Military In Governance Is Old-Fashioned and Will No Longer Be Tolerated,

Date: 09-11-2013 9:05 am (10 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 9-11-2013 09:05 AM (10 years ago)

President Goodluck Jonathan yesterday [Nov. 8] maintained that governance by the military in Africa and other parts of the world is old-fashioned and will no longer be tolerated.

He made the remark yesterday while addressing a special session of the National People’s Assembly during his visit to Guinea-Bissau.

President Jonathan also called on the country’s Armed Forces to embrace total respect for democracy and constitutionalism in the interest of their nation.

He said:

It is no longer fashionable to see the military parading themselves as the custodians of political power. Rather, it is fashionable for the military to embrace the protection, preservation and total respect for constitutional order and democracy in order to build a prosperous and an egalitarian society.

President Jonathan disclosed that he was in Bissau to show solidarity to the government and people of Guinea Bissau as part of efforts to ensure lasting peace and stability on the African continent.

He re-stated Nigeria’s condemnation of recent attacks on the Nigerian Embassy and Nigerian nationals in Guinea Bissau, saying:

Mischief makers in the country should be discouraged from inciting the public against brotherly Nigerians and Africans.

President Jonathan called on the authorities of Guinea-Bissau to bring the perpetrators of the criminal attacks to justice.

We should be our brothers’ keepers and work hand-in-hand in this era of globalization so as to reap the fruits that come with it. I want to reassure you that the incident that led to the death of a Nigerian will not deter us from our desire to ensure that peace and stability are restored in Guinea-Bissau.

He said the objective of his visit was to “identify with your aspiration to transform your country to the status of a stable and democratic society that will guarantee peace and stable democratic governance which is a fundamental per-requisite for meaningful economic development”.

Posted: at 9-11-2013 09:05 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Noble12 at 9-11-2013 09:14 AM (10 years ago)
alright
Posted: at 9-11-2013 09:14 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 9-11-2013 09:24 AM (10 years ago)
Wow! He's now speaking on behalf of all of Africa.

If Mr President you are looking for peace - I don't tjink Guinea Bissau is a threat yet to Nigeria - instead go and address the people and government of Libya, Eygpt and other North Africa countries where Nigerians are treated like criminals and kept in detentuon camps just because they set foot on their soil!
Posted: at 9-11-2013 09:24 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 9-11-2013 09:32 AM (10 years ago)
ok..
Posted: at 9-11-2013 09:32 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- lovelyroli at 9-11-2013 10:07 AM (10 years ago)
 Tongue Tongue Tongue
Posted: at 9-11-2013 10:07 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- dareper at 9-11-2013 10:13 AM (10 years ago)
Clap for yourself, mr great speaker. Good outside, bad @ home
Posted: at 9-11-2013 10:13 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- sucre4u at 9-11-2013 10:16 AM (10 years ago)
Go 2 india n tell dem 2 stop killin our brodas n sistas livin dere
Posted: at 9-11-2013 10:16 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jossy4reall at 9-11-2013 10:31 AM (10 years ago)
I C..

Posted: at 9-11-2013 10:31 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Wysetots at 9-11-2013 11:02 AM (10 years ago)
Ok?

But what positive impact has democracy made?
Posted: at 9-11-2013 11:02 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- micc at 9-11-2013 11:09 AM (10 years ago)
I hear
Posted: at 9-11-2013 11:09 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- BlueIxora at 9-11-2013 11:48 AM (10 years ago)
Cool
Posted: at 9-11-2013 11:48 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kenosas at 9-11-2013 12:04 PM (10 years ago)
the military era you re talking about and the once we re now,what is that big discrepancy,the military era then  there was an embezzlement of the nation funds,which is not far from what we re still experiencing today,or its because they were imposing power without the consent of the people which is obvious,but still you guys introduced democracy to deceive the masses,all the name of free choose by the people,which is never possible,military era ,there was mainly inching themselves within their circle,but this sound and fake democracy mainly killing the innocent soul while people in the political range re secured with the public fund,i am not protesting that military era was good,no.......but for me this very time we re experiencing is more annoying,because its quit clear right from the one that military govt is nothing but a mess of failure,but when you critically examine you ll even discover that some of those military head then re better that some of what we re getting nowadays.
Posted: at 9-11-2013 12:04 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DeeeCeee at 9-11-2013 12:56 PM (10 years ago)
Make una quite, nothing satisfy some of you
Posted: at 9-11-2013 12:56 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- DMG17 at 9-11-2013 02:26 PM (10 years ago)
ONE GOOD THING WITH AN HONEST MILITARY GOVERNMENT IS THAT IT IMPACTS AND RESTORES DISCIPLINE, SOCIAL STABILITY IN CITIZENS. BASED ON THE CURRENT POLITICAL INSTABILITY IN NIGERIA MILITARY REGIME MUST BE TOLERATED BECAUSE POLITICIANS HAVE OPENLY AND CLEARLY FAILED DEMOCRACY WITH EXCESSIVE AND TRANSPARENT CORRUPTION LOOTING THE COUNTRY'S WEALTH, ORGANIZED POLITICAL ASSASSINATIONS, POLITICAL KIDNAPPINGS, THE LACK OF RULE OF LAW WHICH IS SUPPOSE TO BE RESPECTED UNDER A DEMOCRATIC GOVERNMENT, MISMANAGEMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES, CARELESSNESS, SOCIAL INJUSTICE LIKE THE PRESENT GOVERNMENT AND PREVIOUS DEMOCRATIC GOVERNMENTS. WHAT NIGERIA NEEDS IS A GOOD, HONEST, HUMANE, GOD FEARING MILITARY GOVERNMENT. HARD TO FIND YES, BUT NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE. THE PRESENT NIGERIAN GOVERNMENT IS CLEARLY SENDING AN INVITATION TO THE MILITARY.
Posted: at 9-11-2013 02:26 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DMG17 at 9-11-2013 02:32 PM (10 years ago)
VERY GOOD, THANK YOU FOR TELLING HIM ABOUT THIS INSANE ISSUE IN INDIA. HE HAS TURNED A BLIND EYE BECAUSE HIS OWN CHILDREN ARE SAFE LIVING IN PARADISE.
Posted: at 9-11-2013 02:32 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kabu-kabu at 9-11-2013 03:57 PM (10 years ago)
Military in politics is old fashioned, true to the point; but cleptoparasites is fashionable or apparently new fashioned? (Cleptocracy)
Posted: at 9-11-2013 03:57 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- toibeli at 9-11-2013 04:05 PM (10 years ago)
This man no fit fight Boko Haram, na Military him go fit fight?
Posted: at 9-11-2013 04:05 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 9-11-2013 11:23 PM (10 years ago)
the politicans are not making it better either
Posted: at 9-11-2013 11:23 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- engrtope at 9-11-2013 11:57 PM (10 years ago)
No wahala
Posted: at 9-11-2013 11:57 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 10-11-2013 03:31 AM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 10-11-2013 03:31 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Nigerian Man Who Hates Cake, Celebrates Birthday With Bread, Butter, And Akara

2. Singer Portable Slams His Wife, Bewaji, For Excluding Him From Her Birthday Message To Herself

3. Man Arrested By Police For Allegedly Slaughtering 80Yr Old Boss, Wife In Their Abuja Home

4. '4 Holy Spirits Came Down From Heaven To Rescue Me' -Tiktoker Who Accused Skibii Of Ritual Says

5. Lawyer With BSc Drops A Memo For EFCC & Nigerian Lawmakers Over Naira Abuse Brouhaha

6. BBN Neo Cries Out Over Accusations Of His Having Affair With AY Makun's Estranged Wife, Mabel

7. VIDEO: "I Am A Late Bloomer" - Lady Says As She Acquires Her First Car At 32

8. VIDEO: Lady Cries Profusely After Boyfriend Of 6 Years Impregnated Her Best Friend

9. VID: “I’m Scared, EFCC Are Planning To Arrest Me Because Of VeryDarkMan”– Portable

10. Nina Ivy Recounts Her Delivery Journey as She Celebrates Her Son’s 4th Birthday (Video)

11. Burna Boy Receives Accolade From Canadian Senate Over ‘Sold Out’ Concert

12. Lagos Driver Nabbed For Cramming 11 Children Into His Car Meant For Transporting 5 People

13. Davido Collaborates With UnitedMasters To Launch New Music Label

14. New Super Eagles Head Coach Will Be Announced in Two Weeks - Sports Minister Reveals

1. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

2. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

3. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

4. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

5. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

8. Embarrassing Moment Lady Was Busted For Lying During Her Testimony in Church (Video)

9. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

10. VIDEO: Five Cars And BRT Bus Collide in Multiple Crash Along Lagos-Ibadan Expressway