South Africa 2013: FG charges Eagles to go for cup, not jamboree

Date: 26-11-2012 10:29 am (11 years ago) | Author: Eden phillip
- at 26-11-2012 10:29 AM (11 years ago)
President Goodluck Jonathan may have given the Nigeria Football federation (NFF), the technical crew and officials of the Super Eagles a tall order, as he ordered them to ensure that they bring back to Nigeria the South Africa 2013 Cup of Nations trophy. President Jonathan, warning the federation, players and officials of the team that they are not going to South Africa on a jamboree, emphasised that only the trophy would be acceptable to the entire football-loving Nigerians, stressing that they cannot wait to see them lift the trophy.

The Director-General of the National Sports Commission (NSC), Dr Patrick Ekeji, who delivered the message on behalf of President Jonathan during the Gala night and award-giving ceremony of the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN) FCT last week, insisted that the feat was achievable. “I have a word from President Jonathan to the NFF. The message from the president is that you must go to South Africa and win the Nations Cup,” he stressed.

Asked if the tall order would not put severe pressure on the young team Stephen Keshi is rebuilding, the DG, who represented the Minister of Sports and Chairman National Sports Commission, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi, argued that every human being equally operates under pressure. His words: “You ask if the President is not putting pressure on the Super Eagles charging them to win the AFCON? But are you not under pressure as a journalist discharging your duty? If Mr President has charged them to win the 2013 Nations Cup, it does not amount to putting pressure on them.

“In any case, every human being is under pressure. Pressure is part of living, but the question is whether it is achievable and if we give a nod to it, why won’t we go there and win it. I have seen that if they get their act together, they can win the trophy, but they have to know that we must do everything to win back the interest and confidence of Nigerians, especially in our football.

“Super Eagles and Green Eagles of my time, have many followership, but it would be impossible if we can say that much now. Because Nigerians are very passionate, they have to go and do their best to win the trophy. I’m sure that Nigerians would appreciate them if they put in serious efforts and do their very best. “If they put their utmost efforts, Nigerians would appreciate and it would gladden our hearts if they win the trophy.

Mr President has said that they should go and win the trophy. They are going there to win the trophy not for a jamboree. I don’t think there is anybody who does not want us to win the trophy,” Ekeji observed.

Posted: at 26-11-2012 10:29 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 26-11-2012 11:57 AM (11 years ago)
Na so una go talk. Until then.
Posted: at 26-11-2012 11:57 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero