JUNGLE JUSTICE: Four South Africans Arrested For Beating Zimbabwean To Death

Date: 24-11-2012 8:09 pm (11 years ago) | Author: franel
- at 24-11-2012 08:09 PM (11 years ago)
«§» 24 November 2012

Tensions are rising between Zimbabweans and locals in Zandspruit. A Zimbabwean was murdered three weeks ago in the squatter camp north of Joburg.

Now four men have been bust for the killing. Yesterday Zimbabweans living there contacted the People’s Paper to tell us: We are living in fear. We don’t feel safe anymore!

At the same time, locals told us: “We want these people to leave our country. The area has in the past been notorious for friction between the two groups. The horrific killing on 30 October was revealed by Daily Sun on Tuesday. We reported that a group of men hunting for a Zimbabwean man they accused of being a criminal had set his brother alight instead – and then abused the body.

Honeydew police spokeswoman Warrant Officer Karen Jacobs said: “The four men we arrested are members of the South African National Civic Organisation. We are planning to make more arrests. It does not matter if someone belongs to a political party or an organisation, murder is murder and we will act,” said Jacobs.

Yesterday our news crew visited the squatter camp to meet some of the Zimbabweans. None wished to be identified. A 29-year-old man told us: “I no longer feel safe here. I feel that I could die any time. I came here for a better life, and I do piece jobs like gardening. Police don’t protect us. They only come when they are called by the councillor. We get attacked at night by South Africans. They don’t want us here.”

Another Zimbabwean said: “On Wednesday night, about 9am, I heard the sound of people screaming and marching. I was scared to go outside for fear of getting attacked. I only came here six months ago, but I have experienced lots of ill-treatment from my brothers in South Africa. Life in Zim is bad and I came here to be with my fellow Africans.”

Daily Sun asked locals about the marching and shouting. One man at a car wash confirmed it. He said: “Last night we marched and burnt tyres as a protest. We want these people to leave our country.”

Senzo Ndaba was prepared to give us his name. He said they treated Zimbabweans like their own brothers and sisters but said: “They steal from us… We as the community are very angry because these Zimbabweans are killing our people and also robbing them. We are not free in our own land because of them,” said Ndaba.

A man who only wanted to be known as Modise said he was about to close his spaza on the main road on Wednesday when he was told to shut the shop and join the protest. “I was told to join the protest to have Zimbabweans removed from the area and I did. This is nothing new. This has been going on for years. We want the foreigners out of our area,” said another man who didn’t want to be named.

Posted: at 24-11-2012 08:09 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Unikly at 24-11-2012 08:41 PM (11 years ago)
Na wa o
Posted: at 24-11-2012 08:41 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- micc at 24-11-2012 09:27 PM (11 years ago)
I c o
Posted: at 24-11-2012 09:27 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- geemade at 25-11-2012 03:35 AM (11 years ago)
Make una no just touch any Nigerian oooo
Posted: at 25-11-2012 03:35 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- xband at 25-11-2012 03:54 AM (11 years ago)
Now i see why racism exist, seen we African's can't live in peace.
Posted: at 25-11-2012 03:54 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aso4life1 at 25-11-2012 04:47 AM (11 years ago)
South Africans are fond of this

Posted: at 25-11-2012 04:47 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Noble12 at 25-11-2012 06:19 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 25-11-2012 06:19 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kjmic80 at 25-11-2012 08:16 AM (11 years ago)
the whites are still there with all the lands and wealth, the stupid people cant do anything about that.

Posted: at 25-11-2012 08:16 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- chicco77 at 25-11-2012 08:17 AM (11 years ago)
jungle justice every were
Posted: at 25-11-2012 08:17 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dewalter at 25-11-2012 09:32 AM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed, we africans should luv 1 an0da
Posted: at 25-11-2012 09:32 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- denmal at 25-11-2012 11:58 AM (11 years ago)
no love in the city
Posted: at 25-11-2012 11:58 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bigdad95 at 25-11-2012 12:35 PM (11 years ago)
wickedness at it highest level Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry
Posted: at 25-11-2012 12:35 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Biafranwar at 25-11-2012 12:43 PM (11 years ago)
Four of them should be sentenced to death
Posted: at 25-11-2012 12:43 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- neloceleb at 25-11-2012 12:52 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: xband on 25-11-2012 03:54 AM
Now i see why racism exist, seen we African's can't live in peace.
true
Posted: at 25-11-2012 12:52 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Senegal at 25-11-2012 01:31 PM (11 years ago)
 Sad Sad
Posted: at 25-11-2012 01:31 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- micc at 25-11-2012 03:10 PM (11 years ago)
se na like so now ?
Posted: at 25-11-2012 03:10 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- jabanz at 25-11-2012 04:05 PM (11 years ago)
is dis in african blood?

Posted: at 25-11-2012 04:05 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 25-11-2012 04:23 PM (11 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 25-11-2012 04:23 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickman2 at 25-11-2012 04:23 PM (11 years ago)
nawa ooh..
Posted: at 25-11-2012 04:23 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- jamesbondchick at 25-11-2012 06:00 PM (11 years ago)
See backwardness of africans!

Posted: at 25-11-2012 06:00 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Watch Moment Students Arrive For Prom In Helicopter And Expensive Cars

2. How British Charity Employed Nigerian Man, Peter Omoruy Convicted For Sex Trafficking In France

3. Suspected One-Chance Armed Robber Arrested With Pistol In Suleja

4. Nigerian Govt Cuts Electricity Supplies To Benin Republic, Togo, Niger To Boost Domestic Supply

5. 'You Can Be Poor And Still Be Happier Than The So Called Rich' - World Bank Staff Says

6. BREAKING: Vice President Shettima Cancels Summit Trip To US Over Faulty Aircraft

7. ‘I Appreciate Wike But I Can’t Worship Him’ – Rivers Gov, Fubara Opens Up

8. Suspected Ritualists Kidnap 4 Month Old Boy In Akwa Ibom

9. VIDEO: Skitmaker, Erekere Shows Off His Newly Acquired Benz GLE

10. Ekiti Court Sentences 3 Persons To Death By Hanging For Robbery

11. Actress, Etinosa Idemudia Calls Out BBNaija Star Over Unpaid Debt, Name Still Withheld

12. Toyin Lawani Writes Open Letter To Asake Over New Hairstyle

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

3. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

4. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

5. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

6. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

7. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

8. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

9. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

10. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria