Funke Akindele And The Bastardisation Of The English Language (Page 2)

Date: 03-11-2013 7:04 am (10 years ago) | Author: aje gist
1 [2] 3 4
- prosperifetemi at 3-11-2013 02:38 PM (10 years ago)
writer what u said shouldn't have effect on who ever chose to speak either good or bad grammar,"am a typical naija v been in philladelphia U.S for the past 4yrs " Musicians , comedian here does same thing too. even the street language here is worst. despite all grammar in d street and on d tv , my 2 kids speaks good english. pls re address that issue funke, wizzy, olamide are hustling to earn daily. if u want to hurstle pls hestle and don't bullshit them.
Posted: at 3-11-2013 02:38 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Noble12 at 3-11-2013 03:11 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 3-11-2013 03:11 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ade-vegaslove at 3-11-2013 05:19 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: angesco on  3-11-2013 01:35 PM
The "bastardisation" of the English language is the least of our problems.

I would think our lack of and poor quality of science teachers is more of a problem to the  nation!
Well said! I wish the government adopts the language that people speak most to teach all the science subjects like China and Philippine.
Posted: at 3-11-2013 05:19 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- juddycoil at 3-11-2013 06:07 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 3-11-2013 06:07 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- serenade at 3-11-2013 06:13 PM (10 years ago)
Dear poster, u feel u r grammatically grounded n u stil use d word "A UNCLAD". U r even worse dan d person u r writing abt. Pls, if u dnt knw wat 2 do, shut up n read oda ppl's meaningful posts.
Posted: at 3-11-2013 06:13 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- ray1234 at 3-11-2013 09:16 PM (10 years ago)
 : Huh?
Posted: at 3-11-2013 09:16 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- judeworld at 3-11-2013 09:26 PM (10 years ago)
Mr poster or writer. Do you watch american movies? Sometimes the black use street language which is not correct english. Funke speaks very good english. If you watch the soap 'I kneed to know", she was still very young there and she spoke very good english. Her acting is pure comedy and she has created _ _̅ _̅̅ _̅̅̅α niche for herself there, so leave her for us, we love her. And moreover the british have their own english, the americans have theirs, so we nigerians also have ours, it must not be the same.
Nigeria: this couple love themselves
British: this couple love one another
Posted: at 3-11-2013 09:26 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- toibeli at 3-11-2013 09:41 PM (10 years ago)
@ poster, It's called entertainment, you don't have to watch the movie if you feel this way.
Posted: at 3-11-2013 09:41 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- judeworld at 3-11-2013 09:50 PM (10 years ago)
Mr poster or writer. Do you watch american movies? Sometimes the black use street language which is not correct english. Funke speaks very good english. If you watch the soap 'I kneed to know", she was still very young there and she spoke very good english. Her acting is pure comedy and she has created _ _̅ _̅̅ _̅̅̅α niche for herself there, so leave her for us, we love her. And moreover the british have their own english, the americans have theirs, so we nigerians also have ours, it must not be the same.
Nigeria: this couple love themselves
British: this couple love one another
Posted: at 3-11-2013 09:50 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- SANDRA2ACTIVE at 3-11-2013 11:46 PM (10 years ago)
She is an entertainer and  she is doing wat she is paid for.....so let her be
Posted: at 3-11-2013 11:46 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- zoe61 at 3-11-2013 11:51 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 3-11-2013 11:51 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- damaki at 4-11-2013 12:33 AM (10 years ago)
Edukasun is ruined by the gov't o jare.
Posted: at 4-11-2013 12:33 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- un9ja-9ja at 4-11-2013 12:42 AM (10 years ago)
This poster is so daft! Pidgin (diluted english/ mother tongue) is the best way to send a message across to the four corners of Nigeria. Listen, not all british people speaks good english, same for the french people. It's people with slavery-mentality like you that will tell parents not to communicates with their children in their mother tongue so that they can speak good english. Whatever happens to multi-lingua? If you don't have any meaningful thing to post, why not try ameliorating your grammar first ("The entertainment industry is dulling our intelligence"), imagine!!! Abeg i no fot laugh
Posted: at 4-11-2013 12:42 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- paulohking at 4-11-2013 01:00 AM (10 years ago)
Mr writer laying emphasis on Funke, u think u r more fluent than she is ? besides all ur write ups are bullish!t.....keep ur kids away from d TV ......shikena!!!
Posted: at 4-11-2013 01:00 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- opty at 4-11-2013 02:24 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: dareper on  3-11-2013 10:51 AM
For me that film in which funke speaks bad grammar is a comedy and she is playing the role of an uneducated bush girl. So get lost poster I'm sure funke can speak good english as well.
Posted: at 4-11-2013 02:24 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- AuntyAcey at 4-11-2013 04:41 AM (10 years ago)
Mr English Police.

I cannot understand why we as black people are always so afraid. Afraid of our own shadow, Pidkin/ dialect is a broken English spoken by many Africans on the continent and many other countries and Continents of this world, even some Caribbean Islands have their own. Ghana got theirs Nigeria got theirs and so does Gambia and so on, what is the big deal? some children speak & write very good English, and in their homes they speak their country's dialect with their parents. I think the onous is on the parents to deal with this as they see fit, because this so called rule will certainly change from home to home, in some cases culture demands it.  Society should definitely stay out of it.  Asia has thousands of different dialects, spoken they use their dialect in their movies if necessary, and everyone enjoys it including your truly, sometimes with sub titles sometimes without.
As for Funkie Akindile, she is well verse in the English language, she is an Actress and she is very good at it, she plays her part very well. I totally believe that every part of the world should have their own dialect it can sometimes save a life. There was a time when we did beat the drum which spoke a language that no one understood but us, and it worked for the reason in which it was intended. Our children who want to master the English language certainly will, so relax and take a chill pill.
Posted: at 4-11-2013 04:41 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- AuntyAcey at 4-11-2013 04:51 AM (10 years ago)
Mr English Police.

I cannot understand why we as black people are always so afraid, afraid of our own shadow, Pidkin/ dialect is a broken English spoken by many Africans on the continent and many other countries and Continents of this world, even some Caribbean Islands have their own. Ghana got theirs Nigeria got theirs and so does Gambia and so on, what is the big deal? some children speak & write very good English, and in their homes they speak their country's dialect with their parents. I think the onust is on the parents to deal with this as they deem fit, because this so called rule will certainly change from home to home, in some cases culture demands it.  Society should definitely stay out of it.  Asia has thousands of different dialects, spoken they use their dialect in their movies if necessary, and everyone enjoys it including your truly, sometimes with sub titles sometimes without.

As for Funkie Akindile, she is well versed in the English language, she is an Actress, and a comedian, an entertainer, she is very good at it, she plays her part very well. I totally believe that every part of the world should have their own dialect it can sometimes save a life. There was a time when we did beat the drum which spoke a language that no one understood but us, and it worked for the reason in which it was intended. Our children who really want to master the English language certainly will without force, so relax and take a chill pill.
Posted: at 4-11-2013 04:51 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- daveobahon at 4-11-2013 04:54 AM (10 years ago)
Poster your fada is English na my mother tongue? dem dey use English buy garri?
Posted: at 4-11-2013 04:54 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AuntyAcey at 4-11-2013 05:01 AM (10 years ago)
Leave the girl alone she is fine, Actor, Entertainer, one of the best, she can act the part of anyone from Captain to cook.  Her English is very good. Those who want to speak real good English will, and those who do not wish to won't Funkie has nothing to do with it.
Posted: at 4-11-2013 05:01 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Seunsanni at 4-11-2013 05:30 AM (10 years ago)
This writer is very stupid!! Y picking on Funke and not patience..... If she speaks correct English in dat movie then how do we enjoy the comedy init, is she the FG or ASUU on strike... U are here castigating her while she's enjoying her hard earn money....does speaking good English translate to success, see the number of jobless fluent English graduates in Nigeria, moreover Funke is a barrister @ law....stupid and crazy writer... U better go think bout ow to make something useful with ur life.... U are just stupid
Posted: at 4-11-2013 05:30 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
1 [2] 3 4