N1.305b not enough for refreshments in Presidential Villa

Date: 21-11-2012 9:42 am (11 years ago) | Author: kingdom omodu
- at 21-11-2012 09:42 AM (11 years ago)
Senate was, yesterday, told that the N1, 305, 292, 050 set aside in the 2013 budget for refreshment and meals and other miscellaneous expenses in the State House will not be enough.

This is just as a breakdown of the Miscellaneous sub-head in Aso Rock’s budget shows that N203,752,432 was allocated for refreshment and meals; N107,412,768 would be spent on honorarium and sitting allowance while N37, 277,825 will be for publicity and advertisement.

These were disclosed, yesterday, when the State House Permanent Secretary, Emmanuel Ogbile appeared before the Senator Dahiru Kuta-led Committee on Federal Character and Inter-Governmental Affairs to defend the N14,715,566,104 budget for next year.

Ogbile also told the senators some other expenses that were being taken care of in the refreshment and meals vote, which he said include National Economic Council (NEC), Council of State, conferences in the Banquet Hall, Presidential retreats, National Merit Award, Children’s Day as well as hosting of dignitaries. Chairman of the Committee, Senator Dahiru Awaisu Kuta, however, countered the Permanent Secretary on the provision for the Merit Award which he said has its own budget.

The Permanent Secretary also gave a further breakdown of the 2013 State House budget as thus, Medical expenses (N50,308,546); Postage and courier services (N10,035,583); Welfare packages (N195,066,223); Subscription to professional bodies (N4,589,793); and Sporting activities (N32,910,730).

According to him, Overtime will gulp, N250,455,589; Feeding of animals including animal supplements for the veterinary clinic (N30,584,144); Summit/ Extra ordinary sessions including the UN, African Union, ECOWAS, etc (N228,112,862); and NYSC, IT, LOCUM, Housemanship and contract staff allowance (N144,788,555).

According to Ogbile: “I have taken pains to explain that this money is not just to fund the residence of the President and that of the Vice President. The experience I have had is that this fund is grossly insufficient. It is not even enough.”

The Permanent Secretary noted that “it is also from the budget of N1.305 billion that we take care of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) which holds every Wednesday.”

Posted: at 21-11-2012 09:42 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- cherishp at 21-11-2012 10:13 AM (11 years ago)
Na wahala. Na looK we dey look, becos sheep talk say nothing pass to dey look. God'll save us and 'provide for d Predidential refreshment.'
Posted: at 21-11-2012 10:13 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 21-11-2012 10:26 AM (11 years ago)
My GOD.wat are they eating there? GOLD or DIAMOND?Huh?
Posted: at 21-11-2012 10:26 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ela214 at 21-11-2012 10:37 AM (11 years ago)
i wounder,when poeple r dyin of hunger,chei chineke gbatara anyi oso enyemaka.
Posted: at 21-11-2012 10:37 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ela214 at 21-11-2012 10:37 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: winace on 21-11-2012 10:26 AM
My GOD.wat are they eating there? GOLD or DIAMOND?Huh?
i wonder oh
Posted: at 21-11-2012 10:37 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mary11 at 21-11-2012 11:15 AM (11 years ago)
Dis pple no go kill person o!#30b jst 2 feed animals???
Shey na d animals wan go tackle bokoharam?

Posted: at 21-11-2012 11:15 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Amaight at 21-11-2012 11:24 AM (11 years ago)
And as nigerians mumu reach them still dey wish their president happy birthday long life and here u are wishing people that are imposing poverty on you a long life,when will y'all get some brain?Are we not human beings don't we deserve a better life too?
Posted: at 21-11-2012 11:24 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Amaight at 21-11-2012 11:39 AM (11 years ago)
As a good thinking leader your people should come first but this ones are just stupid ignorant greedy fools...
Posted: at 21-11-2012 11:39 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 21-11-2012 11:52 AM (11 years ago)
 Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue
Posted: at 21-11-2012 11:52 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Noble12 at 21-11-2012 12:08 PM (11 years ago)
I fear! Wetin nd wetin dem go chop wid dat kind huge amount of money.
Posted: at 21-11-2012 12:08 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emmanuelboy at 21-11-2012 12:19 PM (11 years ago)
its like they are eating elephant everyday.
Posted: at 21-11-2012 12:19 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- chicco77 at 21-11-2012 12:28 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 21-11-2012 12:28 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- simele at 21-11-2012 12:45 PM (11 years ago)
NO PROBLEM
Posted: at 21-11-2012 12:45 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- noniskyb at 21-11-2012 12:57 PM (11 years ago)
1.305b not enough for refreshment in presidential villa, pls tell me wat will be enough 4 refreshment in Aso rock, God hv mercy on ur pple, why some pple hv not seen garri to drink 0r Agege bread to chop, and u ar here budgeting such amount of money 4 just refreshing, cant de used there own money to feed there self, instead of using such amount of money dat can be used 4 important things in the nation. God is watching us ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Posted: at 21-11-2012 12:57 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- neloceleb at 21-11-2012 12:58 PM (11 years ago)
Mtchewww..got no tym fr naija case
Posted: at 21-11-2012 12:58 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ZION7ZION at 21-11-2012 01:01 PM (11 years ago)
the problem you guys have is that you dont know how the state house is structured, if you had listened to the presidential chat with the media 2days ago, he explained everything about this refreshment thing, pls guys get ur facts right before condemning the government of the best president in Africa, God Bless Jonathan, God Bless Nigeria
Posted: at 21-11-2012 01:01 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Neglito at 21-11-2012 01:04 PM (11 years ago)
30 MILLION NAIRA TO FEED JONATHAN'S DOG?. hahahahahahahahaha. Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry.
Posted: at 21-11-2012 01:04 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Idbabe at 21-11-2012 01:11 PM (11 years ago)
corruption continues
Posted: at 21-11-2012 01:11 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- proly at 21-11-2012 01:24 PM (11 years ago)
kkk
Posted: at 21-11-2012 01:24 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- jamesbondchick at 21-11-2012 01:37 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked

Posted: at 21-11-2012 01:37 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac