Governor Fashola renames hall to honour slain Yobe students

Date: 28-02-2014 1:20 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Afolayon Masofunmomi
- at 28-02-2014 01:20 PM (10 years ago)

Lagos State Governor Babatunde Fashola yesterday Thursday February 27th renamed a hall initially named after him, to “Peace Hall’’, in memory of slain Yobe school children.

Vanguard reports that the hall was constructed by the Lagos Zonal Council of the Nigeria Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG), located at Fadeyi in Lagos.

Fashola said at the inauguration of the hall earlier named after him by NUPENG that he changed the name to honour the slain secondary school students.
"I appreciate NUPENG’s gesture but I will rename this edifice `Peace Hall`, in memory of the lives of the children that were brutally slain in Yobe by insurgents. The Children will soon be forgotten but as a reminder to us and the need to stand up for what is right, I ask that the hall be re-named as NUPENG’s Peace Hall, as we all search for peace across Nigeria. While we pray for the repose of the souls of these young ones, it is also a moment we must stand up as a nation. Whatever language you speak, whatever faith you practise, whatever ethnic/tribe you claim, this is the time it will not show. No matter how diverse we are, we are still one people, this is a time when colours and flag do not matter and political ideologies mean nothing. This is the time we must show and respect the values of the lives of fellow Nigerians’’ The governor said.

Posted: at 28-02-2014 01:20 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 28-02-2014 01:30 PM (10 years ago)
ok  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 28-02-2014 01:30 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- angesco at 28-02-2014 01:39 PM (10 years ago)
I welcome this development. We as a nation need a memorial to keep the memory of these slained students alive.

However, with the French promising to help Nigeria get rid of this militant bloodsuckers - Boko Haram- I am wondering whether inviting an army from a christian country - the French- to help eradicate Boko Haram will not been seen as a "crusade" and eventually do more harm than good!

But then again I understand no Islamic nation is ready to help as they all appear ti have their own insurgents committing the same atrocities.

All we can do is sit down and look and hope and pray!!!
Posted: at 28-02-2014 01:39 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Topsylucas at 28-02-2014 01:57 PM (10 years ago)
Tnk u Fashola
Posted: at 28-02-2014 01:57 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ken222 at 28-02-2014 02:15 PM (10 years ago)
Why are you all hiding the truth, why not tell the northerners what they are fighting for, which is their own country where they can practice their SHARIA and no western education as they want. Tomorrow they will still kill more 
Posted: at 28-02-2014 02:15 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- kingcalors at 28-02-2014 02:26 PM (10 years ago)
WE ALL NEED TO PRAY SO THAT GOD WILL SOLVE THIS PROBLEM WHICH IS NOW A NATIONAL EMBARRASSMENT
Posted: at 28-02-2014 02:26 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- orekiata at 28-02-2014 02:32 PM (10 years ago)
God will not leave us alone, HE will help us fight bh bcos our soldiers are confused right now.
Posted: at 28-02-2014 02:32 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gmarley at 28-02-2014 02:35 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 28-02-2014 02:35 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 28-02-2014 02:42 PM (10 years ago)
Nice one
Posted: at 28-02-2014 02:42 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 28-02-2014 02:42 PM (10 years ago)
Nice one
Posted: at 28-02-2014 02:42 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- malamy at 28-02-2014 03:21 PM (10 years ago)
nice1
Posted: at 28-02-2014 03:21 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kennethosita at 28-02-2014 03:24 PM (10 years ago)
thanks man
Posted: at 28-02-2014 03:24 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- naturalqueen at 28-02-2014 03:55 PM (10 years ago)
If they want their own country, Fine..
Let them go and leave Nigeria alone.
We are tired of these killings.
May the souls of the departed young students rest in the bossom of the lord.
Posted: at 28-02-2014 03:55 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- christianity at 28-02-2014 04:56 PM (10 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin.
Posted: at 28-02-2014 04:56 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ken222 at 28-02-2014 07:54 PM (10 years ago)
All the students died because they belong to Nigeria. May such death visit you all that still believe in one Nigeria
Posted: at 28-02-2014 07:54 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- odprince at 28-02-2014 08:15 PM (10 years ago)
HOW CAN FASHOLA NAME A HALL PEACE HALL??YOU ARE THE ONE WHO DEPOT IGBO'S AND YOU SAID PEACE?WHY NOT THE GOVERNMENT GRANT THE BOKO HARAM THEIR REQUEST FOR A NATION WHERE SHARIA CAN STAY?TOMORROW OTHER PEOPLES WILL BE KILLED AND YOU SAID PRAYING FOR PEACE.WHICH PEACE FASHOLA?THERE IS NOTHING LIKE ONE NIGERIA AS LONG AS HAUSA IS CONCERN.....DIVIDE IS THE ONLY PEACE AND LET BIAFRA GO.BOKO HARAM GO.OPC GO.EVERYBODY GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
Posted: at 28-02-2014 08:15 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ozzeey at 28-02-2014 08:36 PM (10 years ago)
Up "Oga Fashola".
    Thank God 4 U
Posted: at 28-02-2014 08:36 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- osamabinladin at 28-02-2014 09:22 PM (10 years ago)
Alright !
Posted: at 28-02-2014 09:22 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- zoe61 at 28-02-2014 10:28 PM (10 years ago)
 Cool Cool
Posted: at 28-02-2014 10:28 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- aliaaz at 28-02-2014 10:30 PM (10 years ago)
okay ohh

Posted: at 28-02-2014 10:30 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac