I Gave Up On Education When I Scored 17 out Of 400 In JAMB - Timaya

Date: 14-04-2014 9:08 am (10 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 14-04-2014 09:08 AM (10 years ago)
Timaya was probably the dullest student in his school days,  but the Egberi Papa 1 of Bayelsa still makes an effort to inspire youths across the country with his enormous success in the music industry and his ‘grass to grace’ story.

Timaya made sure to share a story during his eclectic performance at the third leg of Star Music Trek, which held in Uyo on April 12, 2014.

“Education is not for me,” the hit artiste confessed, “It is important, yes, but not for me for me”

“I scored 17 in JAMB, That's when I gave up. I don’t have the brain for education but for those of you who do, please go for it, it is good.” He further stressed.

No one can dispute that the Niger Delta star is still passionate about education -or at least, strongly encourages others to have it.

It’s thrilling to note too that despite his 'limitation’, he has risen to become one of the most influential artistes in the country today who, consistently intersperses his performances with an enduring message to young people, advising them to always harness their talent and exploit it.

Posted: at 14-04-2014 09:08 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- paulohking at 14-04-2014 09:24 AM (10 years ago)
u try Roll EyesRoll EyesRoll Eyes
Posted: at 14-04-2014 09:24 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- okilo101 at 14-04-2014 09:33 AM (10 years ago)
Kk
Posted: at 14-04-2014 09:33 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- akinmanchy at 14-04-2014 09:44 AM (10 years ago)
Chaii olodo rabata! I salute ur courage and honesty though,I hope dis can inspire young people to focus on their dream and help them to understand that there's hope even if education failed them. With absolute dedication,determination and dicipline you can be the best in whatever occupation you have chosen. No be everybody go go sch my people

Posted: at 14-04-2014 09:44 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- ufedenyo at 14-04-2014 09:48 AM (10 years ago)
Dere is always a way if dere is a will
Posted: at 14-04-2014 09:48 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- tankNZ at 14-04-2014 09:58 AM (10 years ago)
haha
Posted: at 14-04-2014 09:58 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- daveobahon at 14-04-2014 10:12 AM (10 years ago)
I really salute ur honesty
Posted: at 14-04-2014 10:12 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kingcalors at 14-04-2014 10:25 AM (10 years ago)
No wonder he was nicknamed "block head" in skull. Anyway, those who were good in skull aren't wealthy as you are now. Always harness your talent and hold on to God.
Posted: at 14-04-2014 10:25 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nzewyte at 14-04-2014 10:33 AM (10 years ago)
Hmmmm.., now i knw.

Posted: at 14-04-2014 10:33 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 14-04-2014 10:38 AM (10 years ago)
Dats wat some pple don't kn. Its not everybody education is made for.
Posted: at 14-04-2014 10:38 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ngfineface at 14-04-2014 11:17 AM (10 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 14-04-2014 11:17 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- orjiwolo at 14-04-2014 11:19 AM (10 years ago)
if he was from zamfara or jigawa that score could still get him admission  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 14-04-2014 11:19 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dollar22 at 14-04-2014 12:01 PM (10 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool Cool
Posted: at 14-04-2014 12:01 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 14-04-2014 01:24 PM (10 years ago)
kkk
Posted: at 14-04-2014 01:24 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 14-04-2014 02:26 PM (10 years ago)
Olodo
Posted: at 14-04-2014 02:26 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- DMG17 at 14-04-2014 04:08 PM (10 years ago)
MY DEAR BROTHER,

YOU ARE NOT THE ONLY ONE IN SUCH SITUATION, NEVER BEEN AND NEVER WILL. I RESPECT YOU FOR COMING OUT, OTHERS WILL RATHER LIE AND FORGE THEIR CERTIFICATES BUT YOU SAID YOURS OPENLY.

BROTHER, EDUCATION IS GOOD AND RESPECTFUL, EVEN IF A MAN HASN’T GOT ANY MONEY AT LEAST HE HAS ONE GOOD THING NO ONE CAN EVER TAKE AWAY FROM HIM CALLED “EDUCATION” EDUCATION IS A LIFE INSURANCE AND FITS YOU SOMEWHERE AT ANY EXPECTED AN UNEXPECTED TIME OF YOUR LIFE.

I WAS ONCE IN YOUR SHOES. TO BE PERFECTLY HONEST WITH YOU, AFTER MY SENIOR SECONDARY CERTIFICATE OF EDUCATION (SSCE), I STRUGGLED WITH JAMB AND GCE FOR ALMOST THREE (3) YEARS WITHOUT SUCCESS.

TO AVOID INSULTS I WAS DETERMINED TO HAVE AN EDUCATION IN MY LIFE. I MADE SOME PAPERS IN GCE ON PASS AND CREDIT LEVELS, BUT I NEVER MADE JAMB.

LATER, I TRAVELED TO EUROPE (FINLAND). MY BROTHER, TODAY BY THE GRACE OF GOD I AM A PROUD HOLDER OF TWO BACHELOR’S DEGREES, ONE IN MANAGEMENT BSC; ONE IN BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION BBA, AND I HAVE A MASTER’S DEGREE IN BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION, MBA. TODAY I WORK WITH NNPC

I HAVE SIX TOP NIGERIAN PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALLERS AS FRIENDS. TWO OF THEM ARE RETIRED ALL PLAYED IN EUROPE AND SOME ARE STILL PLAYING IN ENGLISH LEAGUE, TURKISH LEAGUE, FRENCH LEAGUE EVEN VERY FAMOUS. THEY SAID, THEIR GREATEST MISTAKE TODAY IS THAT THEY HAVE NO EDUCATION, EVEN WITH THE FAME AND FORTUNE THAT COMES WITH PLAYING INTERNATIONAL FOOTBALL; ACCORDING TO THEM, STILL SOMETHING IS MISSING.

MY BROTHER IN WHATEVER YOU DO, NEVER LOSE HOPE. PUT YOUR TRUST IN GOD AND HE WILL MAKE THE WAY FOR YOU

“YOU CAN GET IT IF YOU REALLY WANT, BUT YOU MUST TRY, TRY AND TRY, YOU WILL SUCCEED AT LAST” JIMMY CLIFF. 

Posted: at 14-04-2014 04:08 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- charlytex at 14-04-2014 06:30 PM (10 years ago)
its not he that willeth or runth but GOD that showeth mercy he has proved it in ur life well done brother i salute ur courage
Posted: at 14-04-2014 06:30 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- osamabinladin at 14-04-2014 07:07 PM (10 years ago)
Noted !
Posted: at 14-04-2014 07:07 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Ashonibare at 14-04-2014 10:25 PM (10 years ago)
Hmm...av always known the guy is a meathead! Bt its rly a gud thing coming out d way u did, juz dt u knw our nigeria pple, sm lazy boys will tell deir parents dey dnt want to go to skul again, why? bcoz timaya isnt educated bt he stl made it!
Posted: at 14-04-2014 10:25 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Fazob at 15-04-2014 09:49 AM (10 years ago)
And there are also educated musicians
Posted: at 15-04-2014 09:49 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac