How Soccer Star Godwin Okpara segxwally Molested Me For Two Years - Teenager

Date: 13-10-2012 12:14 am (11 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 13-10-2012 12:14 AM (11 years ago)
This is the story of Tina, the teenage girl who was serially molested by Super Eagles star, Godwin Okpara. She has released a book, detailing how the segxwal assault went on for two years.

In the book titled, “My Life Has A Price”, the victim narrates how she was adopted at age 13 by the Okparas and taken to France. Then Linda, Okpara’s wife, enslaved her and turned a blind eye to the segxwal abuse she suffered in the hands of Godwin Okpara.

Below is a part of Tina's sad experience chronicled in her segxwal abuse story:

Why did you decide to write this book?
For a long time, I refused to talk about my story. I refused all articles, interviews. One day, I told myself that if I refused testifying, other girls will continue to experience modern slavery. There will be other unhappy children, other “Tinas”. This is what gave me the courage.

Why did you title the book, My Life Has A Price?
It was proposed by Virginia Fuertes, the editor with whom I worked. I immediately found that corresponded to my story. My life has a price since Godwin Okpara gave money to my parents to buy me. But my life has also a price worth far more: the price of tears, fear and courage. Please click to continue.

Considering what you went through in your adoptive parents’ home, do you blame your dad for letting you go through all those?No. My father believed in doing what was best for me. He believed sincerely in giving me the opportunity to study in France and have a better future. The Okparas told him that I would go to school and when Linda Okpara made trips to Nigeria, she went to see my father and lied: “Oh yes, Tina works well in school, etc…”

Have you been able to get over the traumatic experience?
In part, yes. Because I was able to go back to school and get a job. Because I work with seniors and I feel useful. Because people have helped me: educators, my lawyer, friends. But I still have crying spells and nightmares. I wanted to write this book also to get it out of me. It came out, but it remains inside.

You had a secret notebook while going through the harrowing experiences. Did the raw material for the book come from the jottings you made?
Initially, I was not thinking about it. These notebooks were used to dump all my sorrow, all my hatred for Linda. It was my lifeline and my friend. But when I started writing the book, I took out the books. It was very hard to read everything.

What actually gave you the strength to survive the ordeal?
When I appeared on French television, a presenter first made a summary of the book and my life. Meanwhile, on a giant screen behind me, they ran images of Godwin Okpara as Paris Saint-Germain player. It was horrible. At the end, the presenter of the show turned to me and asked: “Tina, how did you survive that?” I was prepared to answer a lot of questions, but not that. There was a silence on the set of the show; I felt all members of the audience watching me. And a tear ran down my cheek. I was looking for the answer and it came. I said: ‘For the love of my father.’ It’s true. During all these years of suffering, I thought of him. I did not want to disappoint him. I remembered his kindness, his love. I also thought much about my mother, who was in heaven.

Did Godwin Okpara show any amorous interest in you before he actually molested you?
I do not know. In any case, he never tried to seduce me. He took what he wanted, suddenly, without love, without feeling, just for fun.

When did it occur to you that the Okparas didn’t have good plans for you?
I gradually realised when my school year was always delayed and at the same time, I had more work to do at home. And Linda was gradually changing her attitude towards me. At the beginning, it was ‘Tina, please, can you do that for me?’ Later, it became: ‘Tina, do this. Tina, why have you not done this yet?’ The day she spat it in my face that schooling was not for me because I was too stupid, I lost all hope.

You portray Linda as actually controlling Godwin in your book. Could you tell me how the couple met each other and got married?I do not know how they met. Linda had a great influence on her husband. She was older, I think, and more authoritarian. He was afraid of her, I think.

Why do you think Godwin didn’t have the courage to challenge Linda over the way she was maltreating you?On the football field, he was perhaps a courageous defender, but in life, he behaved like a coward. He was afraid of her. She dominated him psychologically. He was the child and she the mother. And I think he was not opposed to her because I was not important to him. I was something like a piece of furniture. You do not argue with your wife because she abused a table or chair.

In your book, you said Godwin gave your father some money. Did Godwin actually buy you? Or is the money a kind of price he paid for you?I think the Okparas were malignant. They gave N30,000, the equivalent of 375 euros to my father, telling him that it was a gift. It was better hidden. In fact, they purchased me without my father’s knowledge. I believe that my father did not sell me .

The couple are still serving their jail terms. But you didn’t write about what happened to their children. Where are their children? Who is taking care of them?After the arrest of Godwin and Linda, they were placed in foster homes. For them also, this story is a disaster. I often think about them because I loved them.

How long did it take you to write the book?
It took an entire year.

What lessons have your experiences taught you?
Hope. This is the most important lesson. I also learned that I was stronger than I thought because I survived.

What was the relationship between your dad and the Okparas?
My father knew Godwin Okpara thanks to football. Godwin, when he was young, had played in a company where my father worked.

Does your past experience affect the way you relate with people now?
I do not know. I cannot say how I would relate with people if my life had been different.

Are you in any relationship now? What plans do you have for the future?
Like all girls of my age, I dream of Prince Charming. I want to be in love, get married and have children. I always dream of having a large family: two boys and two girls.

Considering what you went through, are you satisfied with the judgment?
At the trial, I said all I wanted was a halt to the torture. I wanted to go to school and have a normal life, not to be a slave. Nobody should be a slave in the 21st Century. I told the judges: “If people like Godwin Okpara, if they want to pay to see him play football, release him but withdraw me from them.” Years in prison, it is normal in terms of what they have done. But that won’t give me back my childhood and my innocence.

Why did you think the couple behaved the way they did to you?
You should ask them. But I think they behaved so partly because others had done so before them and others are still doing it. For a certain part of the population, exploiting children is not wrong.

It is a tradition; it has always been this way and they do not understand why it should stop. Unfortunately, Linda and Godwin Okpara are not isolated cases. And today as I am answering your questions, there are many other ‘Tinas’ who suffer. This must stop! ###

You may wish to know that Godwin Opkara is currently serving a 10-year jail term in France, while his wife, Linda, will be in jail for 15 years.

Posted: at 13-10-2012 12:14 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- jazz02 at 13-10-2012 12:42 AM (11 years ago)
Hmmmm... Lips Sealed

Posted: at 13-10-2012 12:42 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- winace at 13-10-2012 02:55 AM (11 years ago)
Hmmmmmm nothg to say
Posted: at 13-10-2012 02:55 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 13-10-2012 03:00 AM (11 years ago)
Hmmmmmm nothg to say
Posted: at 13-10-2012 03:00 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- angelosas at 13-10-2012 03:01 AM (11 years ago)
be4  i conclude,i want to see proofs first Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 13-10-2012 03:01 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- evaworld at 13-10-2012 03:18 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: angelosas on 13-10-2012 03:01 AM
be4  i conclude,i want to see proofs first Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
U go travel go france o!
Inspector gajet *mtshew*
Posted: at 13-10-2012 03:18 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- DJSNIPPER at 13-10-2012 03:41 AM (11 years ago)
U FOR DEY NAIJA LET AREA BOYS GIVE U BELLE.NOW WEY BE SAY U DON OPEN EYES FINISH ..USELESS GIRL.
Posted: at 13-10-2012 03:41 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- abilimela at 13-10-2012 05:38 AM (11 years ago)
animal,,,,ur lawyer,,,
i will never or can never married any nigerian lady to bring out in europe for sure,,
now u saw a light right?
Posted: at 13-10-2012 05:38 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- proly at 13-10-2012 07:07 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 13-10-2012 07:07 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- micc at 13-10-2012 07:10 AM (11 years ago)
The girl should be thanking her stars that she is now in europe. Now she is the slave girl that turned a celebrity, ok na.
Posted: at 13-10-2012 07:10 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- micc at 13-10-2012 07:11 AM (11 years ago)
The girl should be thanking her stars that she is now in europe. Now she is the slave girl that turned a celebrity, ok na.
Posted: at 13-10-2012 07:11 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Noble12 at 13-10-2012 07:52 AM (11 years ago)
D man no try at all! D gal 4 no disgrace dem lyk dis na. Checkout d judge slam d husband 10yrs inprisonment den d wife wid 15, b4 dem kumout dem go do don old finish. D gal dey wicked Huh?
Posted: at 13-10-2012 07:52 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lanudja at 13-10-2012 08:19 AM (11 years ago)
They were already jailed 10 & 15 years respectively... Why d writing it on book again?
Posted: at 13-10-2012 08:19 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- overdrive at 13-10-2012 08:37 AM (11 years ago)
Sad story indeed.
Posted: at 13-10-2012 08:37 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- torrejon_men at 13-10-2012 09:41 AM (11 years ago)
Nigeria police and judges can u carry out this type of work
and judgment?
Posted: at 13-10-2012 09:41 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- denmal at 13-10-2012 10:40 AM (11 years ago)
madness
Posted: at 13-10-2012 10:40 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PidginMOUTH at 13-10-2012 10:55 AM (11 years ago)
naija  Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 13-10-2012 10:55 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- PidginMOUTH at 13-10-2012 11:03 AM (11 years ago)
Baby-- If u want it just let me know, am a specialist
Posted: at 13-10-2012 11:03 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Senegal at 13-10-2012 01:06 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 13-10-2012 01:06 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Sophyrocks at 13-10-2012 01:14 PM (11 years ago)
Well ofcos illiteracy is damn 2 much in dis forum dats y such a judgement cnt be found in 9ja. U can c frm pple's comments here dat our low mentality wil alwys blame d victim instead of usin our brains properly n sympatising wit victims. Dose pple wil surely go scot free here in 9ja. Dey deserve 2 rot in jail. Nonsense! Baby girl,dnt wori. God wil alwys be on ur side.

Posted: at 13-10-2012 01:14 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7

1. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

2. Netizens React As a Catholic Reverend Sister is Spotted in Public Drinking Alcohol (Video)

3. Binance Executives Drag NSA Ribadu, EFCC To Court

4. Rapper, Cynthia Morgan Reveals Why She Was Never S3xually Harassed in The Industry

5. Man Emmanuel Okpara Arrested For Reportedly B£ating His Wife to D£ath in Lagos

6. See List: Nigeria, Egypt Named Among World’s Lowest Salary Earners

7. A Thief Who Robbed me Was Dating The Police Officer in Charge of my Case – Lady Recounts Ordeal

8. Singer Waje Expresses Pride as Her Daughter, Emerald Turns 25, Pens Emotional Note to Her

9. Court Awards Late Biafran Leader, Ojukwu's Will to Bianca, Throws Out First Son, Debe's Case

10. VIDEO: NAFDAC Raids Factory Where Fake Bottled Water is Produced in Port Harcourt

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

5. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

6. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

7. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

8. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)