PDP Chairman Brutalised, Looted By Drunken Soldiers

Date: 16-04-2014 6:37 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Adams Chris
- at 16-04-2014 06:37 PM (10 years ago)

A former state chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Anambra State, Chief Barrister Chuma Nwofor, was reportedly brutalized in the morning of April 15, 2014, Tuesday, around 10am.

Nwofor, who used to be a deputy president of the Chambers of Commerce Mines and Agriculture, was attacked by soldiers of the 302-brigade Onitsha.

According to witnesses, the attackers were drunk and were heading on a mission to loot. The local community was shocked by this development.

Nwofor was reportedly driving to Asaba, after visiting his clients. Once arriving to the Upper Iweka road in Onitsha, which is under construction, and has only one lane, Chuma Nwofor got stuck in a traffic jam.

An army truck with no siren, or escort car, forced itself into the middle of the road, and had hit Nwofor’s car, and another vehicle, a Mitsubishi Van.

The occupants of the Mitsubishi Van came out of their car and confronted the army truck driver, whose reckless driving caused damage to the vehicle. Nwafor has also joined them.

However, such complaints infuriated the driver and the soldiers, who were reportedly under the influence of alcohol.

The unidentified driver, four other soldiers pounced on Barrister Nwafor without a warning. They beat him up with iron rods from their vehicle, used the butts of their guns to hit the victim. Some witnesses say the drunken soldiers tore open his head with their blows.

Nwofor was thrown on the ground and lost consciousness, while the attackers moved to search the vehicle of the victim, collected some items from it, including the money that his customers had paid him. The money allegedly stolen by the soldiers is the equivalent of over USD100,000 (N17,000,000).

The military men took the unconscious man to their barracks. They refused to let him go for treatment to a local hospital, kept bleeding PDP chief in the cell for about 3 hours.

According to a source of Saharareporters, the decision to hold Nwofor was a trick to ‘buy time’, and enable the soldiers to cleanly cart away the money, and the items they removed from the vehicle.

Chuma Nwofor had requested the names of the soldiers involved, but Captain GC Ohaeri, refused to disclose their names, or identify what rank the men held.

Finally, the victim was released from the barracks and taken to Onitsha General Hospital for treatment and examination. He had lost a lot of blood, and lost consciousness several times.

The witnesses stated the incident looked like a well-planned robbery, and an act of intimidation. Speculation continues to fly in this case.

The victim plans to take up the matter with the National Human Right Commission and to also sue for recovering of the stolen funds and damages. A renowned lawyer, Sam Ologunorisha (SAN), will support him.

One of the main questions is why would the army allow a drunken officer to be on the road at that time of the morning armed with guns?

WHY WILL NIGERIAN LADIES DRESS LIKE THIS IN PUBLIC (PHOTOS)

Posted: at 16-04-2014 06:37 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ngfineface at 16-04-2014 10:49 PM (10 years ago)
That is what happens when one refuses to mind his/her biz. I'm sure the man he went down to support was not wounded. Secondly, I don't believe he had such money in his car. Its just to nail the soldiers in law court. Can he show withdrawal proof by the payee. In the Law court? Agreed soldiers are trained criminals but we should not be assassinating their names and profession without proof. Its really a sad situation but he should also learn to mind his biz especially when uniform men are involved.
Posted: at 16-04-2014 10:49 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 16-04-2014 11:35 PM (10 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 16-04-2014 11:35 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dareper at 16-04-2014 11:37 PM (10 years ago)
Bad
Posted: at 16-04-2014 11:37 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- allwaysyes at 17-04-2014 12:06 AM (10 years ago)
as you see one of the quotes above its a warning and maybe true but its part of the problem and not part of the solution, maybe he is part of the problem, YES there is danger standing up when you see wrong being done to others. but if you dont who will stand up for you when you are the one in trouble ?
Posted: at 17-04-2014 12:06 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- okilo101 at 17-04-2014 12:32 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: ngfineface on 16-04-2014 10:49 PM
That is what happens when one refuses to mind his/her biz. I'm sure the man he went down to support was not wounded. Secondly, I don't believe he had such money in his car. Its just to nail the soldiers in law court. Can he show withdrawal proof by the payee. In the Law court? Agreed soldiers are trained criminals but we should not be assassinating their names and profession without proof. Its really a sad situation but he should also learn to mind his biz especially when uniform men are involved.
u think dollar na naira?where u expecting it 2 full una GhaNa Must go bag?
Posted: at 17-04-2014 12:32 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okilo101 at 17-04-2014 12:33 AM (10 years ago)
Armed robbers on uniforms
Posted: at 17-04-2014 12:33 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- raylink at 17-04-2014 12:38 AM (10 years ago)
I SORRY FOR U SMALL.....BUT WHY U DEY LIE SAY U CARRY 17MILLION NAIRA INSIDE CAR?WHEN WE ALL KNOW BANK TO BANK TRANSFER N CHEQUE IS AVAILABLE .................ABI NA POSTER GIVE FALSE INFO???
Posted: at 17-04-2014 12:38 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- EmekaBlue at 17-04-2014 12:50 AM (10 years ago)
na lie abt d 100k dolls..Igbo man style to make profit
Posted: at 17-04-2014 12:50 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- akinmanchy at 17-04-2014 12:54 AM (10 years ago)

Posted: at 17-04-2014 12:54 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- pauldinnie at 17-04-2014 03:31 AM (10 years ago)
Hmmmmm
Posted: at 17-04-2014 03:31 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Wysetots at 17-04-2014 03:31 AM (10 years ago)
A looter gets looted!

#What goes around comes around
Posted: at 17-04-2014 03:31 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- papadip at 17-04-2014 04:09 AM (10 years ago)
So sorry for him… hopefully he’ll be well.
If the story is true what was he doing with $100,000.00 cash on him when you have banks all over the place?

An educated barrister should know better.
.....maybe he was drunk also.

Posted: at 17-04-2014 04:09 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tankNZ at 17-04-2014 04:28 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: dickman2 on 16-04-2014 11:35 PM
Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
?
Posted: at 17-04-2014 04:28 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Don-Thentic at 17-04-2014 05:55 AM (10 years ago)
AS U SEE DIS MAN FACE E BE LIKE FACE WEY DON SEE MILLION B4 Huh? NOT TO TALK OF CARRY AM INSIDE CAR !!! ABEG ALLOW ME SHIFT DIS MAN CONSCIENCE FOR SUCH LIES....AKPOR...SEE LIFE.
Posted: at 17-04-2014 05:55 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Shegzan at 17-04-2014 06:24 AM (10 years ago)
* sm finz are berra left unsaid *

Posted: at 17-04-2014 06:24 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benbellabiz at 17-04-2014 06:31 AM (10 years ago)

i can't believe  you said this in a so called democratic country. you really sound like a soldier, because they are never wrong no matter what they do.
Posted: at 17-04-2014 06:31 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benbellabiz at 17-04-2014 06:34 AM (10 years ago)
former PDP  chairman, sorry oh. but these thing happens to a common man almost everyday and nobody talks about it. maybe it might take a public figure like you to correct the wrong doing of the soldiers.
Posted: at 17-04-2014 06:34 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- daveobahon at 17-04-2014 06:58 AM (10 years ago)
dareper up BIAFRA ode
Posted: at 17-04-2014 06:58 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lychi_kia2 at 17-04-2014 06:58 AM (10 years ago)
You did sound lyk one of dem soldiers bcos if u r nt u wldnt hv made such stupendous comment. Didn't u read d part dat he's car was also hit?, even at dat there's nothing wrong with him standing up for another person who is in trouble even if d animals called soldiers are involved. Besides, dollars is nt naira, 10wraps of 100 dollars can enter my handbag and according to him he got paid for a bizness dats Onitsha for u, nobody has tym to go to bank to pay u. I hate those dem soldiers and police
Posted: at 17-04-2014 06:58 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming