Police Arraign Fake Herbalist For Frauds

Date: 08-05-2014 10:22 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Opda jdad
- at 8-05-2014 10:22 PM (9 years ago)

Adetola Adesotan, on Thursday told an Ojokoro Magistrates' Court, Lagos, how Adefemi Adetiba, posed as a herbalist and defrauded her the sum of N500, 000.
photo
The accused is standing trial for a two-count charge of theft and obtaining money under false pretences before Magistrate, Mrs Taiwo Akanni.
The prosecutor, Insp. Lugard Ahonle, told the court that the man approached the complainant on October 16, 2013 at Oja-Oba, in Abule-Egba, Lagos, while giving direction to a location. 
"After describing the place, a man decided to take him there, but he begged me to follow them claiming that he was new in Lagos and did not want to be defrauded" Adesotan told the court. "The accused said his wife needed medical attention and that was why he came to Lagos to look for money. When we got there, the accused posed as a herbalist and said that I and my family members would die within seven days if I had not brought the man. He said all the money in my house had been cursed and asked me to go and bring everything for cleansing after which he collected my ATM card and the pin. I went home and gathered N380, 000 and gave to the accused after which I saw an alert that the N120, 000 in my GTB account had also been withdrawn". 

Adesotan said that she was promised that the money would be returned to her after the cleansing, but he failed to do so.
Kayode Rufus, counsel to the accused argued during the cross-examination that the complainant did not give any money to the accused, while the prosecuting counsel had alleged that the accused on October 16, 2013 at Iju road, Fagba, Lagos, obtained N500, 000 from the complainant on the pretext of averting her death.
The prosecutor said that the offences were contrary to Sections 285 and 312 of the Criminal Law of Lagos State, 2011.
The defence counsel, however, prayed the court for an adjournment to enable him to get more facts
The Magistrate adjourned the case to May14 for continuation of cross-examination.

>>> click HERE to read hot Sexy Gist news in Naija <<<

Posted: at 8-05-2014 10:22 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie