Malawi Coach, Tom Saintfiet To Report Stephen Keshi To Fifa For 'Racism'

Date: 23-08-2013 5:28 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Charles colins
[1] 2 3 4
- at 23-08-2013 05:28 PM (10 years ago)
Malawi coach Tom Saintfiet is to report Stephen Keshi to Fifa after the Nigeria coach called him "a white dude who should go back to Belgium". The pair have been arguing since Malawi asked Fifa to move next month's crucial World Cup qualifier from Calabar for safety reasons.

Saintfiet told BBC Sport: "It is unacceptable that any person says these words - it is clear racism.

"It is 100% sure that my lawyers will lodge a complaint with Fifa."

The row erupted earlier this month when the Football Association of Malawi (FAM) wrote to Fifa, seeking a new venue for their 7 September Group F qualifier away to the Super Eagles - a match which Malawi, who trail Nigeria by two points, must win to progress to the play-offs.

"Mr Keshi can call me mad and crazy - no problem - but the racism is unacceptable"

Belgian Saintfiet told local media at the time that he was concerned about security because he claims "the UK's Foreign & Commonwealth Office says it is a no-travel area".

Keshi hit back shortly afterwards, saying "this is where we play our games and other countries are fine with that. And the Nigerian Football Federation complied with Fifa's request for a written guarantee that the game would go ahead safely."

Keshi has now followed that up with comments on UK-based African TV show, Vox Africa's Sports360  , saying: "I think the coach of Malawi is crazy.

"If he wants to talk to Fifa, he should go back to Belgium. He is not an African person, he is a white dude, he should go back to Belgium," Keshi said. "I have never used any words like these to any coach. He has no right, who is he?

"All other countries play in Calabar. Calabar is one of the safest places in Nigeria... He is mad. I wish I could say it to his face."

Saintfiet told BBC Sport he is "shocked" by Keshi's comments and he believes the former Nigeria captain's words could also lead to trouble at the qualifier.

"These words create hate and aggression, and creates a risk ahead of the match in Calabar," Saintfiet added. "These comments are unacceptable and I am very sad about them. I will not say any bad words about Mr Keshi, nor Nigeria - I only spoke about moving the game."

"If Fifa takes racism seriously, then you have to take it seriously in both directions. If a European said something of this nature about an African, you would have a huge problem. I am against racism in all directions."

Saintfiet believes Keshi "is angry because of the request to change the venue", but the Belgian stands by his feeling that Calabar is unsafe.

"If Fifa says it's ok (for the match to be played in Calabar) because Nigeria will provide anti-bomb squads, then surely this is a problem at the beginning. "If you need anti-bomb squads, you cannot consider the area safe. It is designated a non-travel area, high-risk area.

"We are not insulting anyone."

Posted: at 23-08-2013 05:28 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- merion at 23-08-2013 05:33 PM (10 years ago)
kindergarten
Posted: at 23-08-2013 05:33 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- newtoncruz at 23-08-2013 05:39 PM (10 years ago)
kesh why naaa
Posted: at 23-08-2013 05:39 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- angesco at 23-08-2013 05:40 PM (10 years ago)
Yes. Do not be surprised. Black people can also be racist!

And we all know where we learnt it from - nudge, nudge, say no more!
Posted: at 23-08-2013 05:40 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 23-08-2013 05:41 PM (10 years ago)
Close your mouth jare, e pass the one wey una dey do us for una country?
Posted: at 23-08-2013 05:41 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- deway1 at 23-08-2013 05:50 PM (10 years ago)
phyuk you, the evil that men do live after them, Man we blacks have heard that too, don't make noise
Posted: at 23-08-2013 05:50 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mobbysmartins at 23-08-2013 06:08 PM (10 years ago)
Some of these white people will never cease to amaze me with their superiority attitude when they are dealing with Africans.So simply because the stupid UK's Foreign & Commonwealth Office says Calabar is a no-travel area that should be taken to be truth.We the Nigerians know that Calabar is one of the safest places in Nigeria.Who are the stupid UK's Foreign & Commonwealth Office to tell us where is safe in Nigeria and where is not??.The stupid UK's Foreign & Commonwealth Office classified Calabar as a no travel area because the court mandated their SHELL Company to pay Millions of Dollars in compensation to for degrading the communities where they drill Oil from and never care to clean up the mess after drilling.The classification of Calabar as a no travel area is politically motivated by the stupid UK government who never want to see anything good in Nigeria.It amazes me that this stupid no name 3rd rate coach from the non-footballing Belgian Nation should think he can dictate to us where to play the match based on one stupid scrupulous classification by the witch hunting UK government.Thank you Big Boss Keshi for putting this no name coach in his proper place.
Posted: at 23-08-2013 06:08 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sonjohn994 at 23-08-2013 06:22 PM (10 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 23-08-2013 06:22 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 23-08-2013 06:33 PM (10 years ago)
if na white man against black man we go talk say na bcos we be black, but why keshi come utter dat kain statement now Roll Eyes
Posted: at 23-08-2013 06:33 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Lateef67 at 23-08-2013 06:54 PM (10 years ago)
Mind game is already afraid of Nigeria
Posted: at 23-08-2013 06:54 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- noblemarce at 23-08-2013 07:21 PM (10 years ago)
dis white guys are fools,i dont know what they take we africans for. His shocked that he was called a "white dude" he should now imagine how one will feel if they stoned banana at him.
Posted: at 23-08-2013 07:21 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Shegzan at 23-08-2013 07:26 PM (10 years ago)
Hmmn#

Posted: at 23-08-2013 07:26 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Machealex at 23-08-2013 08:42 PM (10 years ago)
 Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry
Posted: at 23-08-2013 08:42 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Blindwanderer at 23-08-2013 08:57 PM (10 years ago)
naija people, why una no dey like talk true? If na white person talk that one to black person na, una go open una clean mouth dey talk say make the government look into the case, but if na the other way around, una go dey support bad thing. Racism goes both ways, FACT!! Keshi dey wrong for that statement and Fifa should fine and ban him for the necessary amount of games just as they do to the racist Europeans and players. Be cool people, don't support your own race in the fight against racism, bond with the truth, be impartial.
Posted: at 23-08-2013 08:57 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- steveoneal at 23-08-2013 09:43 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: Blindwanderer on 23-08-2013 08:57 PM
naija people, why una no dey like talk true? If na white person talk that one to black person na, una go open una clean mouth dey talk say make the government look into the case, but if na the other way around, una go dey support bad thing. Racism goes both ways, FACT!! Keshi dey wrong for that statement and Fifa should fine and ban him for the necessary amount of games just as they do to the racist Europeans and players. Be cool people, don't support your own race in the fight against racism, bond with the truth, be impartial.
sensible words coiming out from you,,, we ve had and experienced enough racism, but that doesnt mean keshi you use those words for the man,, if the man is a racist he wont even bother to work with malawian team,, from my own keshi can express his views without playing this racial card,, but the problem with most folks here is. they will never say the truth in as much as it has to do with their tribes or their country men against another country man,,,,i wonder if they will ever have the courage to say the truth, if a man of 40 years from their families rape a six month old baby,,
Posted: at 23-08-2013 09:43 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mejex at 23-08-2013 09:53 PM (10 years ago)
keshi was right to call you mad how can you say calabar is unsafe?honestly mr coach you are crazy calabar is safer than any city in your country
Posted: at 23-08-2013 09:53 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ebiteck at 23-08-2013 10:17 PM (10 years ago)
is alright
Posted: at 23-08-2013 10:17 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Afrogotojail at 23-08-2013 10:33 PM (10 years ago)
Malawi should not bother to turn up for the match
Posted: at 23-08-2013 10:33 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mobbysmartins at 24-08-2013 12:06 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: Blindwanderer on 23-08-2013 08:57 PM

With all due respect brother, I think you got it wrong.The Malawian Coach have the right to complain to FIFA for a change of venue if he truly feels Calabar is not safe.But his assessment of the safety of Calabar as a playground should not be based on the pronouncement of the UK's Foreign & Commonwealth Office which is not a Football Institution.The UK's Foreign & Commonwealth Office is a biased and a racist organization that pronounced Calabar and some other parts of Southern Nigeria a no travel area in retaliation just 3 days after the ICJ asked SHELL BP to pay more than 300 Million Dollars in compensation for not cleaning up the environment in the host communities after drilling and Oil Spillage.So for this man to base his assessment of the safety of Calabar on the pronouncement of the UK's Foreign & Commonwealth Office is RACISM itself.My brothers and sisters here,please do not be hoodwinked by this white people,they are very crafty.We have been playing our matches with other countries in Calabar,countries bigger than Malawi in terms of both Economy and Footballing and non of these countries have complained about the safety of Calabar as a play ground.You and I knows that Calabar is one of the safest places in Nigeria if not the safest.This man knows that his complaint has no basis that is why he based his complaint on the pronouncement of the UK's Foreign & Commonwealth Office which is a Political body,rather than a Footballing institution.I strongly believe that the Malawian Coach insulted us Nigerians by trying to imply that it is the UK's Foreign & Commonwealth Office that will decide the safest place to play football in Nigeria rather than the NFA.So I still maintain my stand that Big Boss Keshi did the right thing by putting him in proper pedestal.Next time he will watch it before playing the superiority card which is still RACISM.I believe it is highest form of RACISM for a group of ignorant white men to sit down somewhere in London,Brussels and Geneva to determine that Calabar is not safe for traveling.I strongly believe it is also the highest form of racism for the Malawian Coach to complain that Calabar is not a safe playground based on the erroneous and politically motivated pronouncement of some ignorant fellow white men somewhere in London,Brussels and Geneva.
Posted: at 24-08-2013 12:06 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mobbysmartins at 24-08-2013 12:08 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: steveoneal on 23-08-2013 09:43 PM
sensible words coiming out from you,,, we ve had and experienced enough racism, but that doesnt mean keshi you use those words for the man,, if the man is a racist he wont even bother to work with malawian team,, from my own keshi can express his views without playing this racial card,, but the problem with most folks here is. they will never say the truth in as much as it has to do with their tribes or their country men against another country man,,,,i wonder if they will ever have the courage to say the truth, if a man of 40 years from their families rape a six month old baby,,

With all due respect brother, I think you got it wrong.The Malawian Coach have the right to complain to FIFA for a change of venue if he truly feels Calabar is not safe.But his assessment of the safety of Calabar as a playground should not be based on the pronouncement of the UK's Foreign & Commonwealth Office which is not a Football Institution.The UK's Foreign & Commonwealth Office is a biased and a racist organization that pronounced Calabar and some other parts of Southern Nigeria a no travel area in retaliation just 3 days after the ICJ asked SHELL BP to pay more than 300 Million Dollars in compensation for not cleaning up the environment in the host communities after drilling and Oil Spillage.So for this man to base his assessment of the safety of Calabar on the pronouncement of the UK's Foreign & Commonwealth Office is RACISM itself.My brothers and sisters here,please do not be hoodwinked by this white people,they are very crafty.We have been playing our matches with other countries in Calabar,countries bigger than Malawi in terms of both Economy and Footballing and non of these countries have complained about the safety of Calabar as a play ground.You and I knows that Calabar is one of the safest places in Nigeria if not the safest.This man knows that his complaint has no basis that is why he based his complaint on the pronouncement of the UK's Foreign & Commonwealth Office which is a Political body,rather than a Footballing institution.I strongly believe that the Malawian Coach insulted us Nigerians by trying to imply that it is the UK's Foreign & Commonwealth Office that will decide the safest place to play football in Nigeria rather than the NFA.So I still maintain my stand that Big Boss Keshi did the right thing by putting him in proper pedestal.Next time he will watch it before playing the superiority card which is still RACISM.I believe it is highest form of RACISM for a group of ignorant white men to sit down somewhere in London,Brussels and Geneva to determine that Calabar is not safe for traveling.I strongly believe it is also the highest form of racism for the Malawian Coach to complain that Calabar is not a safe playground based on the erroneous and politically motivated pronouncement of some ignorant fellow white men somewhere in London,Brussels and Geneva.
Posted: at 24-08-2013 12:08 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4