We Do Not Worship Idols Like Most People Think- Catholic Bishop Clarifies

Date: 06-07-2014 8:17 am (9 years ago) | Author: alade johnson
- at 6-07-2014 08:17 AM (9 years ago)

The Catholic Bishop of Nnewi Diocese, Most Rev. Hilary Paul Okeke has made it clear while speaking at the Feast of Our Mother of Perpetual Help/Parish Day Celebration of Saints Michael, Rapheal and Gabriel Catholic Church in Lagos that the church does not worship Mary and other saints, that what they do is to venerate Mary, being the mother of Jesus Christ.

“We do not worship idols as most people think. Those who lack understanding of the word of God equate our worship for the one true God with support from images and symbols as idolatry. We worship God, worship Jesus Christ and we honour Mary and the Saints. Their images in churches and homes before us represent holiness, sacraments and signs of their presence in our life.

“Let us venerate Mary, Mother of perpetual help for in venerating her, we are going to Jesus Christ. Let us have her images in our individual homes as it will draw us to holiness, remember our vocations, her images will draw us closer to Christ and do whatever Jesus Christ commands us to do,” the bishop added.

“We need Mary to help us to overcome in whatever we do, to overcome various challenges in our families, marital and extra marital co-affairs and sex, polygamy, same sex union, divorce and suffering homes. Young ladies need Mary in order not to forsake their Catholic faith by marrying outside the church”, he said.

>Get hotter and latest News and happenings<

Posted: at 6-07-2014 08:17 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Neglito at 6-07-2014 09:12 AM (9 years ago)
Ekene m gi MARIA maka na ijuputara na gracia.
Posted: at 6-07-2014 09:12 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moniconyez at 6-07-2014 09:33 AM (9 years ago)
Yes, Bishop You Are Right. We are not worshiping Virgin Mary, But Honoring Her, Because She Is The One Who Gave Birth To Our Lord And Savior Jesus Christ.
Posted: at 6-07-2014 09:33 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 6-07-2014 09:41 AM (9 years ago)
Na so, supported
Posted: at 6-07-2014 09:41 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beejaybabs at 6-07-2014 09:44 AM (9 years ago)
Why not stop venerating Mary and other saints, stop worshipping Christ, and give ur undivided Worship and Honour to GOD Alone. Embrace the Religion of Monotheism...

Posted: at 6-07-2014 09:44 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Freshlycrazy at 6-07-2014 10:13 AM (9 years ago)
if mary does that what is HOLY SPIRIT now 4...  y'all nid to take d Bible as it is & not add ur own b/c Jesus only acknowledged HOLY SPIRIT, GOD & d Christian body, I didn't c him venerate mary or peter or even Elijah...
Posted: at 6-07-2014 10:13 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 6-07-2014 10:35 AM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 6-07-2014 10:35 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- schmit at 6-07-2014 10:37 AM (9 years ago)
Una don hear?
Posted: at 6-07-2014 10:37 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- amaechi1980 at 6-07-2014 10:43 AM (9 years ago)
Full  of  idols   man made deosn,t speak .leviticus 26:1 You shall    make  no    idols  nor    graven   image, neither  shall  ye set up any image of stone  in your    land, to   bow down unto it  : for I am  the LORD   your   God. stil  catholic still  meslinding   people .
Posted: at 6-07-2014 10:43 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- chicco77 at 6-07-2014 11:53 AM (9 years ago)
passing
Posted: at 6-07-2014 11:53 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dynasty4all at 6-07-2014 12:24 PM (9 years ago)
CATHOLIC WORSHIP THE LIVING GOD, TAKE IT OR LEAVE, NA U SABI
Posted: at 6-07-2014 12:24 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cocoeni at 6-07-2014 01:58 PM (9 years ago)
Tell dem
Posted: at 6-07-2014 01:58 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Senegal at 6-07-2014 02:04 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: amaechi1980 on  6-07-2014 10:43 AM
Full  of  idols   man made deosn,t speak .leviticus 26:1 You shall    make  no    idols  nor    graven   image, neither  shall  ye set up any image of stone  in your    land, to   bow down unto it  : for I am  the LORD   your   God. stil  catholic still  meslinding   people .

Do you lack understanding or just plane dumb? Sad
Posted: at 6-07-2014 02:04 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Senegal at 6-07-2014 02:06 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: amaechi1980 on  6-07-2014 10:43 AM

Do you lack understanding or just plain dumb? Sad
Posted: at 6-07-2014 02:06 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- amaechi1980 at 6-07-2014 03:50 PM (9 years ago)
My friend go and  read your  bible   very well   before  asking that  quesation  so we can know who   dumb , first  read leviticus   26:1 .
Posted: at 6-07-2014 03:50 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- sophy042 at 6-07-2014 04:29 PM (9 years ago)
ERROR
its the catholics that lack the knowledge of the word of God
If they want to do the will of anyone its the will of God they will do, y should u go to mary if u need anything from God? If u want to ask ur father for shchool fees or feeding money will u go through his Mother? John 14:13, 1john 5:14. U catholics should read ur bible so that ur eyes of understanding will be opened. REFUSE and REJECT errer
Posted: at 6-07-2014 04:29 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- christianity at 6-07-2014 05:09 PM (9 years ago)
noted,for me,i dont criticise any church,we ar all serving same God.im proudly  anglican.
Posted: at 6-07-2014 05:09 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sophy042 at 6-07-2014 06:31 PM (9 years ago)
Nobody is criticising any church, I worship in any church depending on my location for that week but I read my bible and God has giving me the grace to understand it. If u read ur bible and understand it nobody will bewitch u or brain wash u, u will be able to differentiate wrong and right, even when ur pastor teachs what is contrary to the word of God u will be able to quote him wrong with the power of God in u. Because the WORD OF GOD IS POWER.
Shalom
Posted: at 6-07-2014 06:31 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- nobleladyG at 6-07-2014 07:46 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: sophy042 on  6-07-2014 06:31 PM
Nobody is criticising any church, I worship in any church depending on my location for that week but I read my bible and God has giving me the grace to understand it. If u read ur bible and understand it nobody will bewitch u or brain wash u, u will be able to differentiate wrong and right, even when ur pastor teachs what is contrary to the word of God u will be able to quote him wrong with the power of God in u. Because the WORD OF GOD IS POWER.
Shalom
you are right

Posted: at 6-07-2014 07:46 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kabu-kabu at 6-07-2014 07:55 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: sophy042 on  6-07-2014 04:29 PM
ERROR
its the catholics that lack the knowledge of the word of God
If they want to do the will of anyone its the will of God they will do, y should u go to mary if u need anything from God? If u want to ask ur father for shchool fees or feeding money will u go through his Mother? John 14:13, 1john 5:14. U catholics should read ur bible so that ur eyes of understanding will be opened. REFUSE and REJECT errer
You read without comprehension; you and your fellows are students who know better than their teacher. The law says that you should not make such images as gods unto yourself. But take a look at this instances of images directed by God Himself: Exodus 4; 2 - 5 " The Lord said to him, what is that in your hand?" He said "A rod." And he said cast it on the ground, and it became a serpent;..."  Here God works through the medium of Moses' rod. Again Pharaoh's Moses' rod becomes serpent and consumes Pharaoh's magicians serpents. It was with the same rod that Moses parted the sea and closed it on Pharaoh and his soldiers. Exodus 17: 5 - 6, here Moses hits the rock with the same rod in his hand and makes water and the thirsty Israelites had water to drink. Note that the Ten Commandments was written on images of stone. Exodus 37: 1 - 16: here, the Ark of the Covenant was made with images of Angels.  Numbers 21: 8 - 9; the bronze serpent put up on a pole which is the symbol today worn by doctors, and as symbol for hospitals and anything health. And more and on and on and on.
On the other hand, since you know it all, why did God himself made our Lord and savior Jesus Christ come through the Blessed Virgin Mary? He could have just made Jesus come out of the blue but He chose a woman as prophesied by Prophet Joel that a certain virgin shall conceive and bear a son who will save the world. The Angel Gabriel saluted Mary instead of Mary saluting Him.  Now are you saying you are most knowing than God by you being disrespectful to the rout through which Jesus came?  John 19: 25 - 27; "... Woman behold your son!" Son behold your mother" .  At the great wedding feast, the servants in order to get to Jesus, had to go through Jesus' mother.  
"The wise one hears and becomes wiser".
Posted: at 6-07-2014 07:55 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Woman Shares Text Message She Received From Her Father After She Missed His Call Twice

2. Yul Edochie Takes His Second Wife, Judy Austin To His Village In Anambra

3. I Have No Hand in The Killing - Delta Monarch Cries Out After Being Declared Wanted by The Army

4. Newly Wedded Wife Bathes Husband With Hot Water For Stopping Her From Making Calls

5. Renowned Nigerian Playwright, Wole Oguntokun Is Dead

6. How Woman Suffered Organ Failure From Hair Cream Which Caused Her Kidney To Shut Down

7. "Don’t Curse Nigeria, Remove Bad Leaders In 2027" – Tinubu To Religious Leaders

8. 'I Can't Drive Any Of My Kids Away If DNA Test Shows They're Not My Biological Children' - Man

9. BREAKING! CBN Increases Capital Base For Commercial Banks

10. AGAIN! Nigeria Thrown Into Darkness As National Grid Collapses Ahead Of Easter Holidays

11. 17Yr Old Girl Raped And Strangled To Death By Her Cousin In South Africa

12. He Sees Liam As A Competitor And A Threat- Late Mohbad’s Wife, Wunmi Laments

13. Chinese Boss Beaten Blue And Black Over Unpaid Salary By Zimbabwean Workers

14. Court Orders Release Of 313 Suspected Terrorists In Borno

15. VIDEO: Fans Treat Rema Like King After Visiting Benin For The First Time In 6 Years

16. Court Remands 42Yr Old Man For Allegedly Defiling & Impregnating 11Yr Old Girl In Lagos

17. Police Apprehend 22 Thuggery Suspects, Declare 30 Wanted In Kano

18. Falana Reveals It’s Illegal To Declare Suspects, Wanted

19. 400L Nasarawa Varsity Student, John Rudeh Declared Missing After Palliative Stampede

20. Delta King Declared Wanted Over Okuama Killing, Surrenders Self

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

6. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

7. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

8. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)