celebrity.

She said: ‘I feel I’m really glad I don’t look like the celebrities out there who are beautiful, because there are a lot of stereotypes attached to that.

‘People think “she’s so pretty, she must be really dumb”. Since I don’t look like that it’s better because people can get to know the real me.’

Miss Velasquez was born four weeks prematurely weighing just 2lb 10oz. Doctors found there was minimal amniotic fluid protecting her in the womb.

‘They told us they had no idea how she could have survived,’ Miss Velasquez’s mother Rita, 45, a church secretary, said.

‘We had to buy dolls’ clothes from the toy store because baby clothes were too big.’ Doctors could not make a diagnosis so they prepared Miss Velasquez’s parents for the worst.

‘They told us she would never be able to walk, talk or have a normal life,’ said her mother, who has two other children with Miss Velasquez’s father Lupe – both children are of average height and weight.

Despite the grim prognosis Miss Velasquez’s brain, bones and internal organs developed normally but she was always very small.

At the age of two she was still only 15lbs – the same as the average five-month-old baby.

Born with two brown eyes, when Miss Velasquez was four the right began to cloud and change hue. Doctors then discovered she had gone blind in that eye.

‘They still don’t know why it happened but now I have one blue and one brown eye.’

Miss Velasquez’s case has fascinated doctors all over the world and she is part of a genetic study run by Professor Abhimanyu Garg at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas.

Professor Garg and his team now believe Miss Velasquez may have a form of Neonatal Progeroid Syndrome (NPS), which causes accelerated ageing, fat loss from the face and body, and tissue degeneration. People with PRS often have triangular and prematurely aged faces with a pointy nose.

He said: ‘I am aware of a small number of people that have similar conditions to Lizzie but each case is slightly different.

‘We cannot predict what will happen to Lizzie in the future, as the medical community are yet to document older people with NPS.

‘However Lizzie is lucky to have healthy teeth, organs and bones so the outlook is good. We will continue to study her case and learn from her.’

Miss Velasquez doesn’t take medication but she relies on vitamin supplements and iron to stay healthy. It is thought she should be able to conceive naturally without passing the condition to her children.

Her new book is out on September 13.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZQrnXUoWI8" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZQrnXUoWI8</a>

Posted: at 15-09-2012 06:39 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- neloceleb at 15-09-2012 07:41 PM (11 years ago)
Woooow...really inspirational..bt ow many pipu wil b able to brace to dia challenges..thumbs up!
Posted: at 15-09-2012 07:41 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- dlimelite at 15-09-2012 07:59 PM (11 years ago)
Who made her "The World's Ugliest Woman"? This lady isn't ugly. She's very beautiful & inspirational. Beauty starts from within
Posted: at 15-09-2012 07:59 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- franel at 15-09-2012 10:32 PM (11 years ago)
Don’t be fooled by outside beauty. The real beauty is on the inside. It is not the appearance of someone, but, it is their personality and how they are on the inside, as well as their heart.

Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart.

No matter how plain a woman may be, if truth and honesty are written across her face, she will be beautiful.

Posted: at 15-09-2012 10:32 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ela214 at 15-09-2012 11:29 PM (11 years ago)
U are only ugly when u belive u are.belive in urself and let the wind carry the rest.
Posted: at 15-09-2012 11:29 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 16-09-2012 12:46 AM (11 years ago)
Even d beautiful ones are nt popular as her. Well done lady, ur beauty is inside
Posted: at 16-09-2012 12:46 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Rihannaaa at 17-09-2012 11:38 AM (11 years ago)
Na wa ooo  Shocked

Posted: at 17-09-2012 11:38 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Rihannaaa at 17-09-2012 11:39 AM (11 years ago)
Dont worry, Naija boys will marry u for a green card, Ugly or not  Grin

Posted: at 17-09-2012 11:39 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Beauti4 at 18-09-2012 12:35 AM (11 years ago)
Lizzie...nobody will fit in your size of shoe created by God. You and God are the only people who knows where it pitches. So thanks Lizzie for being who you are!
Posted: at 18-09-2012 12:35 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- DrLove11 at 18-09-2012 12:55 AM (11 years ago)
I love d ugly gals bcuz dey can't cheat at der husbands or lovers Cheesy
Posted: at 18-09-2012 12:55 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Treasure2 at 18-09-2012 10:34 AM (11 years ago)
Hmmm
Posted: at 18-09-2012 10:34 AM (11 years ago) | Hero

1. APC Youths Besiege APC Secretariat, Demand Fresh Primary Election In Ondo

2. Come Out And Confess Why You Kill Mohbad - Ghanaian Prophet Who Prophesied JP’s Death Calls Sam

3. Korra Obidi’s Ex, Justin Dean Laments As His 4Yr Old Daughter Twerks Like Mother

4. My Mother, Enemy Of Progres!Man Reveals How His Mother Ended His Plans To Travel Out Of Nigeria

5. I Never Wanted Him to Play Chess - Record Breaker, Tunde Onakoya's Dad Breaks Silence (Video)

6. One Dead, Three Injured, N8.7m Recovered On Kaduna Road Crash

7. Court Strikes Out Suit Seeking Ro Remove Hannatu Musawa As Minister As She's A Serving NYSC Mem

8. "Davido Was The First Big Artiste Who Supported My Career" - Skitmaker, Sabinus

9. "End This Hiding, Submit Yourself To The Law" - Ologbondiyan To Yahaya Bello

10. Despite Devilish Conspiration, Air Peace To Begin Abuja-London Flights

11. Two Chinese Men, Company Docked By EFCC Over Illegal Mining Activities

12. Police Inspector Sunday Baba Shot Dead By Gunmen In Rivers

13. I'm Yet To Be Contacted By NFF – Peseiro Breaks Silence On Super Eagles' Return

14. My Father Raised Me To Be A Modern Day Man – DJ Cuppy Praises Billionaire Father, Otedola

15. UPDATE: Security Operatives Launch Manhunt For 109 Fleeing Inmates Of Suleja Prison

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor