Na wa:National Conference Delegate Pictured Playing Scrabble Replies His Critics

Date: 14-04-2014 2:31 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 14-04-2014 02:31 PM (10 years ago)

The elder statesman who was pictured at Nigeria's National Conference playing Scrabble on his laptop has responded to the criticisms by Nigerians who condemned his act.

The delegate, identified as Professor Oyewale Tomori, a University administrator and academician, the pioneer Vice-Chancellor of Redeemer’s University, Ogun State, dropped his reply on a website, TrumpetMediaGroup that put up his picture with the caption: 'Does anyone have a name for him?'

Below is his response:
"Yes, indeed, I know the person, because I am the one. I have responded to some of the blogs on the matter. The truth is this activity was done during the lunch break between 2-4 pm. As soon as the Chairman calls the meeting to order, I switch off my computer. 
Is there any rule against spending my free time as I like? Moreover, is there anything

wrong, if others engage in reading newspapers and talking with others during their free time, and I prefer engaging in activities, I consider more useful to my development, such as using scrabble to improve my word power and discover new words?

Indeed, I often play against the best in the world, world champions, and I have been beaten many times. But in the process I learnt new words, their meanings and improve my written and spoken language. 

Journalists live and sell their papers through the sensation route, which often is the opposite to telling the truth or providing full details. If the person who posted the picture had said the activity took place during the lunch break, that would have been no news; but to create sensation, he or she was economical with details. 

I will certainly continue to play such other mind engaging games like Sudoku, Logic, etc, if only to make me a better thinker and presenter. Only thing, is I will do this at my own free time! 

Thank you very much
- Oyewale Tomori

Posted: at 14-04-2014 02:31 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ashonibare at 14-04-2014 02:40 PM (10 years ago)
Tell them! Those jobless-fake-news peddlers, they never seem to be @ rest! Cant a man have his own privacy!
Posted: at 14-04-2014 02:40 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 14-04-2014 02:48 PM (10 years ago)
With 12m scramble game must go on.
Posted: at 14-04-2014 02:48 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- raylink at 14-04-2014 03:23 PM (10 years ago)
NAUGHTY PROFESSOR ......I HAIL UNA OH
Posted: at 14-04-2014 03:23 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- bankadetoun at 14-04-2014 03:30 PM (10 years ago)
Poster hope you are hearing, notice for you. Next
Posted: at 14-04-2014 03:30 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 14-04-2014 03:37 PM (10 years ago)
Story.
Posted: at 14-04-2014 03:37 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- odprince at 14-04-2014 03:42 PM (10 years ago)
12 MILLION IS WAITING FOR YOU,NONSENSE,YOU PEOPLE ARE THE PROBLEMS WE HAVE IN NIGERIA,,,,,,NEXT TME,JUST WATCH PORNO MOVIES AND AFTER YOU COLLECT YOUR 12 M....NOTHING CONCERN YOU
Posted: at 14-04-2014 03:42 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngfineface at 14-04-2014 03:48 PM (10 years ago)
If dem ask you question at the end of the day, your ans go be www.nsdc - that is it!
Posted: at 14-04-2014 03:48 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- angesco at 14-04-2014 03:59 PM (10 years ago)
All we need now is the response from those who fell asleep during the conference.

Maybe they were using the 2-4pm lunch break to catch 40 winks!
Posted: at 14-04-2014 03:59 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 14-04-2014 04:00 PM (10 years ago)
na wa oooooooooo
Posted: at 14-04-2014 04:00 PM (10 years ago) | Grande Master
- nobleladyG at 14-04-2014 04:07 PM (10 years ago)
Shameless

Posted: at 14-04-2014 04:07 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 14-04-2014 04:16 PM (10 years ago)
break time ...and all of you were still seated Huh?
Posted: at 14-04-2014 04:16 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- kenosas at 14-04-2014 04:23 PM (10 years ago)
however the man defend himself clearly,i like he did not used any harsh word ,his expression really seem cogent and responsible.
Posted: at 14-04-2014 04:23 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DrSoba at 14-04-2014 04:41 PM (10 years ago)
Tell them jobless Bloggers
Posted: at 14-04-2014 04:41 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- daveobahon at 14-04-2014 05:32 PM (10 years ago)
break time ...and all of you were still seated Huh?
PLS READ AGAIN N MAKE SURE U UNDERSTAND B4 COMMENTIN
Posted: at 14-04-2014 05:32 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- akinmanchy at 14-04-2014 05:48 PM (10 years ago)
You have defended yourself very well sir,we've dropped all charges against you. Case closed!

Posted: at 14-04-2014 05:48 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- 1on14u at 14-04-2014 05:52 PM (10 years ago)
After 100 years of nigeria's existence there is no progress in any way.No and no to election. Nigeria have expired and it is crippling and there is nothing or any one can do to revive it, because we are not one and will never be one.history never lies.Division Is the answer to that place called nigeria since we can not leave together as one and are not the same people. if not there will and will always be various dire situations and consequences at all times like bomb exploding and more, if you know what I mean. The leaders and every one including the pastors knows what is right( peaceful division,seperation, distingration)and doeth it not it is sin(wrong). Is it not it? Now the presidents name is bad luck and gowon and the rest are hated for murdering millions of Biafrans. the only good thing or gift they can give or do us is to divide that place called nigeria peacefully. so we can all go and rule our selves in our own land the way we want. Where there will not be pointing of fingers because we are one. I am igbo and biafra is where I am from. and I don't want to be apart of those that muddered my people in millions. Where are you from? Niggeria was created by man named Fredrick lugard and it has expired and at 100 years old there is no numerous significant of improvement and progress so let's seek our way out.lets break out we have the right now. If we the youths can can say no we don't want to continue any more and don't vote for our leader. And we will miss seeing each other and so on and it is worth it after all if you can travel to other places from niggeria we can still see each other.
Posted: at 14-04-2014 05:52 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- kingcalors at 14-04-2014 05:53 PM (10 years ago)
Hew! See Professor clean ENGLISH. Abeg you do well. Thank you for educating those aproko journalist / fake news posters.
Posted: at 14-04-2014 05:53 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- christianity at 14-04-2014 06:17 PM (10 years ago)
baba,at ur age u ar still lying??what do u expects from the youths den?
Posted: at 14-04-2014 06:17 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osamabinladin at 14-04-2014 06:54 PM (10 years ago)
Nice explanatiion !
Posted: at 14-04-2014 06:54 PM (10 years ago) | Hero

1. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

2. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

3. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

4. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

5. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

6. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

7. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

8. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer