SMH: Policemen Shoot Robbed Banker, Security Guard In Lagos

Date: 12-11-2012 6:41 am (11 years ago) | Author: franel
- at 12-11-2012 06:41 AM (11 years ago)
«§» 12 November 2012

An employee of Access Bank Plc, Mr. Femi Badejo, and his security guard, Joshua Moses, were shot by policemen in Lagos on Saturday after they responded to a distress call about a robbery at the banker’s home in Ikota area of the state.

PUNCH Metro learnt that the robbers had attacked Badejo and his neighbours around 4am and one of the neighbours made a distress call to the police, but by the time the policemen arrived about an hour later, the robbers had fled.

Badejo said he and his neighbours were in the compound discussing what had transpired when the policemen stormed the building and started shooting sporadically.

He is currently receiving treatment at St. Nicholas Hospital, Lagos Island.

Badejo said, “I live in a one-storey building and there are four tenants occupying the ground floor. Around 4am, armed robbers stormed our house.

“The robbers robbed all of us occupying the ground floor. They stole my clothes, money, phones and other valuables. While the robbery was ongoing, one of the tenants called Maroko Police Division.”

Badejo said after the robbers had fled, scores of policemen arrived at the house while one of them started shooting indiscriminately, adding that he was hit five times.

He said, “We (neighbours) were all inside the compound counting our losses when we heard a bang on the gate. Immediately the security guard opened, one of the policemen started shooting indiscriminately.

“The security guard was shot in the pelvis and in the back but the bullet pierced through his chest. I immediately took cover under a car but the policeman came to where I was and started shooting at me.

“Another policeman came behind me and shot. The first shot came through my feet and fractured my leg. Two shots grazed my thighs. Another shot went through my biceps and came out, while one went through my wrist.

Badejo added that it took the intervention of the other neighbours as well as the Divisional Police Officer of the station to prevent him from being killed.

Badejo and the injured guard were immediately rushed to the hospital. The guard was subsequently transferred to General Hospital, Broad Street, and then Lagos State University Teaching Hospital, Ikeja.  He is said to be in a critical condition.

One of our correspondents learnt that Badejo was scheduled to give a lecture at a summit organised by the bank on Saturday.

According to a colleague who craved anonymity, the company executives were curious when he did not show up as scheduled.

He said, “Badejo is in Total Quality Management Department at the head office. He is part of the team working on the 21st century transformation which the bank is working on. He was supposed to deliver a lecture at 8.30am but when we did not see him, we began to wonder what went wrong.

“It was not until later that we received words from one his relatives that he was shot by policemen.”

Badejo, who berated the police for lack of professionalism, said, “When the policemen came into the compound, they didn’t even ask any questions. One of them just started shooting. Even the armed robbers did not even assault me, they only took my belongings.”

On Tuesday, a commercial motorcycle rider, Adigun Atilola, was shot by a policeman at Ilupeju during the clampdown on okada riders. The following day, a policeman, Oluwatiyesi Gboyega, also allegedly shot and killed a bus conductor during an argument over N50.

A call placed to the spokesperson for the state police command, Ngozi Braide, on Sunday was not answered and neither did she reply a text message sent to her on the shooting of the banker and securityman.

Posted: at 12-11-2012 06:41 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- wiplash at 12-11-2012 07:18 AM (11 years ago)
U can imagin d people who r suppose 2 protect r d 1 killing.dis show d level of unprofessionalism.
Posted: at 12-11-2012 07:18 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- wireless_radio at 12-11-2012 08:20 AM (11 years ago)
An employee of Access Bank Plc, Mr. Femi Badejo, and his security guard, Joshua Moses, were shot by policemen in Lagos on Saturday [Nov. 10] after they responded to a distress call about a robbery at the banker’s home in Ikota area of the state.

According to PUNCH, the robbers had attacked Badejo and his neighbours around 4am and one of the neighbours made a distress call to the police, but by the time the policemen arrived about an hour later, the robbers had fled.

Badejo said he and his neighbours were in the compound discussing what had transpired when the policemen stormed the building and started shooting sporadically.

He is currently receiving treatment at St. Nicholas Hospital, Lagos Island.

Badejo said:

“We (neighbours) were all inside the compound counting our losses when we heard a bang on the gate. Immediately the security guard opened, one of the policemen started shooting indiscriminately”.

“The security guard was shot in the pelvis and in the back but the bullet pierced through his chest. I immediately took cover under a car but the policeman came to where I was and started shooting at me.

“Another policeman came behind me and shot. The first shot came through my feet and fractured my leg. Two shots grazed my thighs. Another shot went through my biceps and came out, while one went through my wrist”.

Badejo added that it took the intervention of the other neighbours as well as the Divisional Police Officer of the station to prevent him from being killed.

Badejo, who berated the police for lack of professionalism, said, “When the policemen came into the compound, they didn’t even ask any questions. One of them just started shooting. Even the armed robbers did not even assault me, they only took my belongings”.

A call placed by PUNCH to the spokesperson for the state police command, Ngozi Braide, on Sunday was not answered and neither did she reply a text message sent to her on the shooting of the banker and security man.
Posted: at 12-11-2012 08:20 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- theheartmender at 12-11-2012 08:35 AM (11 years ago)
Its a very unfortunate reality but we have embraced it already. Most people who go to be recruited into the police force are people who have been frustrated in life, done so many things to survive and when all efforts are all but in vain, they join the police force as recruits. What do we expect when a tout in the streets resigns and become a law enforcement officer? He will still have the mentality of a tout but an advanced tout with a name...... Thug in uniform. I will tell the victim to endure, this is no new news but we all should pray that we dont become their next victim..
Posted: at 12-11-2012 08:35 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Awosolakay at 12-11-2012 08:36 AM (11 years ago)
They are idiot,its not dia fault but the country who are just puting ppu that are supposed to be farming and be killing rats and rabbits in dia farms,in the police force.Thank God you are not dead,they would ve clamed he is one of the robbers.
Posted: at 12-11-2012 08:36 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Awosolakay at 12-11-2012 08:45 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: theheartmender on 12-11-2012 08:35 AM
Its a very unfortunate reality but we have embraced it already. Most people who go to be recruited into the police force are people who have been frustrated in life, done so many things to survive and when all efforts are all but in vain, they join the police force as recruits. What do we expect when a tout in the streets resigns and become a law enforcement officer? He will still have the mentality of a tout but an advanced tout with a name...... Thug in uniform. I will tell the victim to endure, this is no new news but we all should pray that we dont become their next victim..
Yes,you are just right,they will kill public drivers cos of 20 or 50 naira,so they are touts,cos even though they met the robbers,a call through local manual mic has to be made to them to surender or face being shot incase they refuse.
Posted: at 12-11-2012 08:45 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Senegal at 12-11-2012 08:46 AM (11 years ago)
That is NPF for you
Posted: at 12-11-2012 08:46 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Yakuzia at 12-11-2012 08:48 AM (11 years ago)
May be they were drunk.
Oga sorry o. just thank God for saving your life
Posted: at 12-11-2012 08:48 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ausnowx at 12-11-2012 08:51 AM (11 years ago)
Nigeria police!!! u're a disappointment to the force in this nation...
Posted: at 12-11-2012 08:51 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Amaight at 12-11-2012 09:00 AM (11 years ago)
Am sure d tyme they called those policemen they were smoking weed and at d same time siping on ogogoro..that's y they couldn't differentiate between an armed rubber and a victim. 
Posted: at 12-11-2012 09:00 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nonsovin at 12-11-2012 09:03 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: theheartmender on 12-11-2012 08:35 AM
I TOTALLY AGREE WITH YOU! I AM EVEN ASHEMED OF NIGERIAN POLICE FORCE AND THEIR BEHAVIOR. THEIR APPEARANCE ALSO MAKE ME FEEL LIKE VOMITING ANYTIME I SEE THEM.
Posted: at 12-11-2012 09:03 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mcmusbau at 12-11-2012 09:11 AM (11 years ago)
God almighty help us with this nigeria police. the killing of innocect soul is 2 much,our police isn't working again jux all about Okada rider in lagos state naani
Posted: at 12-11-2012 09:11 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- ela214 at 12-11-2012 11:09 AM (11 years ago)
tank GOD say u no evn die,am so ashmed of nigerian police force.hungry men with gun.
i pity nigeria.honestly
Posted: at 12-11-2012 11:09 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Idbabe at 12-11-2012 02:36 PM (11 years ago)
PROTECTION OF LIVES AND PROPERTIES INDEED.  POLICE IS UR FRIEND
Posted: at 12-11-2012 02:36 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- chicco77 at 19-02-2013 12:41 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 19-02-2013 12:41 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Nigeria Lady Shares Man’s Hilarious Reaction After Turning Down His S3xual Advances

2. This is Unacceptable - Comedian Seyilaw Calls Out President Tinubu Over New CBN Policy

3. UPDATE! Ekiti Varsity Students Caught on Camera Bullying Classmate Have Been Expelled

4. I Was Ripped After Ordering Azul And Empty Bottle Was Delivered In Kenya - Portable Laments

5. VIDEO: Man Shares The Disgusting State of a Hostel Room in University of Nigeria Nsukka

6. Veteran Nigerian Actress, Ovularia, Reportedly Died At 81 In Port Harcourt

7. NFF Opens Up On Why Finidi Got Super Eagles Job

8. 21Yr Old Woman Killed By Her Boyfriend In South Africa

9. Real Madrid v Bayern Munich: UEFA Champions League S/Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers & Stats

10. UPDATE: US Announces Plan To Partner Nigeria To Combat Cybercrime, Fraud Scams, Sextortion

11. Nigerian Police Kill 2 Suspected Kidnappers In Gun Duel, Rescue 3 Indians In Ogun

12. Teenager, Oluwateniola Omidiji Spends Days In Detention Over Mother’s Debt, Drags EFCC To Court

13. Family Accuses Vigilante Operatives Of Robbing, Killing 2 Brothers In Rivers

14. President Tinubu Returns To Nigeria After Netherlands, Saudi Trips

15. 10Yr Old Boy Among 6 Suspected Phone Snatchers, Robbers & Thugs Arrested In Niger State

16. UPDATE: CBN Releases List Of Licensed Deposit Money Banks In Nigeria

17. Throwback Post Of Davido Calling Mercy Johnson And Husband ‘Wicked’ Resurfaces

18. 25Yr Old Man, Aniedi Mfon Sentenced To Life Imprisonment For Raping 8Yr Old Girl In Cross River

19. Bandits Reportedly Kidnap Zamfara Bank Manager, Mansur Kaura

20. 17 Persons Arrested For Allegedly Operating Illegal Bureau de Change

1. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

2. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

3. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

4. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

5. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

6. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

7. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

8. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

9. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

10. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe