Nelson Mandela lookalike struggles to come to terms with hero's death

Date: 16-12-2013 6:42 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Direct
- at 16-12-2013 06:42 PM (10 years ago)
Cross paths with Ayanda Mbatyothi and you could be forgiven for thinking you have seen a ghost.

The 37-year-old has minor celebrity status in South Africa as a Nelson Mandela lookalike. He performs his famous speeches, earns cheers at political rallies and, in a reference to the struggle hero's clan name, was once told by an aghast Mandela: "You are young Madiba."

Now he is coming to terms with the death of the man he imitates and admires. "I couldn't believe it," he said last week in a voice spookily reminiscent of the late president's own. "Mandela is a true hero of the people. He fought black domination and white domination. He's like Jesus Christ. Maybe after three days God can bring back Mandela."

Should that not transpire, Mbatyothi will have to do. "I'm going to be a reminder. People show their children: 'That's Mandela.'"

He has no known blood ties to Mandela but like him is from the Xhosa people in Eastern Cape province. He recalls that 20 years ago he was campaigning for the African National Congress (ANC) and carrying a picture of Mandela when the resemblance became obvious. "People stopped me and said why do you look like that man?"

In 1996 Mbatyothi, from a township in East London, came face to face with the then president Mandela himself. "They came to me and I shook the mighty hand. I mimicked him. He said: 'He looks like me. You are young Madiba.'"

It has become Mbatyothi's trademark ever since. He set up a company called Young Madiba Productions which he says is involved in advertising and supplying stationery to the government. He has appeared in roadshows, a live performance in Europe and a South African comedy film. When he attends an ANC rally and his picture is projected on a big screen, the crowd erupts.

In 2001, he says, he read Mandela's celebrated 1964 speech from the dock at an audition for the film adaptation of his autobiography Long Walk to Freedom. Mbatyothi claims he won the audition and remains upset that, when the film was finally made a decade later, the lead role went to Britain's Idris Elba instead.

"When you watch the Long Walk to Freedom movie, anyone can see they need an African person. Somebody who gets the poverty. You can't go to America and play Obama."

Mbatyothi also does charity work, citing Mandela as his inspiration. "I became 'Ayanda and young Madiba'. People respect me because of him. I'll continue to follow in his footsteps. Every year I do a Christmas party for the community. They come and collect a food parcel and say: 'This is what young Madiba is doing for us.'"

Over the years Mbatyothi has met Mandela's ex-wife Winnie and their daughter Zindzi as well as the South African president, Jacob Zuma. He says he will be at the funeral in Qunu on Sunday. "It's difficult to go and bury your twin. I've got all the pictures of Mandela because I miss him."

Among the Mandela doppelganger's biggest fans is his manager, Xhobani Thole, who said: "He is a replica of the man during the treason trial. He can mimic him, he can smile like him. Not only does he look just like Madiba, but his passion for the old man you can't believe. He'll kill for the old man.

"At the beginning of Long Walk to Freedom, he could have played the part in a more genuine way. I've said to him that now Mandela has died, there may be more opportunities coming up. Madiba's legacy will live forever."

Posted: at 16-12-2013 06:42 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- jossy4reall at 16-12-2013 07:41 PM (10 years ago)
good for him

Posted: at 16-12-2013 07:41 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- gmarley at 16-12-2013 08:09 PM (10 years ago)
okay now
Posted: at 16-12-2013 08:09 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 16-12-2013 08:09 PM (10 years ago)
 Cool Cool
Posted: at 16-12-2013 08:09 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- chicco77 at 16-12-2013 08:31 PM (10 years ago)
 Cool
Posted: at 16-12-2013 08:31 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osamabinladin at 16-12-2013 08:33 PM (10 years ago)
Alright !
Posted: at 16-12-2013 08:33 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- jar84 at 16-12-2013 09:06 PM (10 years ago)
kk
Posted: at 16-12-2013 09:06 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dames at 16-12-2013 09:09 PM (10 years ago)
Yeye...
Posted: at 16-12-2013 09:09 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- born_to_win at 16-12-2013 09:13 PM (10 years ago)
Ok we get that Mandela was a great guy that has done a lot for many people, especially Africans. But let's not make the mistake of worshipping him. Yes thank God for his life, but he has passed now. He is only a man, and his death supports that fact. Lets all calm down.
Posted: at 16-12-2013 09:13 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 16-12-2013 09:31 PM (10 years ago)
I see
Posted: at 16-12-2013 09:31 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 16-12-2013 09:33 PM (10 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 16-12-2013 09:33 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- micc at 16-12-2013 09:50 PM (10 years ago)
I hear
Posted: at 16-12-2013 09:50 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Garethhills at 16-12-2013 09:59 PM (10 years ago)
pls for ur photoshops like this one ur seeing here, didnt hesitate to email me [email protected]
Posted: at 16-12-2013 09:59 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 16-12-2013 10:05 PM (10 years ago)
the guy really looks like mandela true true ooooooo
Posted: at 16-12-2013 10:05 PM (10 years ago) | Grande Master
- mary11 at 16-12-2013 10:35 PM (10 years ago)
e don happen be say e don happen be dat

Posted: at 16-12-2013 10:35 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- ObyWBabaK at 16-12-2013 10:51 PM (10 years ago)
I see u bro!
Posted: at 16-12-2013 10:51 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 16-12-2013 11:35 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 16-12-2013 11:35 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Shegzan at 17-12-2013 12:01 AM (10 years ago)
Hmmn#

Posted: at 17-12-2013 12:01 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 2bify at 17-12-2013 01:43 AM (10 years ago)
really looks like young Madiba
Posted: at 17-12-2013 01:43 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Joacy at 17-12-2013 05:15 AM (10 years ago)
I can do better!
Posted: at 17-12-2013 05:15 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming