A Pregnant Woman Lifting Weights: Is This Safe?

Date: 21-09-2013 9:16 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Brown Girl
- at 21-09-2013 09:16 PM (10 years ago)

I had a high adrenalin goose pimples when i saw the video and the images of this pregnant woman doing this; what if the head or legs of the baby just pop out while carrying this heavyweight and by the way, she was 8 months pregnant and only two weeks to her delivery when she took this video!

Lea-Anne Ellison, 35, sparked an online firestorm after pictures of the 8 1/2-month pregnant mom lifting weights were posted on Facebook.

“8 months pregnant with baby number 3 and CrossFit has been my sanity,” Ellison wrote in the caption. “I have been CrossFitting for 2 1/2 years and...strongly believe that
pregnancy is not an illness, but a time to relish in your body’s capabilities to kick ass.”

But a slew of commenters posted angry greivances on the picture — which boasted more than 16,000 likes and almost 3,000 shares by Friday morning.

“If anything happens to your baby due to your stupidity, I hope you’ll be able to handle your guilt,” another person wrote. “Pregnancy is NOT the time to be taking stupid risks.”

“This is actually sickening, I hope pregnant around the world do not do this kind of crap,” one woman wrote. “I am a crossfit enthusiast but I DO NOT recommend this at all.”

The person continued by claiming the image gives “people the wrong message that this is OKAY when it’s not!!!!”

Ellison — the mother of an 8-year-old boy and a 12-year-old daughter — said she trains to maintain her 'HOT mom' image.

“The key is listening to your body! As a medical professional, I find it appalling the number of people who treat pregnancy as an illness,” another woman wrote. “Multiple studies have shown that you can continue to safely workout, including lifting weights as long as you did it pre-pregnancy!!”

According to the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 30 minutes or more of exercise a day is recommended so long as there are no medical or obstetric complications.

Scores of commenters were angered by the photos, but several supporters claim regular exercise is good for pregnant women.

“Thank you to all who posted and continue to post positive, supportive comments regarding my photo,” she wrote. “I had NO IDEA what a stir this would create....It makes me feel proud and loved and STRONGER!!!!”

Over to our medical professional, is it recommended? Is it healthy
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Y1_I6cLBQ4&amp;feature=youtu.be" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Y1_I6cLBQ4&amp;feature=youtu.be</a>

Click HERE for the hot stories
                                                                  Read Stories of clebrity scandal HERE 

Posted: at 21-09-2013 09:16 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming

1. "Simi And Adekunle Gold Make Me Regret Being Single" – Tiwa Savage Opens Up

2. BREAKING: Kaduna Assembly Probes El-Rufai’s Loans, Directs Committee To Summon Ex-Gov

3. BBN Star, Tuoyo Replies Moet Abebe, Reveals How Much He Spent At A Club

4. Panic As Gunmen Invade Ekiti LG Secretariat

5. Police Foils Cable Theft, Arrest One Suspect In Katsina

6. “Person Wey Get You, Get Somebody” – May Edochie Praises Rita Edochie On Her Birthday

7. Bayern Munich v Arsenal: UEFA Champions League Q/Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers & Stats

1. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

2. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

6. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

7. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

8. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

9. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks

10. Edo Police Commissioner Orders Trial Of Officer Threatening Civilians With AK-47 In Viral Video