Relationships: Why Men Are More Distant Than Women

Date: 24-04-2013 1:25 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Idbabe
- at 24-04-2013 01:25 PM (11 years ago)
Ever wondered why you seem to care more than he does? A new study claims that women immerse themselves in their romantic relationships, while men place their romantic partners and best friends on an equal but distant footing. This study shows that generally women appear to be more invested in their relationships than men and that their happiness and well-being is more dependent upon how things are going in their intimate relationship.

Who is usually the one who recognizes when things in the relationship aren't working too well? The woman. Who is it that typically seeks professional help with the relationship? The woman. Who is it that spends time on YourTango, reading self-help books and going to seminars about relationships? Women. Why is it this way?

Women are biologically wired to be the nurturers. They are the ones with the skills to anticipate the needs of their partner, take care of nurturing the relationship and doing the problem solving when things have gone awry. Men are more biologically wired to be the providers and protectors. It's not that the relationship isn't important to them, it's just that they show it in different ways — by working hard, establishing a career, and maintaining an emotional distance.

Questions will naturally arise, such as: "How can I change him? How can I make him more involved in this relationship?" Well, you shouldn't, you can't and don't even try.

We have basic needs. We all have them; the strength of each is unique to each individual, and they appear to be genetically programmed. That's not to say that circumstances, culture, stage of development and other factors don't impact the experience of these needs, but basically we are wired with a genetic need strength profile that stays fairly stable throughout our lives.

A relationship destroyer is looking at your partner, deciding he/she is deficient in some way and then attempting to "make" them different. It's not that people can't change; they can, but typically they don't do it because you want them to!

There is a lot of focus in the business world today about diversity appreciation — recognizing that every individual brings something of value to the table. Instead of becoming frustrated and judgmental about difference, we are being asked to learn to accept and appreciate difference. If we are doing this in the business world, when will we begin to use these same skills in our personal lives with those we love?

Men and women are different. They tend to have different benefits in relationship but they are both interested in intimacy. Young adult women tend to be most focused on their need for connection. This manifests in having children, creating homes and nurturing their intimate relationships. That's not to say women don't have careers. They do, but most prioritize the connecting activities.

Most young adult males are focused on their need for significance. They are interested in making their way in the world and on having an impact. This is not to say they don't have relationships, start families and create homes. They do, but their priority is typically focused on work.

This tends to shift in middle age as children leave home. Women believe they have invested and sacrificed for their family, and now it's their turn. They go back to school, change careers or develop their own businesses. Men, in mid-life, tend to realize their children are gone and they missed a lot. They tire of the rat race and are primed for connection.

These differences make relationships interesting. Imagine if both of you were focused on connection at the same time. You'd be blissfully happy with each other but nothing would get done. Similarly, if you are both primarily focused on significance, then you may be financially successful but have little in the way of intimacy.

Recognize the differences. Embrace the differences. And appreciate what you both bring to your relationship (and don't forget to tell each other of your appreciation). Allowing each person to be who they are and celebrating that will do the best job to increase the intimacy in your relationships.

Posted: at 24-04-2013 01:25 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 24-04-2013 03:29 PM (11 years ago)
TRUE sis.. but on the other hand if you look at it from a different angle, u'll come to understand that MEn are logical and analytical, while Women are Emotional and Nurturing.. besides while dating your man, withing a month or two u r supposed to know his communication style.. if he's quiet,or if he expresses himself.there are also approaches you can take for finding out his reason for distance. Stress, boredom, the need and desire of freedom, the need for sex, and avoiding conflict are a few reasons why guys get distant. Most guys deal with stress or any other problem through internalizing and trying to solve it on their own. Guys are not talkers like girls are. They are more "introverted" when it comes to dealing with emotions because they are more analytical and rational than most girls are  Tongue . I have come to understand that the  more space you give to your partner and observe his actions, the more you will see how "simplistic" he is. There are ways to connect to such men>>>

Posted: at 24-04-2013 03:29 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Idbabe at 24-04-2013 04:54 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 24-04-2013 03:29 PM
TRUE sis.. but on the other hand if you look at it from a different angle, u'll come to understand that MEn are logical and analytical, while Women are Emotional and Nurturing.. besides while dating your man, withing a month or two u r supposed to know his communication style.. if he's quiet,or if he expresses himself.there are also approaches you can take for finding out his reason for distance. Stress, boredom, the need and desire of freedom, the need for sex, and avoiding conflict are a few reasons why guys get distant. Most guys deal with stress or any other problem through internalizing and trying to solve it on their own. Guys are not talkers like girls are. They are more "introverted" when it comes to dealing with emotions because they are more analytical and rational than most girls are  Tongue . I have come to understand that the  more space you give to your partner and observe his actions, the more you will see how "simplistic" he is. There are ways to connect to such men>>>

Case close.  Prof of T-t-logy have spoken.  Final judgement.
Posted: at 24-04-2013 04:54 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 24-04-2013 05:00 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Idbabe on 24-04-2013 04:54 PM
Case close.  Prof of T-t-logy have spoken.  Final judgement.

U ain't serious Sis...  Grin Grin Grin case not closed.. cos most people can also disagree .. meanwhile.. hope ur good?

Posted: at 24-04-2013 05:00 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Idbabe at 24-04-2013 05:03 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 24-04-2013 05:00 PM
U ain't serious Sis...  Grin Grin Grin case not closed.. cos most people can also disagree .. meanwhile.. hope ur good?

I dey try sha to be good only dat i don dey wait for the ekpankukwo since last year wey u promise me, and uptil now u never bring.  E good so?
Posted: at 24-04-2013 05:03 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 24-04-2013 05:14 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Idbabe on 24-04-2013 05:03 PM
I dey try sha to be good only dat i don dey wait for the ekpankukwo since last year wey u promise me, and uptil now u never bring.  E good so?

Grin Grin Grin Grin no worry.. u go chop am soon.. wen i invite u

Posted: at 24-04-2013 05:14 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- jossy4reall at 24-04-2013 06:29 PM (11 years ago)
wetin una dey chop.......anyway no long thing

Posted: at 24-04-2013 06:29 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 25-04-2013 11:35 AM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 25-04-2013 11:35 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Omilim at 25-04-2013 02:21 PM (11 years ago)
Cheesy
Posted: at 25-04-2013 02:21 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Betty Akeredolu Called Out By Aide, Folasade For Abandoning Her After Serving Her For 7Yrs

2. Former ECOWAS Court VP Berates EFCC Chairman Over Press Briefing On Yahaya Bello

3. Nigerian Man Allegedly Stabs Roommate To Death During Argument In Portugal

4. Pandemonium As Bandits Strike Again, Kill Four, Abduct Six In Zamfara

5. Drama Looms As Accountant Accuses Ex-Employer, Police Of Harassment In Lagos

6. Residents Flee As Soldiers Leave Niger Community After Deadly Ambush

7. VIDEO: Warri Pikin Hails Veteran Actor, RMD As He Visits Her Family

8. Reactions As 23Yr Old Man Flaunts Wealth Online, Shows Off Expensive House He Newly-Built

9. Rising Singer, Shine TTW Lament On How Policemen Damaged His Car, Harassed Him After Tagging

10. How Police Nabbed Kidnappers Who Killed Victim After Collecting N3m Ransom In Jigawa

11. Eight Mobile Suspected Phone Snatchers Arrested In Kano

12. VIDEO: Abroad-Based Nigerian Cries Profusely Over Failure To Make It In The UK

13. Man Sentenced To Physical Castration And 50 Years In Jail For Raping 14 Year Old Girl

2. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

3. Abia Police Parade Suspected Criminals, Including ABSU Student Involved In Fatal Shooting

9. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

10. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper