I never wanted to be a pastor, says Adeboye

Date: 06-04-2014 9:34 am (10 years ago) | Author: linda emeka
- at 6-04-2014 09:34 AM (10 years ago)

A multitude of accompanied children from across the nation, on  Friday night, listened, with rapt attention, when the General Overseer of the Redeemed Christian Church of God, RCCG, Pastor Enoch Adeboye, relived how he objected to his election to be a pastor by the founder of the church, the late Rev. Josiah Akindayomi.

Preaching a short sermon entitled: “Great and mighty seeds”, at the April Holy Ghost Service dedicated to children, the 72 years old former mathematics lecturer recounted how he joined the then unknown RCCG because of a problem and was contented with the salvation of his soul.
Justifying his teaching on the theory of how people attain greatness in life, he maintained that some people are born great, some others become great by dint of their own efforts while others have greatness entrusted upon them. According to him, a problem brought him to the church.

”But not long after, Papa Akindayomi said I was going to be ordained pastor. I was not prepared to become a pastor. I was satisfied with just coming to the church to worship and go home,” he narrated, adding, however, that the founder called him a few years after to tell him he had been ordained to succeed him.

”I couldn’t say no to him immediately. So when I got back to the University of Ilorin where I was a lecturer, I wrote a letter to the founder telling him to appoint someone else. I was prepared to assist whoever turned out to be his choice. Papa was an illiterate, he couldn’t read. Thank God, the one who read the letter to him is here on the platform tonight; Pastor David Kuo,” he stated, turning to the direction where members of the Governing Council of the church were seated.

Adeboye said there are three categories of greatness in life; those who were born great, those who attained greatness and those who had greatness bestowed on them, noting that there were in certain cases some people who combined two of the categories like Isaac and Solomon while in other occasions some combined the three categories.

”A classical example of people who combined the three categories was Elisha,” he said elucidating his point with the biblical narrative of how even after death, the bones of Elisha  continued to heal people.

The RCCG leader said another example of someone who combined the three categories was Jesus Christ, drawing attention to several biblical passages including Matthew 3, Luke 1:30-33, Acts 10:38, Philippians 2:5-11, John 1:11-12 and Romans 8:16-17.

He said, however, that anybody could become great, noting that as soon as one becomes born again, he has become great but he must work hard to remain great by meeting all his spiritual obligations to God.
In continuation of the special service for the Marion’s children, the General Overseer is expected to pray for students at all levels today at the national headquarters of the church at Ebute Metta, Lagos. The service will begin at 7.30 a.m.

SEE MORE INTERESTING NEWS AND GIST AROUND

Posted: at 6-04-2014 09:34 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- chicco77 at 6-04-2014 12:36 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 6-04-2014 12:36 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sucre4u at 6-04-2014 06:22 PM (10 years ago)
God is great
Posted: at 6-04-2014 06:22 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kenosas at 6-04-2014 06:42 PM (10 years ago)
greatness to his holiness.
Posted: at 6-04-2014 06:42 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cocoeni at 6-04-2014 06:53 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 6-04-2014 06:53 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- paulohking at 6-04-2014 07:14 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 6-04-2014 07:14 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- osamabinladin at 6-04-2014 07:37 PM (10 years ago)
Noted !
Posted: at 6-04-2014 07:37 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 6-04-2014 10:07 PM (10 years ago)
na lie..
Posted: at 6-04-2014 10:07 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- micc at 6-04-2014 11:28 PM (10 years ago)
Noted
Posted: at 6-04-2014 11:28 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 7-04-2014 09:00 AM (10 years ago)
No wahala
Posted: at 7-04-2014 09:00 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Shegzan at 7-04-2014 09:04 AM (10 years ago)
Datz my dad.... D Lord is ur Strength G.O!!

Posted: at 7-04-2014 09:04 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fiddy1 at 7-04-2014 09:10 AM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 7-04-2014 09:10 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- bankadetoun at 7-04-2014 11:54 AM (10 years ago)
The Lord will strenghth you more Sir.
Posted: at 7-04-2014 11:54 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 7-04-2014 03:29 PM (10 years ago)
Hmmmmmmm dats GOD for us.
Posted: at 7-04-2014 03:29 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Fertymor at 7-04-2014 03:37 PM (10 years ago)
OK..
Posted: at 7-04-2014 03:37 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ashonibare at 7-04-2014 05:58 PM (10 years ago)
You dont have any excuse not to be great in life! Thank you daddy!
Posted: at 7-04-2014 05:58 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 7-04-2014 09:48 PM (10 years ago)
kkk
Posted: at 7-04-2014 09:48 PM (10 years ago) | Hero