The Notting Hill Carnival : Purpose and Details

Date: 27-08-2009 3:07 pm (14 years ago) | Author: King Samuel O Dguy
- at 27-08-2009 03:07 PM (14 years ago)
I know many people participate in the Notting hill carnival but loads of the people dont really know what it is - they just know that its a festival -- ok got this and will like to share with those interested :

The Notting Hill Carnival is the largest street festival in Europe and originated in 1964 as a way for Afro-Caribbean communities to celebrate their own cultures and traditions. Taking place every August Bank Holiday weekend in the streets of London W11, the Notting Hill Carnival is an amazing array of sounds, colourful sights and social solidarity

At the roots of the Notting Hill Carnival are the Caribbean carnivals of the early 19th century – a particularly strong tradition in Trinidad – which were all about celebrating the abolition of slavery and the slave trade. The very first carnival was an attempt to showcase the steel band musicians who played in the Earls Court of London every Weekend. When the bands paraded through the streets of Notting Hill, they drew black residents out on to the streets, reminding them of the Caribbean homes they had left behind.

In the days of abolition, there was a strong element of parody in the songs and dances Trinidadians performed. Having been forbidden to hold festivals of their own during the period of slavery, they now took full advantage of the relative new freedoms the ending of slavery brought them. Dressing up in costumes that mimicked the European fashions of their former masters, even whitening their faces with flour or wearing white masks, they established a tradition that continues in the costume-making of today’s Notting Hill Carnival. The proper name for this aspect of the Carnival is Mas (derived from Masquerade).

Posted: at 27-08-2009 03:07 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- portiphar at 28-08-2009 01:23 PM (14 years ago)
well, i cant really say, DGUY but im pretty i wont miss next year's carnival....yay
Posted: at 28-08-2009 01:23 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- omolade at 28-08-2009 11:43 PM (14 years ago)
MEHN DGUY I WONT MISS DIS YEAR OWN OOO

ABI U WANNA GO WIT ME
Posted: at 28-08-2009 11:43 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- osituga at 29-08-2009 07:31 AM (14 years ago)
i've missed this year's own naaa
Posted: at 29-08-2009 07:31 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- muneerah at 29-08-2009 12:29 PM (14 years ago)
cant miss the carnival..but wont enjoy the delicacy cos of Ramadan.
Posted: at 29-08-2009 12:29 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- diplomatik at 31-08-2009 09:10 PM (14 years ago)
dguy i wan go with u... Tongue Tongue Grin Cheesy

Posted: at 31-08-2009 09:10 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dguy at 31-08-2009 10:14 PM (14 years ago)
Tired of seeing Passa-Passa - I let it slide for this year - was a busy day for me

Posted: at 31-08-2009 10:14 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diplomatik at 31-08-2009 10:15 PM (14 years ago)
hmmm...i say i wan go with u...u dey give excuse...mchewwwwwww.. Angry Angry Angry

Posted: at 31-08-2009 10:15 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dguy at 31-08-2009 10:18 PM (14 years ago)
Are u ready to perform the rituals - Notting hill isnt for shy souls.

Its for the bold, strong and wild.

Posted: at 31-08-2009 10:18 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diplomatik at 31-08-2009 10:20 PM (14 years ago)
that u know  i am...so y r u asking.. Tongue Tongue  Cheesy

Posted: at 31-08-2009 10:20 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dguy at 1-09-2009 06:39 AM (14 years ago)
Aha -- I havn tested that, the last time i checked you were still shy

Posted: at 1-09-2009 06:39 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Cydrick at 2-09-2009 03:16 AM (14 years ago)
was gr88
Posted: at 2-09-2009 03:16 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- olame4 at 3-09-2009 12:49 PM (14 years ago)
AM NOT GOING AGAIN OOOOOOOOOOO
Posted: at 3-09-2009 12:49 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- bali4real at 11-09-2009 09:49 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: muneerah on 29-08-2009 12:29 PM
cant miss the carnival..but wont enjoy the delicacy cos of Ramadan.
haya.i fit come repsnt u  in dat aspect nah.lol Grin
Posted: at 11-09-2009 09:49 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- julimaks at 27-10-2009 11:55 AM (14 years ago)
so lovely a carnival.i wacth out for it every year
Posted: at 27-10-2009 11:55 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- kison at 12-04-2016 03:30 PM (8 years ago)
 BE careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL……………………………….
Posted: at 12-04-2016 03:30 PM (8 years ago) | Hero