Why I poisoned my husband - 14-year-old bride narrates

Date: 13-04-2014 8:15 am (10 years ago) | Author: Nuella banu
- at 13-04-2014 08:15 AM (10 years ago)

A 14-year-old bride, Wasila Umar, who allegedly killed her 35-year-old groom, Umar Sani and three other persons in Yansoro Kademi village of Gaya local government area of Kano state, has said that she smeared rat poison on her groom’s food because she was forced to marry him. It was gathered that after her husband ate the poisoned dinner with three others, they all died.

It was learnt that while the husband and two others died less than an hour after eating the food, the fourth, a girl who also ate, died at Gaya General Hospital the very next day. However, ten out of the 14 persons that ate from the poisoned food survived.
Wasila got married to Late Umar Sani who was a trader based in Gaya, two weeks ago. Before his marriage to Waslia, late Sani had a wife and two children. In the tradition of the Yansoro Kademi people, a newly wedded wife is not allowed to cook for a month, an aspect a senior wife takes care of during the period.

“It was during this period that the first wife cooked a local dish, ‘Dan-Wake’, and served it to the husband,” a neighbor said. He further added that while the husband was in his room, the new wife sneaked into the sitting room and smeared rat poison on the food. It was also revealed that, when the groom came in, he took the food outside, was joined by 13 others and after eating the meal, they started complaining of severe stomach pain. “As villagers we don’t usually like eating alone, therefore he brought out the food and ate with his neighbors, then gave the remnants to Nasiru Muhammad who is an Almajiri and also a local spaghetti hawker, Hindatu Ibrahim, aged 13.

“Within a very short period, the husband and two others died. The young girl was rushed to Gaya general hospital where she later died,” he said. As a result of the sudden death of the trio, the villagers reported the case to Gaya divisional police station and both wives were detained and interrogated, after which the new wife confessed. At the Kano State police headquarters, Bompai, Wasila told Weekly Trust how it happened. “When my father told me that I should marry Umar Sani, I told him I don’t love the man but he refused. Before our marriage I told him again, he beat me up and said I must marry him.

So after our wedding I started thinking of what to do and the idea of rat poison came to me. I went to the village market and bought it for N80, returned home and hid it. When our husband’s food was served in the sitting room, I went there and spread the poison over it,” she said, explaining that it was not meant for the other 13 others who were just victims of circumstance. “I did not mean to kill my husband, but rather wanted to show him that I have no feelings for him. I thought after eating it, he will divorce me and I will return to my father’s house,” she concluded.

However, when contacted, her father, Mohammed Tasiu , aged 50, denied his daughter’s claim. “I didn’t collect a kobo from the deceased. She was the one that brought him to us as her choice. Before him she has brought two other persons to us but later told us she doesn’t love them and that was why when she brought Umar Sani we allowed her to marry him,” he said. Parading her, the spokes person of Kano State Police Command, ASP Magaji Musa Majiya, identified the rat poison used by Wasila as ‘rodenticides’. He said a total of 14 persons ate the food but that only four died.

“The suspect has since confessed to the act and claimed that she did it because she doesn’t love her husband. Corpses were taken to hospital for examination. Investigation is in top gear,” he said.

>>SEE MORE INTERESTING NEWS AND GIST AROUND<<

Posted: at 13-04-2014 08:15 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- lisakay at 13-04-2014 08:36 AM (10 years ago)
Good girl,u try Grin Grin Grin Grin Angry Grin Angry Grin Grin
Posted: at 13-04-2014 08:36 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- ourpharm at 13-04-2014 08:59 AM (10 years ago)
The useless father who gave a 14year old girl for marriage must die by hanging in the girls stead.She is a MINOR,let the long arms of the Law rest upon the greedy father
Posted: at 13-04-2014 08:59 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- nwokom at 13-04-2014 09:16 AM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 13-04-2014 09:16 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- christianity at 13-04-2014 04:25 PM (10 years ago)
nice job,pls continue doing it
Posted: at 13-04-2014 04:25 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chivicol at 13-04-2014 04:50 PM (10 years ago)
u know we nigerians learn from our mistakes. I remmember wen stella damacius was complaining about it some ignorant ones were busy typing useless comments . Now here is the outcome. I hope our able senate will seat again n vote 4 dis bill again cos 2 its an improvement. Lols
Posted: at 13-04-2014 04:50 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Giftous1 at 13-04-2014 05:09 PM (10 years ago)
Nawaooo....14years?? Gosh...so digusting....a minor...nawaooo for muslim culture....she acted under preasure....and her father is even lie'n
Posted: at 13-04-2014 05:09 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osamabinladin at 13-04-2014 05:10 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 13-04-2014 05:10 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- akinmanchy at 13-04-2014 05:19 PM (10 years ago)
A 14 year old bride? So barbaric! The bride killed four abokis with 80 naira poison,mathematically 20naira per life! God have mercy

Posted: at 13-04-2014 05:19 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dollypiper at 13-04-2014 05:25 PM (10 years ago)
she simply set herself free from a pedophile legally molesting her every night .. i call that self defence .. abegi release the Poor Girl
Posted: at 13-04-2014 05:25 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fiddy1 at 13-04-2014 05:38 PM (10 years ago)
I like smart girls like this. The phyuking bastard deserved to die. Grin Grin
Posted: at 13-04-2014 05:38 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- exever100 at 13-04-2014 06:03 PM (10 years ago)
 Tongue
Posted: at 13-04-2014 06:03 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 13-04-2014 08:18 PM (10 years ago)
hmmm, how can a 14years old girl be married
Posted: at 13-04-2014 08:18 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- paulohking at 13-04-2014 09:17 PM (10 years ago)
how u go give her hand out in marriage without her consent Roll Eyes, that's bad na
Posted: at 13-04-2014 09:17 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- erhubeauty at 13-04-2014 09:51 PM (10 years ago)
I love her
Posted: at 13-04-2014 09:51 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- HOPEA23 at 13-04-2014 09:59 PM (10 years ago)
Hmmmm

Posted: at 13-04-2014 09:59 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- deboalabi262 at 13-04-2014 10:11 PM (10 years ago)
She has to face the full wrath of the law for taking law into her hands -shikena..... Huh?

Posted: at 13-04-2014 10:11 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- benbellabiz at 13-04-2014 10:20 PM (10 years ago)
i think she deserve 21 gunshot salute i beg. she was only acting on self defense.  ajanni you don see am?. because i know say na 12 year old you dey plan to marry as 3rd wife.
Posted: at 13-04-2014 10:20 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ololababs at 13-04-2014 10:30 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: ourpharm on 13-04-2014 08:59 AM
The useless father who gave a 14year old girl for marriage must die by hanging in the girls stead.She is a MINOR,let the long arms of the Law rest upon the greedy father

Well said!
Posted: at 13-04-2014 10:30 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ololababs at 13-04-2014 10:32 PM (10 years ago)
 :Dp
Quote from: benbellabiz on 13-04-2014 10:20 PM
i think she deserve 21 gunshot salute i beg. she was only acting on self defense.  ajanni you don see am?. because i know say na 12 year old you dey plan to marry as 3rd wife.

Cheesy Grin abeg I can't shout o  LMWAO
Posted: at 13-04-2014 10:32 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming