gistmanian at 20-03-2014 12:19 AM (10 years ago) (m)
The Kano State Government has sent 33 beggars to their states of origin as part of efforts to enforce the law banning street begging in the state.
The Director General of the State Hisba Board, Dr Abba Sufi, told the journalists in Kano that the repatriation commenced on Wednesday. It will be recalled that Gov. Rabi’u Kwankwaso signed the Street Begging Prohibition Bill into law on Dec. 19, 2013. According to Sufi, the affected beggars were apprehended last week by the committee set up by the State Government to enforce the law. He said 10 of the affected beggars were from Jigawa, 15 from Katsina, while the remaining eight were from Kaduna. “They are now on their way to these states and will be handed over to the respective Secretaries to the State Government (SSGs) on arrival’’, he said. According to him, seven mentally deranged persons have also been taken to Dorayi Psychiatric Hospital for proper care and treatment. “They will be treated and taken care of until when they recover and become mentally sound’’, he said. Sufi disclosed that the board had prosecuted one beggar in one of the Sharia courts for refusing to stop begging. He said the affected person was sentenced to three months imprisonment but with an option of N10,000 fine. He restated the commitment of the state government towards ensuring effective enforcement of the law. The state government recently launched empowerment programme for the less-privileged and physically- challenged persons in the state. CLICK HERE TO READ LATEST SHOCKING NEWS AND CELEBRITIES
Posted: at 20-03-2014 12:19 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
papadip at 20-03-2014 06:06 AM (10 years ago) (m)
If na Lagos state…katata go bi-gin…..
Posted: at 20-03-2014 06:06 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Reply IDOKOO at 20-03-2014 06:21 AM (10 years ago) (m)
wetin una want make i talk ?
Posted: at 20-03-2014 06:21 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
Reply daveobahon at 20-03-2014 06:41 AM (10 years ago) (m)
I tire
Posted: at 20-03-2014 06:41 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Reply wapgodz007 at 20-03-2014 06:44 AM (10 years ago) (m)
Posted: at 20-03-2014 06:44 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
Reply dareper at 20-03-2014 08:56 AM (10 years ago) (m)
Aboki mallam
Posted: at 20-03-2014 08:56 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
Reply dickman2 at 20-03-2014 09:21 AM (10 years ago) (m)
but every body for kano na beggars,,why this noise..
Posted: at 20-03-2014 09:21 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
Fashola set a very bad precedent,this is just the beginning,before you know it every state will be doing this.But can you really stop street begging in Kano??. I think it is impossible because Islam as a religion encourages begging.
Posted: at 20-03-2014 09:41 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Reply paulohking at 20-03-2014 10:09 AM (10 years ago) (m)
whatever
Posted: at 20-03-2014 10:09 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
Reply paulohking at 20-03-2014 10:11 AM (10 years ago) (m)
whatever
Posted: at 20-03-2014 10:11 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
Reply queenrukky at 20-03-2014 10:37 AM (10 years ago) (f)
it will b hard sha
Posted: at 20-03-2014 10:37 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
Reply nobleladyG at 20-03-2014 11:45 AM (10 years ago) (f)
u dey fine person wey dey beg #10,000 were he go get d money
I am D Best of my Kind!LoVE mE!
Posted: at 20-03-2014 11:45 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Reply nobleladyG at 20-03-2014 11:47 AM (10 years ago) (f)
Fashola set a very bad precedent,this is just the beginning,before you know it every state will be doing this.But can you really stop street begging in Kano??. I think it is impossible because Islam as a religion encourages begging.
fashola own worst bcos he didnt even bother to send them to their state of origins.
I am D Best of my Kind!LoVE mE!
Posted: at 20-03-2014 11:47 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Reply cocoeni at 20-03-2014 12:01 PM (10 years ago) (f)
nawaoo
Posted: at 20-03-2014 12:01 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
What a country
I AM WHO I AM, IF YOU DON'T LIKE IT, YOU CAN BLOODY DO THE OTHER THING AND FCUK ALL HATERZ
Posted: at 20-03-2014 04:33 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
what a country
Posted: at 20-03-2014 06:04 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Reply iamDonc at 20-03-2014 07:46 PM (10 years ago) (m)
our government
Posted: at 20-03-2014 07:46 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
Reply Dames at 20-03-2014 08:04 PM (10 years ago) (m)
Na ur ignorance go kill u.
Posted: at 20-03-2014 08:04 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Reply ObyWBabaK at 20-03-2014 08:56 PM (10 years ago) (m)
OK Alhaji Rabiu Kwankwaso
Posted: at 20-03-2014 08:56 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Posted: at 20-03-2014 09:49 PM (10 years ago) | Hero