Many Nigerian Policemen are dying silently from kidney disease

Date: 18-03-2014 7:20 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Afolayon Masofunmomi
- at 18-03-2014 07:20 PM (10 years ago)

Worldwide, the incidence of  End Stage Renal Disease, ESRD, is increasing by 6 to 7 percent every year and about 16 million (10 percent) of  160 million Nigerians are suffering from kidney disease. Apart from high cost of treatment and kidney transplants, patients are faced with challenges sustaining their treatment for life as they are expected to be on drugs and ensure regular checks from time to time. In  this chat with CHIOMA OBINNA, kidney transplant survivor, Bartholomew Osuji, a retired Deputy Superintendent of Police, DSP, relates his experience as a Policeman and his life after transplant. He expresses worry over the lack of any form of support or insurance for Policemen who come down with ESRD: Excerpts: ‘IT all began one evening in 2008 when I was a Police Officer on incident duty in Anthony area of Lagos. We encountered armed robbers. I was alone in the car, my boys were not with me although nearby around 11pm.  I never knew the occupants of the vehicle were armed robbers until they got close and opened fire at the Police van.  Luckily I did not sustain any bullet wound. I shouted to my men to return fire and we were able to gun down one of them.  After that incident, I was no longer myself. I went to the hospital and was told it was shock from the armed robbery incident.” Bartholomew was taken to various hospitals without tangible investigations until 2009, when he ended up at Reddington Hospital in Victoria Island, where he was diagnosed with Chronic  Kidney Failure, CKF, and was eventually rushed to India. Role of the Nigeria Police At this point life became tough. Bartholomew’s  family expected the Nigeria Police to come in as their bread winner’s problem began while  he was on duty. Unfortunately, his employers  failed him and even indicted him. “The Police did not take any part in my treatment.  They claimed that I did not get any paper from the Federal Minister of Health and Police Affairs before I was flown to India. I told them I was flown to India unconscious.  My son went to Abuja twice while I was in India, but nothing came out of it to date. When I returned, I went to the Police and I was told the same thing. Policemen dying: “Many Police men are dying of kidney disorders today because of lack of money. The Nigeria Police will not do anything. At Falomo Barracks where I lived, three Policemen have died since I returned from India. The transplant was financed by the Church of Assumption, Falomo. Reverend Father Innocent who was in charge at that  time was of good help to my family. It was he who contacted some parishioners who rose to the occasion. . And that was how I got to India for treatment. Life after kidney transplant After the transplant, things have changed. I cannot do as much as before.  I was warned not to strain myself.  I have been on drugs since the surgery.  In a day, I take drugs five times. To  date, I don’t know who paid the initial US$15,000  the Indian hospital demanded before I was given my visa. My last check up in India was also a miracle. Before I got to the hospital, someone had paid US$1,000  into my account. Now, I drink water faithfully, I don’t eat anyhow again.  As I go out, I prepare my food.  I abide by the doctor’s instruction that  I will never miss my drugs. That is how I have been managing my life.” Coping with cost of drugs Every September /October, I go for check up in India and each time I require about  US$10,000 because I must buy the drugs I will use for one year. But I go for regular check up at St. Nicholas Hospital, Lagos. I was to go every two weeks, sometimes I do that monthly because of the funds involved. The drugs are not cheap. I have been able to cope with the assistance of my Church and my family. Call to Government While I was in India, I learnt that the Lagos State government is working towards building a cardiac centre, Government should do that as quickly as possible. In the hospital in India,  many of the doctors are Nigerians.  A boy of eight years who did the surgery with me on the same day died last year. There is need for  government to invest in this line because many of our people are dying. I thank God I am alive today because of people who contributed to my transplant surgery. I don’t even know them all, particularly the person who paid for the last US$10,000 for my check up. I advise people to believe God in all things. All the period I was sick, I told my wife that nothing happens without God knowing it.  If you believe God, he will deliver you. I would also remain grateful to my wife.  She went through a lot throughout the period. The eight months were not easy for her.”
NIGERIAN NOLLYWOOD GISTS AND GOSSIP AND SCANDALS

Posted: at 18-03-2014 07:20 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- johnaguinam at 19-03-2014 08:47 AM (10 years ago)
wen I wan finish dey read dis one naa...
Posted: at 19-03-2014 08:47 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- praytoGod4help at 19-03-2014 08:58 AM (10 years ago)
Make I first comment b4 I read  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 19-03-2014 08:58 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 19-03-2014 09:12 AM (10 years ago)
dis kind newspaper
Posted: at 19-03-2014 09:12 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- wilfrednedum at 19-03-2014 09:17 AM (10 years ago)
Funny enough people won't want to read this because it not a love affair or some "silly" celebrity news. Unhealthy lifestyle can lead to renal diseases, please people watch what you eat, drink alcohol moderately, limit salty and canned foods, go to the hospital when you have any kind of urinary tract infections. Don't forget to drink lots of water.
Posted: at 19-03-2014 09:17 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- dareper at 19-03-2014 09:22 AM (10 years ago)
Bad
Posted: at 19-03-2014 09:22 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- IDOKOO at 19-03-2014 09:51 AM (10 years ago)
Una never see anytin. dis just dey begginin. all d swear wey people dey swear 4 una, na him dey hammer una, and he never start self.
Posted: at 19-03-2014 09:51 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- paulohking at 19-03-2014 09:52 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: praytoGod4help on 19-03-2014 08:58 AM
Make I first comment b4 I read  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

mumu Angry
Posted: at 19-03-2014 09:52 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 19-03-2014 09:59 AM (10 years ago)
good for them ...after all nothing good is coming from them..
Posted: at 19-03-2014 09:59 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- malvin2525 at 19-03-2014 10:17 AM (10 years ago)
 Undecided Undecided
Posted: at 19-03-2014 10:17 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ken222 at 19-03-2014 10:31 AM (10 years ago)
Why won't they die? when they are eating all manner of coursed money in the name of bribe 
Posted: at 19-03-2014 10:31 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- angesco at 19-03-2014 10:36 AM (10 years ago)
This is a very touching story. However, it should be pointed out that it is not only police officers who should have regular health checks. The whole population needs to be checked out.

A FEW SIMPLE FACTS ABOUT THE KIDNEYS.

1. Kidney disease is most often caused by other conditions that put a STRAIN on the kidneys.
2. HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE (hypertension) and DIABETES are the most common causes of kidney disease.
3. Kidney disease is also an INHERITED condition where both kidneys are larger than normal due to the gradual growth of masses of cysts.
4. The FAILURE of normal kidney development in an UNBORN BABY while developing in the womb.
5. If the kidneys FAIL completely the ONLY treatment options available may be DIALYSIS or TRANSPLANT.

From this policeman's account, it is sad that the "giant of Africa" has NO hospitals (he was treated faraway in India - where it is cheaper) that can cater for those Nigerians who are afflicted with kidney disease! The Ministry of Health should especially make it compulsory for pregnant women to go for the necessary check ups - FREE OF CHARGE - so as to identify  early problems of the unborn. Technology has come so far to allow this. So no excuses.

Just as WE were enlightened about the SICKLE CELL disease, and the necessary tests one can do to lower the probability of becoming a carrier, ALL other physical health problems should be checked out regularly.

We cannot ALL travel outside the country and why should we.  After all, Nigeria has some of the BEST doctors in the world.    
Posted: at 19-03-2014 10:36 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- praytoGod4help at 19-03-2014 10:37 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: paulohking on 19-03-2014 09:52 AM
mumu Angry
your father idiot
Posted: at 19-03-2014 10:37 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ythonna at 19-03-2014 12:25 PM (10 years ago)
GOD is in control.
Posted: at 19-03-2014 12:25 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- osamabinladin at 19-03-2014 12:45 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 19-03-2014 12:45 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- blinks4u at 19-03-2014 01:39 PM (10 years ago)
I can't read
Posted: at 19-03-2014 01:39 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- iamDonc at 19-03-2014 03:10 PM (10 years ago)
so sorry
Posted: at 19-03-2014 03:10 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- bankadetoun at 19-03-2014 04:23 PM (10 years ago)
hmmm, dat is Nigeria our country 4 u
Posted: at 19-03-2014 04:23 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cocoeni at 19-03-2014 05:32 PM (10 years ago)
Nawaooo
Posted: at 19-03-2014 05:32 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- papadip at 19-03-2014 06:17 PM (10 years ago)
Even if there is good medical care. Will they be able to afford it?
They take bribes just to put food on the table.

Posted: at 19-03-2014 06:17 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Singer Portable Slams His Wife, Bewaji, For Excluding Him From Her Birthday Message To Herself

2. Lawyer With BSc Drops A Memo For EFCC & Nigerian Lawmakers Over Naira Abuse Brouhaha

3. Man Arrested By Police For Allegedly Slaughtering 80Yr Old Boss, Wife In Their Abuja Home

4. Nigerian Man Who Hates Cake, Celebrates Birthday With Bread, Butter, And Akara

5. '4 Holy Spirits Came Down From Heaven To Rescue Me' -Tiktoker Who Accused Skibii Of Ritual Says

6. BBN Neo Cries Out Over Accusations Of His Having Affair With AY Makun's Estranged Wife, Mabel

7. Nina Ivy Recounts Her Delivery Journey as She Celebrates Her Son’s 4th Birthday (Video)

8. VID: “I’m Scared, EFCC Are Planning To Arrest Me Because Of VeryDarkMan”– Portable

9. VIDEO: Lady Cries Profusely After Boyfriend Of 6 Years Impregnated Her Best Friend

10. VIDEO: "I Am A Late Bloomer" - Lady Says As She Acquires Her First Car At 32

11. Davido Collaborates With UnitedMasters To Launch New Music Label

12. JNR POPE: AGN President, Emeka Rollas Speaks on Dragging Adanma Luke to Court

13. Burna Boy Receives Accolade From Canadian Senate Over ‘Sold Out’ Concert

14. Comedian Sydney Talker Calls For Prayers For Ailing Singer Khaid

15. Lagos Driver Nabbed For Cramming 11 Children Into His Car Meant For Transporting 5 People

16. New Super Eagles Head Coach Will Be Announced in Two Weeks - Sports Minister Reveals

17. Jubilation in JUTH As 49 Year Old Woman Welcomes Quadruplets After 15 Years of Waiting

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Moment Lady Was Busted For Lying During Her Testimony in Church (Video)

8. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

9. VIDEO: Five Cars And BRT Bus Collide in Multiple Crash Along Lagos-Ibadan Expressway

10. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line