My Loyalty To Nollywood Remains Unshaken – Genevieve Nnaji

Date: 03-07-2014 9:26 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 3-07-2014 09:26 PM (9 years ago)

In the past few days, a storm in a teacup of sorts, has been brewing in Nollywood, following the publication of excerpts from an interview, which Genevieve Nnaji granted Anna Okon.

In the article, the actress is quoted as saying that she did not think that she could return to the blandness and mediocrity that characterized Nollywood in the past. This statement has been widely reported in the press, and it has drawn the ire of many observers and practitioners.

Nollywood director, Mac Collins Chidebe is reported to have issued a rejoinder to Genevieve Nnaji, which reads as follows:

“Genevieve has just insulted the industry that made her who she is today and what effort has she made to help improve Nollywood. Those days in Enugu when Genevive was growing in Nollywood, our movies were no rubbish; she has grown now, made money, fame, popularity e.t.c, how much has she invested in this Industry that made her. All those while she was busy waiting for Titanic scripts, Nollywood was trying their best to keep the flag flying waiting for her to come back and take the industry to the next level. Artistes should stop biting the fingers that fed them. We are watching and waiting for them to bring down heaven. We made them Stars; we are waiting for them come back and take the industry to the next level. Instead of Blasting Nollywood come and improve Nollywood.”

On Thursday evening, Genevieve Nnaji, took to Instagram, to address the furor, which her comment had raised. She posted a picture on Instagram, which had the words, “I am too honest and impulsive sometimes but I’m not two faced. Don’t project you own ideas on me.” In the caption, she wrote:

“I never called my industry bland and mediocre. Truth or not, they were NOT MY WORDS. As a person/writer, you can “assume” what you like about my thought process but DO not project those thoughts as “quotes” by me. It’s distasteful, insensitive and quite unprofessional. It’s insulting to those limited few working hard to make a difference in the industry. I am a product of Nollywood and my loyalty remains unshaken.”

Posted: at 3-07-2014 09:26 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gmarley at 3-07-2014 09:31 PM (9 years ago)
okay ooooo
Posted: at 3-07-2014 09:31 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mary11 at 3-07-2014 09:39 PM (9 years ago)
who get time 4 una?
me?
God 4bid!

Posted: at 3-07-2014 09:39 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- walenting at 3-07-2014 09:44 PM (9 years ago)
Well oh well left to u
Posted: at 3-07-2014 09:44 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- dickman2 at 3-07-2014 09:53 PM (9 years ago)
NOISE..
Posted: at 3-07-2014 09:53 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 3-07-2014 10:52 PM (9 years ago)
PASSING
Posted: at 3-07-2014 10:52 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 3-07-2014 11:25 PM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 3-07-2014 11:25 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Fredoscar at 3-07-2014 11:26 PM (9 years ago)
Old Story please
Posted: at 3-07-2014 11:26 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- osamabinladin at 3-07-2014 11:44 PM (9 years ago)
Alright !
Posted: at 3-07-2014 11:44 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- EmekaBlue at 4-07-2014 12:00 AM (9 years ago)
B lyk say she don dey broke so wan try dey act again...Na u sabi
Posted: at 4-07-2014 12:00 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 1on14u at 4-07-2014 05:35 AM (9 years ago)
How come she has not spoken any igbo in her movies. She one of the cause igbo language is dieting today.
Posted: at 4-07-2014 05:35 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Freshlycrazy at 4-07-2014 07:49 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: 1on14u on  4-07-2014 05:35 AM
How come she has not spoken any igbo in her movies. She one of the cause igbo language is dieting today.

DIETING???  lmao
Posted: at 4-07-2014 07:49 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dynasty4all at 4-07-2014 08:42 AM (9 years ago)
MY DEAR DON'T MIND HATERS
LIFE IS STAGE BY STAGE
YOU ARE VERY CORRECT
GENE LEADS OTHERS FOLLOW
Posted: at 4-07-2014 08:42 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deguyondmove at 4-07-2014 08:59 AM (9 years ago)
Good you came out to clair the air, but mind you, your detractors can never be satisfied.
Posted: at 4-07-2014 08:59 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- deguyondmove at 4-07-2014 09:18 AM (9 years ago)
She's fresh She is a fresh, She is a fresh. She's fresh She is a fresh...Ya all have a blissful day.
Posted: at 4-07-2014 09:18 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Nicksam at 4-07-2014 09:22 AM (9 years ago)
WRONG COMMENT
Posted: at 4-07-2014 09:22 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- omapretty at 4-07-2014 12:33 PM (9 years ago)
Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Posted: at 4-07-2014 12:33 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- bankadetoun at 4-07-2014 02:03 PM (9 years ago)
hmmmm, any how
Posted: at 4-07-2014 02:03 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- orekiata at 4-07-2014 02:05 PM (9 years ago)
Damage control
Posted: at 4-07-2014 02:05 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 4-07-2014 05:58 PM (9 years ago)
I kn u would not say dat. They jt want to quote u wrongly to have somethg to say.
Posted: at 4-07-2014 05:58 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero