Laide Bakare’s husband drags EFCC to court,says he is a victim of blackmail

Date: 10-04-2014 3:07 pm (9 years ago) | Author: kaygee
- at 10-04-2014 03:07 PM (9 years ago)
Alhaji Mutairu Babatunde Oriowo, husband of Nollywood actress, Laide Bakare, has debunked the fraud and theft story against him occasioned through a declaration by the EFCC and published recently in a national daily. The businessman, who is the CEO of Primavera Construction & Engineering Ltd, added that, contrary to EFCC’s statement declaring him wanted, he is not on the run because he has not committed any offence to warrant running away from his fatherland.

The businessman said that he was miffed by the EFCC declaration because he could not understand what the interest of EFCC was, as no court of law has indicted him for any offence and no warrant of arrest has ever been issued on him.

Nollywood actress, Laide Bakare, has also said that she is standing by her husband on the matter, believing that the EFCC publication was meant to destroy his hard-earned reputation as a philanthropist who derives joy in helping people, adding that the story was also a calculated attempt to smear her own name as a celebrity.

According to Mr. Orilowo, the EFCC and MTN were only out to blackmail him because the court case he instituted against EFCC, seeking an injunction to restrain the agency from arresting him or declaring him wanted, will be determine on the 28th of March 2014. Yet he was declared wanted on no basis many weeks before the hearing date.

LAIDE BAKARE AND HUSBAND Explaining the issue further, Mr. Orilowo said that “there was this MTN Cooperative whose membership is of MTN workers. Their union came together with this idea of a project called ‘Y’ello Estate’ to be built at Okun Ajah. That is my home town and where I do most of my businesses. So, based on my popularity and as a philanthropist who commands respect in the area, my company, Primavera Engineering & Construction Limited, was approached by MTN to help buy five hectares of land, which we did. Later, they came to us again and said oh, there are more demands, get us five hectares more. We did. The subscribers now became much interested in the project because they were going to make it the best of such Estates in Lagos”.

“We had an agreement from the beginning because they trusted us to deliver. The agreement was for me to; one, buy the lands; two, to ensure that the lands acquired were validly documented, and three, to be the sole developer of the Estate”.

“But some powerful people at MTN then came in after the agreement with the aim to hijack it. They saw the project as a laudable one and they were shocked that I was the only man handling the project. They came with an excuse that many people were bidding for it and it should not be a one-man thing. But I have spent close to one billion naira on this project. The agreement was for me to collect from MTN 20 percent of the money for mobilization and then go ahead to complete it with my personal money. And I have spent a lot on it. You know how big a project like an Estate can be; talk of roads, bridges and other amenities”.

“So, since the MTN had decided to bring in another developer and my company has committed so much into executing the project, I asked that the money I have spent so far be refunded. But when they were not forthcoming, I took the MTN Cooperative to court seeking to retrieve my money. We got judgment from Hon. Justice Olateru-Olagbegi. We then had negotiations with MTN based on the court judgment. Under the terms of settlement, MTN was to pay us substantial sums of money”.

“But MTN still refused to pay us, so we commenced third-party involvement proceedings against MTN which resulted in the issuance of an order freezing the bank accounts of MTN. While we await action on our money, MTN went to EFCC to lodge criminal complaints against us, alleging theft of money without disclosing the court proceedings on the issue. This was after the EFCC, on its own, had gone to court to institute criminal proceedings against us based on MTN’s complaints, which is still pending before the court”.

Posted: at 10-04-2014 03:07 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- spicymariam at 10-04-2014 03:21 PM (9 years ago)
Who cum dey speak truth nah, se na mtn or primeavera boss?
Posted: at 10-04-2014 03:21 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- pauldinnie at 10-04-2014 03:23 PM (9 years ago)
Ok we ll see how it ends up who is telling the truth  Undecided
Posted: at 10-04-2014 03:23 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- daveobahon at 10-04-2014 03:37 PM (9 years ago)
d truth wil cum out
Posted: at 10-04-2014 03:37 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beejaybabs at 10-04-2014 03:39 PM (9 years ago)
Twist

Posted: at 10-04-2014 03:39 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gmarley at 10-04-2014 03:43 PM (9 years ago)
waiting for source and the truth
Posted: at 10-04-2014 03:43 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 10-04-2014 03:53 PM (9 years ago)
Passing
Posted: at 10-04-2014 03:53 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 10-04-2014 04:10 PM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 10-04-2014 04:10 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- cocoeni at 10-04-2014 05:08 PM (9 years ago)
Money palava
Posted: at 10-04-2014 05:08 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 10-04-2014 05:26 PM (9 years ago)
Watever
Posted: at 10-04-2014 05:26 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Wysetots at 10-04-2014 05:53 PM (9 years ago)
E don happen
Posted: at 10-04-2014 05:53 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- christianity at 10-04-2014 06:08 PM (9 years ago)
i hear una
Posted: at 10-04-2014 06:08 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fertymor at 10-04-2014 06:26 PM (9 years ago)
GOD KNOWS THE BEST...
Posted: at 10-04-2014 06:26 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 10-04-2014 06:31 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 10-04-2014 06:31 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- osamabinladin at 10-04-2014 07:02 PM (9 years ago)
Noted !
Posted: at 10-04-2014 07:02 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 10-04-2014 07:06 PM (9 years ago)
Waiting for the truth
Posted: at 10-04-2014 07:06 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- zoe61 at 10-04-2014 08:48 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 10-04-2014 08:48 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- raylink at 11-04-2014 12:39 AM (9 years ago)
REPORT URSELF TO D OFFICE FOR CLEARANCE........
Posted: at 11-04-2014 12:39 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- whizspecoy at 11-04-2014 07:14 AM (9 years ago)
Blackmailing!
Posted: at 11-04-2014 07:14 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- bankadetoun at 11-04-2014 11:25 AM (9 years ago)
Awaiting
Posted: at 11-04-2014 11:25 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Time To Tell The World - Primeboy Files Petition Against Mohbad's Widow, Wunmi Over Allegations

2. Peter Obi Meets Labour Party's Edo State Governorship Candidate, Olumide Akpata (Photos)

3. American Rapper, 50 Cent Faces Rap3 Accusations By Ex-girlfriend, Daphne Joy

4. After Spending Two Years In Prison, Court Acquits 23-year-old Accused Of R*ping Girlfriend

5. Former BBNaija Contestant, Deji Morafa Attains Pharmaceutical License In The U.S.

6. “You No Go Pay”: Drama As Old Video Of Basketmouth Begging Wizkid For Free Promo Surfaces Onlin

7. "I’ve Not Touched My N120M" - Ilebaye Odiniya Debunks Financial Struggles Rumors On Snapchat

8. Pregnant Woman, Mmesoma Odili Loses Baby During Detention Over Land Dispute In Anambra

9. Kano Police Apprehend 22 Suspected Hoodlums, Declare 30 Others Wanted (Photos)

10. Gospel Artist, Chinyere Udoma Mourns Loss as Fire Destroys Lagos Music Studio (Video)

11. VIDEO: AY Makun Shares Video Of Renovated Mansion Months After Fire Accident

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

6. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

7. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

8. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)