Obasanjo Fires Again, Warns Jonathan: ‘Keep your Reply, Save Nigeria!’

Date: 16-12-2013 10:09 am (10 years ago) | Author: Musa Yusuf
- at 16-12-2013 10:09 AM (10 years ago)
As the Presidency prepares a reply to the 18-page letter written by former President Olusegun Obasanjo to President Goodluck Jonathan on the state of the nation, indications emerged, yesterday, that the former leader was not expecting any reply but action from Jonathan.

A competent source told Sunday Vanguard that Obasanjo was more interested in Jonathan addressing the core issues he raised in his letter rather than getting a reply to his damning missive, entitled, ‘Before it is too late’.
The source, which also denied any breakfast meeting between Obasanjo and Jonathan in Nairobi, the capital of Kenya, said the story was made up by those who tried to play down the importance of the former leader’s letter.

The source said,”The truth of the matter is that former President Obasanjo is not expecting President Jonathan to reply him. Absolutely no. The President did not consider it needful to respond to previous letters privately written to him by the former head of state and he does not expect any reply to this one.

“I can tell you that Obasanjo wrote the letter with the best intentions for Jonathan and Nigeria and what he wants from the President is courageous and timely actions to save Nigeria from the brink. That’s all.

“Obasanjo will be a happy Nigerian if appropriate steps are taken by President Jonathan to address the burning issues of corruption and other challenges that threaten to bring this country down.

“There is absolutely no reason to expect a reply from the Presidency when previous letters written to him were not even acknowledged.”

It was however learnt, at the weekend, that presidential aides have drafted a response to Obasanjo’s letter.
The response was said to be awaiting Jonathan’s approval.

Asked to justify the breakfast parley between the former President and Jonathan in Kenya on the day the bromide of Obasanjo’s letter was feasted on by the media, the source said there was no meeting between the two leaders.

The source said that Obasanjo and Jonathan only met by chance and exchanged pleasantries as they lodged in the same hotel in Nairobi.

Obasanjo stirred controversy when he wrote a letter to Jonathan drawing his attention to myriad of issues capable of taking Nigeria to the brink if not addressed.

But the Presidency fired back, describing the letter as inciting, provocative and self-serving. Presidential spokesman, Reuben Abati, who’s issued a statement, indicated that Jonathan would make  a formal response but did not say when he would do so.

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2013/12/obasanjo-fires-warns-jonathan-keep-reply-save-nigeria/

Posted: at 16-12-2013 10:09 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- edusouls at 16-12-2013 11:35 AM (10 years ago)
He should just read the letter and heed the advice
Posted: at 16-12-2013 11:35 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 16-12-2013 12:00 PM (10 years ago)
kkk
Posted: at 16-12-2013 12:00 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 16-12-2013 12:02 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: edusouls on 16-12-2013 11:35 AM
He should just read the letter and heed the advice

That is what I think.

Posted: at 16-12-2013 12:02 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- katdeluna2 at 16-12-2013 12:29 PM (10 years ago)
My pple, dnt be decieved pls. Its all a conspiracy 2 divert our attention elsewhere so dat they can do what they want. OBJ played a very big part in bringing us to dis level of corruption. He is also guilty
Posted: at 16-12-2013 12:29 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 16-12-2013 12:54 PM (10 years ago)
Anuofia
Posted: at 16-12-2013 12:54 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- lakman at 16-12-2013 01:20 PM (10 years ago)
who is devil to judge man kind,goodluck is better than obasanjo
Posted: at 16-12-2013 01:20 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- cadanre at 16-12-2013 01:28 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: lakman on 16-12-2013 01:20 PM

That is what qualifies you for your name. LACK-man. You really LACK.

Posted: at 16-12-2013 01:28 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- micc at 16-12-2013 01:36 PM (10 years ago)
Na them sabi
Posted: at 16-12-2013 01:36 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Slimchery at 16-12-2013 01:41 PM (10 years ago)
Obansanjo is right, It will be better if the president think of how to fight the issue at hand than fighting who gave him the advice that will liberate Nigeria and Nigerians, You are celebrating Mandela today it`s because of his good fight for freedom and liberation which aim him a good name, Tell me any president that has walk on that part, If Obansajo is realizing his mistake which was too late for him to correct and somebody is also walking on that part, He should call that person to caution which he`s doing now ,I watch Governor, Rotimi Amaechi video , It tells me that there are some leader`s that are not happy with the situation of things in Nigeria but the problem of Nigeria can not be solve by one man, This concerns is from the president and every other person in power including we the citizens , Rotimi Amaechi made us to understand that he`s been judge by his conscience but we masses has never judge him instead we celebrate him, If we have been stoning this leader as Amaechi said on the video it would have tell them more of our anger or how we feel but we pretend to be smiling while we suffering, pretending when dying that all is well when you know fully that it`s not well, Where is Nigeria going to?
Posted: at 16-12-2013 01:41 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 16-12-2013 01:49 PM (10 years ago)
gaskia....GEJ I want no reply either, just act we need action not vain-sayings pls
Posted: at 16-12-2013 01:49 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Wysetots at 16-12-2013 02:00 PM (10 years ago)
I don't expect less from a Man who's gotten to all his positions by chance and luck.

He's ruling the nation by Chance and Luck too.
Posted: at 16-12-2013 02:00 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- bankadetoun at 16-12-2013 02:06 PM (10 years ago)
hmmmmm Nigeria my father land
Posted: at 16-12-2013 02:06 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paul4daddykalu at 16-12-2013 02:06 PM (10 years ago)
2 ugliest men ever
Posted: at 16-12-2013 02:06 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kelemann at 16-12-2013 03:50 PM (10 years ago)
Why even should the president reply OBJ? Does OBJ mean anything well for Niaja people. If the answer is yes, then why didn't he do anything good as a president? Two of the are the same.
Posted: at 16-12-2013 03:50 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Dames at 16-12-2013 07:44 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: lakman on 16-12-2013 01:20 PM
Blind follower!
Posted: at 16-12-2013 07:44 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Asterimou at 16-12-2013 07:57 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 16-12-2013 01:28 PM
My brother, i don't know if you are related to Jonathan or not. in my own opinion, Jonathan is the worst president ever. ask the common people like me on the street. where is the Armour car issue that even every common man on the street know about? to me OBJ even though not a saint is an action man and far better than this cow we have now taking orders from his uneducated wife. anyway, all i believe that mankind permanent solution rest with God, Jehovah!
Posted: at 16-12-2013 07:57 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Simon123 at 16-12-2013 08:13 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 16-12-2013 01:28 PM

OBJ, A FOOL AT 80...1) Who killed Bola Ige, Marshal Harry, Funsho William etc?
2) Who forcefully abducted a state governor inside the boot of a car? 3) Who signed for and permitted Sharia in Nigeria which gave birth to Boko Haram today?
4) Who emptied ecological funds between 2002 and 2007?
5) Who embezzled $38 billion independent power project funds between 2004 and 2007?
6) Who sold Ajaokuta steel mill to himself and bought it with public funds?
7) Who killed Odi people (ethnic cleansing)?
 Who was the petroleum minister between 1999 and 2007, yet nothing was remitted to the CBN?
9) Who sold Bakassi because of greed, to become UN Secretary General?
10) Who bribed politicians with more than 2 Trillion Naira to support his 3rd term ambition?
11) Who built a private university with public fund even at a time when ASUU was on strike protesting poor funding of Federal universities?
OLUSEGUN OBASANJO, please keep quite & keep your letter to your family because Nigerians with broad memories, know you are CORRUPTION personified. You destroyed Nigeria beyond what IBB and Abacha did. Nonsense .."
Posted: at 16-12-2013 08:13 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- zoe61 at 16-12-2013 08:47 PM (10 years ago)
the 2 of them has the power to save 9ja
Posted: at 16-12-2013 08:47 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- chicco77 at 16-12-2013 11:19 PM (10 years ago)
story story
Posted: at 16-12-2013 11:19 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero