Lagos Assembly Dangles Total Ban On Okadas

Date: 24-10-2012 11:05 am (11 years ago) | Author: Omogbolahan Babs
- at 24-10-2012 11:05 AM (11 years ago)
 The Lagos State House of Assembly Monday threatened a blanket ban on commercial motor operators (Okadas) in the state following the destruction of properties by demonstrating operators along the popular Ikorodu Road in Lagos after government banned them from operating on 475 routes in the commercial hub of Africa’s top oil producer.

Speaker of the state assembly, Rt. Honourable Adeyemi Ikuforiji, who made the position of the assemblymen known urged security operatives to step to the plate and deal with the security challenge.

Ikuforiji threatened that if the destructive protests continue like it did today at different locations in the state, the House would not hesitate to slam a total ban on Okadas in the state.

Eyewitnesses counted at least 9 vandalised Lagos state government owned BRT buses around the Onipanu and Palmgrove end of Ikorodu Road as angry okada operators wielded sticks, irons and planks before security operatives dispersed them.

In a related development, the Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babatunde Fashola, SAN, Monday declared a total war on okadas operating on the 475 routes after the ban.

In his address at an enlightenment forum on the ban to the military in Lagos, the governor, who used the occasion to seek their assistance in the implementation of the ban said, “The military gave us this democracy, so there must be a continuing partnership to keep it going.

“I understand the economics of the okada. But it also has the social effects. Many fathers have lost their children; many husbands have lost their wives; many children have lost both parents.

“All we are saying is don’t go on the highways. Somebody just pulls okada from any parts of the country he likes, gets onto a truck, he’s going to Lagos and then you entrust your life to that man? As if that was not bad enough, he drives against traffic?” the governor said.

Posted: at 24-10-2012 11:05 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 24-10-2012 11:47 AM (11 years ago)
In as much as i dnt support d destruction of property, if u slam a total ban, be prepare to take d heat of robbery and i pray its only govt officials and family they shuld rob not innocent lagosians.
Posted: at 24-10-2012 11:47 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- udenzeu at 24-10-2012 12:45 PM (11 years ago)
Impossicant! Let them try it and see the consequences of the ban. No white cola job, yet u guys wants to kick the hustlers out of their daily bread. Bomboclad!
Posted: at 24-10-2012 12:45 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac