Nigerian Student Protests In Front Of European University To Get Tuition Refund

Date: 03-02-2014 6:55 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Charles colins
- at 3-02-2014 06:55 PM (10 years ago)
A student from Nigeria, Adedeji Sunday Akintayo, has been protesting in front of Polonia University in the Polish town of Częstochowa.
He demands that the University refund him 6,650 euro - a tuition fee he paid for a Master's programme that he has never started.

"I am protesting because Polonia University owes me 6,550 euro. I applied for studies here. I was offered a place. Then I had to get a visa. But I did not get one in spite of applying twice. This is why my contract [with the University] is not valid. I want to get this money back," the student told reporters from a Polish news channel TVN 24.

Adedeji set up a tent near the premises of the Polonia University on Wednesday, January 29.
The residents of the town supported the student by giving him hot drinks and even some money. His friends got a portable radiator for him to keep warm in the cold weather.

According to the student, he and his lawyer have been trying in vain to get a refund since September.
But the University keeps saying that there's no ground for them to pay the money back.
"Adedeji Sunday Akintayo is a student of the Polonia University since July 2013. He signed a contract with the University, payed tuition fee for two years study -  as the Polish law requires foreigners to do if they want to study here," said the University representative, Jerzy Nitkiewicz. "For reasons unknown to us, the student did not commence the studies," he added.

On Friday, Charles, a student from Ghana with similar problems with Polonia University, joined the Nigerian. When the two entered the building of the university, someone called the police. However, the officers did not apply any sanctions to the men.

What makes the issue especially urgent for Adedeji is that he has been accepted to a university in neighbouring Lithuania. But he says he has no money neither for studies nor for food or shelter there.
This is why the Nigerian is very determined to get the repayment.
On a Facebook page that he started to provide a coverage of his protest, Adedeji said he was going to the capital city, Warsaw, on Monday, where he wants to meet with the Nigerian ambassador as well as visit the Ministry of Science and Higher Education.

"Protest day 6: The protest continue and I will not stop until the University deem it fit to correct their wrong doings against me. If the school give my money back, I will stop immediately. On Wednesday, we going to have a huge protest too," he wrote today.

Dziennik Zachodni reports that John Godson, a member of the Polish parliament from Nigeria, has sent a letter to the President of the Polonia University in which he asked him to resolve the issue through conciliation. Should the reply be negative, Godson said he would refer the issue to the Attorney General as he thinks that the University might have defrauded Adedeji.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=clfPxSU6rjE" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=clfPxSU6rjE</a>

Posted: at 3-02-2014 06:55 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- omomalaga1 at 3-02-2014 07:06 PM (10 years ago)
Hold bros dont give u they will definatly respond to properly, not like naija that will send one illitrate madman in inform to come and bulala u with koboko.
Posted: at 3-02-2014 07:06 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- omomalaga1 at 3-02-2014 07:07 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: omomalaga1 on  3-02-2014 07:06 PM
Hold on bros dont give u they will definatly respond to properly, not like naija that will send one illitrate madman in inform to come and bulala u with koboko.
Posted: at 3-02-2014 07:07 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Wysetots at 3-02-2014 07:11 PM (10 years ago)
Let them pay you back......money is not beans.
Posted: at 3-02-2014 07:11 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- gmarley at 3-02-2014 07:14 PM (10 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 3-02-2014 07:14 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mathzno at 3-02-2014 07:24 PM (10 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Bros I hail you, hold tight, they have t refund your doe, is your right.
Posted: at 3-02-2014 07:24 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- italianjob at 3-02-2014 07:30 PM (10 years ago)
Lets not be one sided, we needed to know why he did not start the programme. Who is culpable? If he misses one session by one reason or the other, he should be allowed to take off with another session.€6,500 is not a chicken change.
Posted: at 3-02-2014 07:30 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- DRraze at 3-02-2014 07:32 PM (10 years ago)
If only nigeria had a responsible government
Posted: at 3-02-2014 07:32 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Chericoco at 3-02-2014 07:37 PM (10 years ago)
In most student hand book it says if a student ask for refund after a certain period of time the will be no refund. I guess the student ask for his refund after the grace  period. international students know what am talking about.
Posted: at 3-02-2014 07:37 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 3-02-2014 08:04 PM (10 years ago)
The molesting of Africa continues!

Every European nation built themselves on the sweat of Africans and now that the slave trade has been stopped they have found another means of fleecing us.

Poland has one of the worst economys in Europe - and the country is on the brink of bankruptcy!

Who are they blaming for their predicament - Africa?

They MUST be refunded. Thank goodness for the kind Polish people helping them out - more than what Nigeria has offered!
Posted: at 3-02-2014 08:04 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- steveoneal at 3-02-2014 08:19 PM (10 years ago)
good for the courage he has,, but stop taking food from people you dont know,, not all these oyinbo gbadun blacky ooo, make dem no go give you justo eat ooooo,,,
Posted: at 3-02-2014 08:19 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 3-02-2014 08:23 PM (10 years ago)
best of luck to u
Posted: at 3-02-2014 08:23 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- steveoneal at 3-02-2014 08:27 PM (10 years ago)
even as poland are still backward in some issues, their policemen still handled the situation properly,, kudos to them,
Posted: at 3-02-2014 08:27 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- victorirabor at 3-02-2014 08:51 PM (10 years ago)
The people when they sweet to talk about Nigeria issue, they never see this poor boy now make them talk put. Na only gay law when Nigeria president  pas into law them like to talk about. yeye,,,,,,,,
Posted: at 3-02-2014 08:51 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- winace at 3-02-2014 08:53 PM (10 years ago)
Wat he did was rite. Its abt time dis pple stop stealing from nigeria pple.
Posted: at 3-02-2014 08:53 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Bankable at 3-02-2014 10:21 PM (10 years ago)
Omo that guy get mind.... 100,000 euros self me no protest!
Posted: at 3-02-2014 10:21 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Shegzan at 3-02-2014 10:59 PM (10 years ago)
Kk nah#

Posted: at 3-02-2014 10:59 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 3-02-2014 11:47 PM (10 years ago)
Have it been our education system is ok what will nigerians be doing in that poor poland wey nigeria economy better pass.
Posted: at 3-02-2014 11:47 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- ObyWBabaK at 4-02-2014 12:24 AM (10 years ago)
Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh??
Posted: at 4-02-2014 12:24 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ndujasper at 4-02-2014 01:24 AM (10 years ago)
O boy,see as this guy take dey rush that rice  Grin Grin
Posted: at 4-02-2014 01:24 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming