Security Officials Prevent Jobless Graduate From Committing Suicide in Uyo......

Date: 10-04-2014 5:28 am (10 years ago) | Author: Tony Ladipo
- at 10-04-2014 05:28 AM (10 years ago)
Poster is not responsible for the Major Headline outside this page…..

Security Officials Prevent Jobless Graduate From Committing Suicide......

Mr. Sunday Omotayo, being pleaded with by a police officer
on Government House Road in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State...on Wednesday

An unemployed engineering graduate of Ekiti State University, Mr. Sunday Omotayo, was on Wednesday prevented from committing suicide by the police and prison officials.

Omotayo, who caused a stir along Wellington Bassey Way, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State capital, when he deliberately jumped out of a speeding Toyota Hiace bus, expecting to be crushed to death by other vehicles, said he was tired of life as he had been searching for a job for the past 10 years after graduation.

Some policemen, who were on patrol at the time of the incident, told our correspondent that Omotayo had in the morning gone to the state prison asking the officials to either kill him or make way for him to rot in the prison. A prison officer, who craved anonymity, told our correspondent that they saw him – well dressed and wearing a tie – running towards them. He added that his action forced them to become alert with their guns.

He said, “The next thing he said was ‘shoot me, shoot me, I want to die, I am tired of this world’. He added that otherwise, we should allow him to enter and die inside the prison.” The official stated that Omotayo was later overpowered by the police, who counselled him and forced him into a bus heading towards the Ibom Plaza roundabout.

An eyewitness, Mr. Effiong Bassey, said Omotayo jumped from the bus into the major road for other vehicles to run over him. Lying on the main road leading to Akwa Ibom Government House, It took a while for policemen to get him out of the road. He insisted that he must put an end to his poverty-stricken life by committing suicide.

Omotayo told PUNCH Metro, “There is no state that I have not gone to in search of a job in the past 10 years. I came to Akwa Ibom because this is my last hope because of the stories of Governor Godswill Akpabio and his uncommon transformation.

“I came with the hope that with what is going on in the state, getting a job would be easy so that I can begin to be a man. But since I came, I discovered that many people from Akwa Ibom are also crying because of poverty and joblessness.

The Police Public Relations Officer, Akwa Ibom State Command, Mr. Etim dickson, promised to get back to our correspondent once he had confirmed the story from the Divisional Police Officer in charge of the area.

Posted: at 10-04-2014 05:28 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 10-04-2014 05:35 AM (10 years ago)
A graduate looking for a job for the past 10 years?
….not just in place but all over the country?

It is very sad…. Yet some people are being paid ₦12M each for three months for nothing?
My advice to this man is ....to just take any job to get survive...
Posted: at 10-04-2014 05:35 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 10-04-2014 05:47 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: papadip on 10-04-2014 05:35 AM
A graduate looking for a job for the past 10 years?
….not just in one place but all over the country?

It is very sad…. Yet some people are being paid ₦12M each for three months for nothing?
My advice to this man is ....to just take any job to survive...
Correction.....
Posted: at 10-04-2014 05:47 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 10-04-2014 07:05 AM (10 years ago)
so sad anyway..not just naija oooh..even for Europe na the same ,,work no dey around the world....but naija own too much..young people can never work in the office any more..just all most dead  old people that has job..
Posted: at 10-04-2014 07:05 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickman2 at 10-04-2014 07:13 AM (10 years ago)
if naija young people don't stand up for their right ..we need up rising in naija ..if not..nothing well change...this why every body today in naija is into crime..because  no job..crime rate dey high every day ,,just because no job..we run comot for naija to see light ..even the light no easy to see ..
Posted: at 10-04-2014 07:13 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- allwaysyes at 10-04-2014 07:28 AM (10 years ago)
just to give you some hope its not all around the world here in the US in the state of UTAH the uninployment rate rate is 3.9 percent on tonights news down from 4 percent, I think you have a wonderful country and I would like to see some day but I am old and that will not happen, it is the crooks at the top who keep you from enjoing life and poor. I pray GOD will help you.
Posted: at 10-04-2014 07:28 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- gmarley at 10-04-2014 07:35 AM (10 years ago)
God help us
Posted: at 10-04-2014 07:35 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- otunbee111 at 10-04-2014 07:43 AM (10 years ago)
Framed article, Mr Poster u sick
Posted: at 10-04-2014 07:43 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- jangbalajugbu at 10-04-2014 07:47 AM (10 years ago)
May the Almighty God help us in this country faa.
Posted: at 10-04-2014 07:47 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- daveobahon at 10-04-2014 07:54 AM (10 years ago)
rubbsh lie poster sharap
Posted: at 10-04-2014 07:54 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dondada4040 at 10-04-2014 08:16 AM (10 years ago)
The guy no dey ready die, how you go live your place wan come find job for Uyo, you for try Out this stunt for Ekiti, truly  there are no jobs but we can always carve out a living in a few areas like agriculture, fashion designing, security and trade. It must not be an engineering job. Always look for a reason to live than trying suicide. Life is a free gift from God and no one should take  his or her life for any reason. Be strong and courageous.
Posted: at 10-04-2014 08:16 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- daveobahon at 10-04-2014 08:50 AM (10 years ago)
Dareper make I corrct u b4 u write ds"all hell the queen(EZENWAYI)"pls biko it is hail not hell as in all hail bla bla bla
Posted: at 10-04-2014 08:50 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 10-04-2014 08:57 AM (10 years ago)
The FACT that he went out looking for prison authorities to KILL him or LOCK HIM UP, that wsd ENOUGH EVIDENCE to show he needed HELP.

The response of these prison officials to FORCE HIM INTO A BUS shows a lack of empathy. This action alone rubbishes any counselling they said they gave him.

You would THINK that prison officials would have BETTER PEOPLE SKILLS especially as they are
WORKING with those (prisioners) who are in NEED of HELP and REHABILITATION - WELL DONE to the police for thwarting YET ANOTHER DISGRUNTLED NIGERIANS plan to end his life!.  
Posted: at 10-04-2014 08:57 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kingcalors at 10-04-2014 09:18 AM (10 years ago)
Mumu engineering graduate. You no see molue or 911 wey you suppose jump into and die. Remember that if you die like that na straight to hell fire.
Posted: at 10-04-2014 09:18 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nzewyte at 10-04-2014 09:24 AM (10 years ago)
Chaii....naija i hail thee!

Posted: at 10-04-2014 09:24 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pauldinnie at 10-04-2014 09:31 AM (10 years ago)
 Undecided Undecided
Posted: at 10-04-2014 09:31 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Neglito at 10-04-2014 09:43 AM (10 years ago)
Life can be tough sometimes but committing suicide shouldn't be an option
Posted: at 10-04-2014 09:43 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 007G_lORD at 10-04-2014 10:25 AM (10 years ago)
Na wa

Posted: at 10-04-2014 10:25 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- cocoeni at 10-04-2014 10:27 AM (10 years ago)
Hmmmm
Posted: at 10-04-2014 10:27 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- orjiwolo at 10-04-2014 11:26 AM (10 years ago)
Its quite a shame, but if the guy really wants to kills himself he could have done it quietly at home.... there are 1001 ways to kill yourself Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink
Posted: at 10-04-2014 11:26 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac