Obama's visit to Ghana - A lesson for Nigeria

Date: 12-07-2009 1:30 am (14 years ago) | Author: Jonston Tim
- at 12-07-2009 01:30 AM (14 years ago)
I hope that our leaders have taken a cue from this event.

Some say Obama did not do well by avoiding Nigeria on his first visit to Africa.
I don't blame him, I would have dome the same if I were him because I would not like to associate with bad leadership and, by so doing, identify with corruption as well.
I think it was the best measure he could ever take to address the situation... it was a wise action.

He will probably decide to visit Nigeria only if we can turn a new leaf.

Posted: at 12-07-2009 01:30 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- METRIX at 12-07-2009 01:39 AM (14 years ago)
tell dem...good lesson4 9ja.

Posted: at 12-07-2009 01:39 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fireman at 12-07-2009 07:47 AM (14 years ago)
Such a lesson wouldn't be learnt in Nigeria by the leaders now or ever!!

Posted: at 12-07-2009 07:47 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- METRIX at 12-07-2009 09:13 AM (14 years ago)
blive u...

Posted: at 12-07-2009 09:13 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sessys at 12-07-2009 10:12 AM (14 years ago)
I think Obama did the right thing how do expect him to come to a country where corruption is the order of the day, where we cannot have free and fair election also i think we should put our house in order rather than expecting Obama.
Posted: at 12-07-2009 10:12 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- biamblinks at 12-07-2009 11:37 AM (14 years ago)
Naija Naija Na wa OHHHHHH
Posted: at 12-07-2009 11:37 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- jazzmine at 12-07-2009 01:21 PM (14 years ago)
nah biggggggggggggggg waaaaaaaaaaaaaa oo
Posted: at 12-07-2009 01:21 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- rbest at 12-07-2009 03:40 PM (14 years ago)
what a lesson? dat Obama came to Ghana? or did he say he will not come to Nigeria? I dnt think Americans can do without Nigeria, so note that
Posted: at 12-07-2009 03:40 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- prinze_abdel at 12-07-2009 06:38 PM (14 years ago)
u guys failed to notice that Naija denied Obama entry Visa 2 9ja
Posted: at 12-07-2009 06:38 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ify9ja at 13-07-2009 09:41 AM (14 years ago)
Are you telling me that you guys didn't know that Obama visit to Ghana is STRIGHTLY business.  Like Duh?  He went their to began a relationship concerning about the Oil Ghana found in their homeland.  Like Duh?  He's interest to Ghana is for American people, not for Ghana.  His speech is for African people though.  Haba, everything has to be a competition in this world.  Chei, in his first visit, he went to South Africa and Egypt.  The second visit, he went to Ghana and left.  How many African nations including his home country are complaining about Obama not going to their country.  Chei, i wonder why noone wrote topic when the British President went to Ghana, not Nigeria.  Has Nigeria discovered anything new?  No.  Has Ghana? Yes.  Why go to a country where you are already trading oil with them instead of a country which is fresh with oil and every other nation in the world are trying to begin a business with.  Like Duh?
Posted: at 13-07-2009 09:41 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- teeco at 13-07-2009 09:47 AM (14 years ago)
No comment!!!!!!!!11

Posted: at 13-07-2009 09:47 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- micruises at 13-07-2009 10:39 AM (14 years ago)
D FACT STILL REMAINS DAT WE ALL SHOULD STILL BE PROUD OF WHERE WE ARE COMING FROM COZ D GHANA IN QUESTION STILL HAS NEEDS WE NIGERIANS CAN SOLVE, OBAMA HAS SEEN WHAT HE NEEDS THERE DATS Y HE WENT THERE................IS ANYONE CORRUPT AMONG U N WOULD STICK 2 DAT FACT
Posted: at 13-07-2009 10:39 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- teeco at 13-07-2009 10:43 AM (14 years ago)
I believe you

Posted: at 13-07-2009 10:43 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ify9ja at 14-07-2009 07:07 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: belhushe on 13-07-2009 10:36 AM
whether he went to Ghana for business or not..its a slight on Nigeria..we ve become soo dumb that our leaders fail to notice such bitter lesson.This is the same Obama that some of our senators were sent to go and meet and they were denied acess.....Obama asked some1 to tell them to go and put their house in order.my sister, America doesnt need Nigeria as we need them...ask urself hw many of them are in Nigera and how many of us are there....ma 5 cent

Ask yourself How many Ghanaians and other African nation are in America and how many Americans are in this African nation.  This isn't a lesson for Nigeria. P.S: There weren't any Nigerian senators sent to go visit Obama.  Stop lying.  He didn't even visit any senator from any African nation apart from Ghana (the country he was in). The only thing Obama did concerning any African nation including Nigeria in his visit is that website he created asking every African nation including Nigeria want they would like him to address to and that speech he gave saying that Africans need to fix up.  For some reason, you are turning this into Nigeria vs. Ghana thing when in reality, it shouldn't even be anything like that. 
When Nigeria does something obama is interested in that's when he'll visit that nation. So far, whenever obama goes to an African nation, his main goal is always something important.  When he went to South Africa, he went there to talk about the Xenophobia that happened there. When he went to Egypt, he went to talk about their involvement in the Iraq war. When he went to Kenya, he went there to help his campaign.  Now that he went to Ghana, he went there for Oil.  If you want Obama to go to Nigeria either get Nigerians to do a xenophobic attack on someone, get involved with the Iraq war and be against  Americans or discover a new resources that America needs.  That's the only way to get his attention.  You know there are more African nation in the world apart from Nigeria, do you see any of them crying over the fact that Obama didn't visit their own country.
Posted: at 14-07-2009 07:07 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- rbest at 14-07-2009 10:11 PM (14 years ago)
cheeei, where u there? u dey talk like say u be him excort, anyway Obama has said it all that african's development depends on Africans, so he who have ear let him hear, but if Ghana wants to be used, good luck cos Obama has said it all
Posted: at 14-07-2009 10:11 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- austone at 23-07-2009 12:19 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: dotty on 12-07-2009 01:30 AM
I hope that our leaders have taken a cue from this event.

Some say Obama did not do well by avoiding Nigeria on his first visit to Africa.
I don't blame him, I would have dome the same if I were him because I would not like to associate with bad leadership and, by so doing, identify with corruption as well.
I think it was the best measure he could ever take to address the situation... it was a wise action.

He will probably decide to visit Nigeria only if we can turn a new leaf.

Thanks Dotty. Am in with you and agree perfectly well.

Posted: at 23-07-2009 12:19 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- PoliticxGuru at 21-08-2015 08:02 AM (8 years ago)
Wat lesson
Posted: at 21-08-2015 08:02 AM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Female Student Who Assaulted Namtira Bwala at Lead British School Apologises For Her Action

2. Wives Of Osun State Gov Adeleke Battle For Position Of 1st Lady As Nigeria's 1st Lady Visits

3. I Am Not In EFCC Custody - APC Gov. Aspirant, Akinterinwa Denies Being Detained By EFCC

4. VIDEO: Carter Efe Calls Out Sydney Talker Over Singer, Khaid’s Health Status

5. Davido’s Manager, Asika Speaks On why Davido is Yet to Collaborate With Wizkid, Burna Boy

6. Rita Edochie Throws Shade As She Celebrates May Edochie On Her Double Achievement

7. Reno Omokri Reacts To Abuja Chinese Supermarket 'Racist', Demands Wike's Action

8. NAFDAC Uncover Illegal Activities Of Fake Cosmetics Producer In Lagos

9. Niger: Gov Bago Dragged For Spraying Naira Notes At Citizens

10. Singer, Simi Reveals How She Wrote & Sang Her Hit Song, ‘Joromi’ With Irritation

11. BULLYING: Lead British School, Abuja Releases Public Statement

12. Owner Of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Denies Barring Nigerians

13. Police Deploy Officers to Investigate Bullying at Leads British International School

14. OAP Do2dtun Reacts To Viral Bullying Videos, Calls Out Secondary School Bullies

15. Abuja Court Fails To Hear EFCC Suit Against Order Restraining Yahaya Bello’s Arrest

16. Police Seek Family Of Missing Child Found Wandering In Osogbo

17. Amotekun Arrests Man Who Cons Hospital Patients, Flees With Money Meant For Tests, Treatment

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. Nigerian Man Introduces Innovative Solution For Money Spraying At Parties Amidst EFCC Crackdown

10. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office