Asari Blasts Jonathan's Wife: You Can't Make Wike Rivers Gov

Date: 11-04-2014 11:51 am (10 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 11-04-2014 11:51 AM (10 years ago)

There is no way the next Governor of Rivers State will be determined by First Lady Patience Jonathan, this is according to leader of the Niger Delta People’s Volunteer Force, Alhaji Mujahedeen Asari Dokubo.

Asari has warned Patience Jonathan that any attempt to make minister of education Mr Nyesom Wike the next governor of the state would not only affect the political fortune of President Goodluck Jonathan but also the chances of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state.

Sending out a clear warning to the President's wife, Asari said:

“To make Wike a governor in Rivers State in 2015 is not morally right. All the fellows endorsing him for whatever reason should know that it will injure PDP, it will injure Goodluck Jonathan. If Goodluck’s name is brought into it, that he is in support of the perpetuation of an Ikwerre hegemony in Rivers State, which is not right by population, which is not right under any calculation, it will injure him and PDP.”

In an exclusive interview with Leadership, he said the plan by the first lady to impose Wike on the people was morally wrong in the light of the dominance of the political landscape of the state by the Ikwerre group, to which Wike belongs, in the past 16 years.

It would be recalled Patience Jonathan had ignited a controversy over the governorship ticket of the PDP in the next election in Rivers State on Tuesday when she said she is backing Wike to becoming governor.

She said: “In the case of Rivers State, the First Lady wishes to state categorically that the supervising minister of Education, Nyesom Wike, is the leader of PDP in Rivers State and he enjoys the followership of the people of the State. The First Lady is solidly behind Wike. “The people of Rivers State are also solidly behind Wike and are prepared to follow him. As far as the First Lady is concerned, there is NO SHAKING in Rivers State.”

But Asari has warned that there is "SHAKING", insisting that Wike could not be the next governor of the state in view of the interests of the three ethnic clusters in the state. He said it would amount to political suicide for PDP to field Wike in the next election.

“As far as we all know, there are three ethnic clusters in Rivers State: the Ijaws, the Igbos (Ikwerre is part of the Igbo cluster) and the Ogonis. After Bayelsa was excised from Rivers State, the Igbos have ruled for many years. Odili was an Idoni Igbo; he ruled for eight years. Omehia/Amaechi, who are also Ikwerres, by 2015 would have ruled for more than eight years, making over 16 years,” he explained.

“When you look at that, for somebody to say another Ikwerre man should become governor is wrong. Yes, constitutionally, he has a right to aspire, everybody is free to aspire, but it is not moral, it is not right. Something can be legally right but it might not be morally right.

“So if we are saying there should be justice in Rivers State… if we are crying against domination by others, we should not also oppress other people. The people that morally should be allowed to produce the next governor of Rivers State is the Ogoni cluster made up of the Ogonis proper and the Eleme people.”

Dokubo expressed surprise that Patience Jonathan feigned ignorance of the homogenous nature and political reality in the state by openly identifying with the minister to clinch the top job in the state in 2015.

Posted: at 11-04-2014 11:51 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MrGreats at 11-04-2014 12:33 PM (10 years ago)
I see nothing wrong dear.
U sd GEJ must b president whether we lik it or not.u said we dnt hav d right.
now another person is thinking d same n u re angry.
Remember d golden rule.
Posted: at 11-04-2014 12:33 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Wysetots at 11-04-2014 12:59 PM (10 years ago)
See your cheeks......How many people you claim to fight for have shelter over their heads?

You're a big fool.
Posted: at 11-04-2014 12:59 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- raylink at 11-04-2014 01:13 PM (10 years ago)
HMMMM SEE SMALL ASARI OH,EBILIKE SAY U NO KNOW D POWER OF A WOMAN....TALKLESS FIRST LADY,AM NOT IN SUPPORT OF D FIRST LADY DECIDING WHO BECOMES D GOVERNOR,BUT NOT WITHSTANDING ASARI SHOULD TALK TO D FIRST LADY IN DAT MANNER....ABI ASARI DOKUBO OR WATEVER UR NAME IS ...U SMOKE DRY LIZARD???
Posted: at 11-04-2014 01:13 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ILLKEEM at 11-04-2014 01:20 PM (10 years ago)
ur so right Mrgreat. Dz Fat f*ck said GEJ mst b presidnt weda d natn likes it or nt nw he is abt to cry cz smone z sayn d smthng. Smh! God help Nigeria Sad
Posted: at 11-04-2014 01:20 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- christianity at 11-04-2014 01:20 PM (10 years ago)
As if i care
Posted: at 11-04-2014 01:20 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dondada4040 at 11-04-2014 01:21 PM (10 years ago)
Noise maker, next!
Posted: at 11-04-2014 01:21 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- humphreyedet at 11-04-2014 01:53 PM (10 years ago)
Politics...
Posted: at 11-04-2014 01:53 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- daveobahon at 11-04-2014 01:55 PM (10 years ago)
I don forget wetin I wan write sef
Posted: at 11-04-2014 01:55 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okilo101 at 11-04-2014 02:10 PM (10 years ago)
We sidon dey luk una !
Posted: at 11-04-2014 02:10 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Jasitop at 11-04-2014 02:11 PM (10 years ago)
Asari is a fool
Posted: at 11-04-2014 02:11 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- cocoeni at 11-04-2014 03:51 PM (10 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 11-04-2014 03:51 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- ken222 at 11-04-2014 03:59 PM (10 years ago)
When i say that Nigerian is a zoo, some idiots ask me why,  a country where the masses vote can not determine who to rule them
Posted: at 11-04-2014 03:59 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ken222 at 11-04-2014 04:04 PM (10 years ago)
At times i don't seems to understand this man, Asari, you said that you are not a Nigerian, that you are fighting to separate your people from the contraption called Nigeria, why then are you interfering in the affairs of the zoo
Posted: at 11-04-2014 04:04 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 11-04-2014 04:07 PM (10 years ago)
Their business
Posted: at 11-04-2014 04:07 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gregup123 at 11-04-2014 04:29 PM (10 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin i dey play Aye for here
Posted: at 11-04-2014 04:29 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- dickman2 at 11-04-2014 04:39 PM (10 years ago)
na them sabi.
Posted: at 11-04-2014 04:39 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ozzeey at 11-04-2014 04:41 PM (10 years ago)
I don't comment on political matters on fridays.
Anyway I don hear. Nice & good 4dem
Next?  Cool
Posted: at 11-04-2014 04:41 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- akinmanchy at 11-04-2014 04:52 PM (10 years ago)
What goes around comes around Mr Asari. Imposing a leader on people is not the best but you started

Posted: at 11-04-2014 04:52 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 11-04-2014 05:45 PM (10 years ago)
Politics
Posted: at 11-04-2014 05:45 PM (10 years ago) | Hero