Nigeria may miss $1.2bn World Bank Loan_Good Deal for the People or the Elite..?

Date: 15-10-2012 2:23 am (11 years ago) | Author: Tony Ladipo
- at 15-10-2012 02:23 AM (11 years ago)
Nigeria may miss $1.2bn World Bank Loan_Good Deal for the People or for the West/Elite?

(Warning..!) F.Y.I.  Not responsible if Admin has a different headline & caption from the above..!

The Punch
October 15, 2012

The delayed approval by the National Assembly of a request by the Federal Government for a $1.2bn infrastructure loan from the
World Bank may make the country lose the loan offer. The Minister of Finance, Dr. Ngosi Okonjo-Iweala, said that the fund had been approved by the bank for Nigeria and could have been accessed but for the National Assembly’s delay in approving the deal.

She said that the World Bank had indicated at its meeting, which ended on Sunday, that it could withdraw the offer from Nigeria if the country did not show firm interest in taking it.
Okonjo-Iweala said, “The World Bank has approved the $1.2bn loan at zero interest, 40 years repayment period, with 10 years of grace and only 0.7 per cent commitment charge and it is sitting there. The loan is designed for power, water, health and so on, and it is not being approved. They are telling us at this meeting that if we do not indicate we are going to use this money very soon, they will have to move it to other countries.

“If Nigeria does not use it soon, what will happen, they are going to take it elsewhere. We are waiting for the National Assembly approval.” Okonjo-Iweala said that the Federal Government was trying hard to keep Nigeria’s debt profile at a reasonable level.

Also speaking on the issue, the Governor, Central Bank of Nigeria, Mr. Lamido Sanusi, said if Nigeria did not take the loan at zero per cent interest, the country might have to borrow in naira and pay high interest rate.

Posted: at 15-10-2012 02:23 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deboalabi262 at 15-10-2012 03:12 AM (11 years ago)
This is loan would eventually be shared by the kabals and other elites in the society. It is never for the masses......

Posted: at 15-10-2012 03:12 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ahlaan at 15-10-2012 05:42 AM (11 years ago)
We don't need loan
Posted: at 15-10-2012 05:42 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- chrisray at 15-10-2012 05:52 AM (11 years ago)
make who pay later? D poor masses? God go punish all of una....
Posted: at 15-10-2012 05:52 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- papadip at 15-10-2012 06:57 AM (11 years ago)
Good judgment comes from experience; unfortunately experience usually comes from bad judgment.
Posted: at 15-10-2012 06:57 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 15-10-2012 07:59 AM (11 years ago)
Dnt collect loan o. We dnt want. Use frm d one u people in government are stealing frm.
Posted: at 15-10-2012 07:59 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- papadip at 15-10-2012 06:50 PM (11 years ago)
It is a good deal to get a free interest loan for donkey years but let me tell you nothing is actually free in this world. The Western World is not stupid there is and will be something for them to gain. The gesture is not from the goodness of their heart. Nothing goes for northing. Therefore what is in there for them?
Posted: at 15-10-2012 06:50 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dlimelite at 16-10-2012 11:41 AM (11 years ago)
We don't need the loan anyway. They should use the 1.126Bn & 843m from the 2013 budget the gov is spoiling themselves on fuel & food. Roll Eyes Nigeria is not a poor country. The money is just being misused.
Posted: at 16-10-2012 11:41 AM (11 years ago) | Hero