Court awards man N5 million for unlawful detention over online comments.......

Date: 08-04-2014 7:42 am (10 years ago) | Author: Tony Ladipo
- at 8-04-2014 07:42 AM (10 years ago)
Poster is not responsible for the Major Headline outside this page…..

The Judge declared the detention of the man by the police as illegal and unconstitutional.......

Bonny Nwankwo
Premium Times

April 8,2014

A South African based Nigerian who was arrested
for a comment he made on an online forum has been awarded
N5 million by the Federal High Court in Apo, Abuja.

Bonny Okonkwo was abducted by some Special Anti-Robbery Squad,
SARS, officers at his residence on July 13, 2013 for a comment
he made about billionaire businessman, Emeka Offor, on an
online forum known as ocean-anaedo.

The Judge, Peter Afeen, declared the detention of Mr. Bonny by the police as illegal and unconstitutional and ordered the police to pay N5 million to the victim for the unlawful detention.

On July 13, last year, shortly after arriving Lagos from Johannesburg, Mr. Bonny was arrested at his home by SARS Officers wielding AK 47 guns.

After six days in solitary confinement in a Lagos holding cell, he was transferred to Abuja where he was further detained for eleven days.

It was during his detention that he was told that his ordeal was on the orders of Emeka Offor, a Nigerian ruling party politician and billionaire businessman.

When PREMIUM TIMES contacted the police representative in the case, F.A. Longe, to ask about the judgement that was passed and if the police would comply, he said he was not in the court and threatened to lay a curse on PREMIUM TIMES.

Why are you calling me, I was not at the court today so why would you be calling me. In fact how did you get my number, I want to know why you would be calling me at this time of the day,” he said. “Okay so you tell me the judgement and what you want to know that makes you call me this night, in fact don’t make me lay a curse you.”

Posted: at 8-04-2014 07:42 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 8-04-2014 07:46 AM (10 years ago)
Congratulations Mr. Bonny Nwankwo
A superb victory for the not so powerful..

They should just pay him and not drag it on through appeals.
….they may just do the above because they are ashamed of wrong doings.

Posted: at 8-04-2014 07:46 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 8-04-2014 08:28 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: papadip on  8-04-2014 07:46 AM
Congratulations Mr. Bonny Nwankwo
A superb victory for the not so powerful..

They should just pay him and not drag it on through appeals.
….they may just do the above because they are never ashamed of wrong doings.
Correction......
Posted: at 8-04-2014 08:28 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 8-04-2014 08:54 AM (10 years ago)
At last FREEDOM for the ORDINARY Nigerian.

This will TEACH those in UNIFORM that the PEN is STRONGER than being  BRIBED to make an arrest!
Posted: at 8-04-2014 08:54 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 8-04-2014 09:03 AM (10 years ago)
They thought they can intimidate us from pouring our anger on them from the only source I have(that's online) no, they can't . We must continue doing that until they change. Old fools. Idiots
Posted: at 8-04-2014 09:03 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Shegzan at 8-04-2014 09:12 AM (10 years ago)
Kk, bye#

Posted: at 8-04-2014 09:12 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- daveobahon at 8-04-2014 09:18 AM (10 years ago)
thankGod
Posted: at 8-04-2014 09:18 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 8-04-2014 09:44 AM (10 years ago)
nice one
Posted: at 8-04-2014 09:44 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Topsylucas at 8-04-2014 09:50 AM (10 years ago)
Wow,nice 1. I hope dis will continue,I mean being exonerated 4rm our corrupt so-calld big men bcos we can't stop baring our minds on d internet.
Posted: at 8-04-2014 09:50 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- raylink at 8-04-2014 09:57 AM (10 years ago)
U GO WAIT FOR D MONEY TIRE Tongue
Posted: at 8-04-2014 09:57 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- kenosas at 8-04-2014 10:07 AM (10 years ago)
this is very nice to hear,if this continues ,u ll see within short ll see the effect or tremendous change to a better states of laws,were the laws ll be in place to both the poor and the rich,boc the three arms of govt in Nigeria ,they re the major cause in corruption in Nigeria, the legislators that re implementing the law,the judiciary that re reviewing the laws and the executives that re enforcing the laws,these 3 arms re were Nigeria problems lies on.
Posted: at 8-04-2014 10:07 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Larry28 at 8-04-2014 10:09 AM (10 years ago)
Congratz Mr Bonny
Posted: at 8-04-2014 10:09 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Dames at 8-04-2014 10:29 AM (10 years ago)
'''''
Posted: at 8-04-2014 10:29 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cocoeni at 8-04-2014 11:15 AM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 8-04-2014 11:15 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- johnaguinam at 8-04-2014 11:42 AM (10 years ago)
c as him smile wan touch im ear as him don hear 5million...ibo men n money...congrats sha
Posted: at 8-04-2014 11:42 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicent2k3 at 8-04-2014 12:11 PM (10 years ago)
Abeg who get Nokia charger for here?
Posted: at 8-04-2014 12:11 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- okilo101 at 8-04-2014 12:37 PM (10 years ago)
So dis online tinz gets 2 dis big men ?lolz...abeg write-on pple!
Posted: at 8-04-2014 12:37 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 8-04-2014 12:51 PM (10 years ago)
Interesting. And d stupid police man did not kn dat his conversation will be aired. I don't kn how pple like dis got into police.
Posted: at 8-04-2014 12:51 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- paulohking at 8-04-2014 01:19 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 8-04-2014 01:19 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 8-04-2014 02:56 PM (10 years ago)
5million too small na..why not 100million..sanusi no go jail but them pay him 50million..WHY..
Posted: at 8-04-2014 02:56 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero