What are Your Thoughts on Jonathan Abolishing The Age Limit for Presidency?

Date: 11-08-2014 3:12 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 11-08-2014 03:12 PM (10 years ago)

So over the weekend, news broke that President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan made a case for the amendment of the nation’s constitution to abolish the age limit for individuals who aspire to be the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
And of course, he got a lot of backlash from dignitaries, political activists and a few citizens.
Currently, the constitution demands that for anyone to be the President of Nigeria, he/she has to be at least 40 years old.
The commander-in-chief says the age limit is a discrimination against Nigerian youths who have all it requires to rule the country. He said this at an international youth summit organised by the Nigerian Youth Professionals Forum at the ICC, Abuja.
The youths have no limit in terms of number and capacity to lead this country to greatness. The only limit is that for youths to contest as President, they need to be 40.
If Gen. Yakubu Gowon was able to rule this country at 32, there is no reason why the youths should not be given the chance.
I think what the youth should do now is to come together, and I will support you, and take a bill to the National Assembly to amend some discriminatory provisions of the constitution in terms of age
.”

do you think a man or a woman in his/her 30s should rule Nigeria? Is it a risk as most individuals in the young age range do not have what would be assumed as enough experience to rule?

Let’s Talk About It!

Posted: at 11-08-2014 03:12 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osarobo62 at 11-08-2014 03:19 PM (10 years ago)
Mr President,
how many youths between the ages of 18 and 39 are ministers in your govt or are  governors from PDP controlled states Huh?
Posted: at 11-08-2014 03:19 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- long20 at 11-08-2014 03:38 PM (10 years ago)
Nice idea, pls mr presido pass the bill sharp sharp we dey ur side.
Posted: at 11-08-2014 03:38 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- HOPEA23 at 11-08-2014 03:42 PM (10 years ago)
Well America for one to be qualified he or she have to be 35years old or more..so not a big deal...
That's is not the main problem, whether 18years or 40years to be qualified to rule as the president of nigeria.
The problem is, will the candidate who is elected by the people to lead them ,will  he ot shebe able to put his or her citizens interest
first..

Posted: at 11-08-2014 03:42 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- seundavid88 at 11-08-2014 03:43 PM (10 years ago)
youths, are d leaders of tommorow dat it wat u quote say.
no Matter d ages
all we needs is a capeable leader, age doesn't matter mr president nd don't try to rule d youth out.
Posted: at 11-08-2014 03:43 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- prncex at 11-08-2014 03:47 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 11-08-2014 03:47 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- zeigbo at 11-08-2014 04:02 PM (10 years ago)
i think is a welcome development

Posted: at 11-08-2014 04:02 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 11-08-2014 04:06 PM (10 years ago)
warever  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 11-08-2014 04:06 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osamabinladin at 11-08-2014 05:23 PM (10 years ago)
Whatever !
Posted: at 11-08-2014 05:23 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- NaWahooo at 11-08-2014 07:01 PM (10 years ago)
Good idea. Cheesy
But what's the catch? Roll Eyes
You have someone for the job already, I guess  Huh?
Na only you and the ''young prezie'' to be go waka come  Huh?
We shall see  Cool
Posted: at 11-08-2014 07:01 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 11-08-2014 08:16 PM (10 years ago)
Supported
Posted: at 11-08-2014 08:16 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- christianida at 11-08-2014 08:47 PM (10 years ago)
yeye dey smell.
Posted: at 11-08-2014 08:47 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- zeigbo at 11-08-2014 08:51 PM (10 years ago)

Posted: at 11-08-2014 08:51 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chicco77 at 11-08-2014 08:53 PM (10 years ago)
i think is a nice idea
Posted: at 11-08-2014 08:53 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dames at 11-08-2014 09:21 PM (10 years ago)
Watever...
Posted: at 11-08-2014 09:21 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- harryduke at 11-08-2014 09:35 PM (10 years ago)
we all bliv in action not for mouth oooooooo
Posted: at 11-08-2014 09:35 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Nurtado at 11-08-2014 10:00 PM (10 years ago)
This must be a serious matter cos non of the senate, house of assembly members are under 40yrs even the governors are not under 40yrs?
Posted: at 11-08-2014 10:00 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- bjshamir22 at 11-08-2014 10:15 PM (10 years ago)
there is more to this sudden move trust me.
Posted: at 11-08-2014 10:15 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- darlington_iyke at 11-08-2014 11:54 PM (10 years ago)
Mr. Presido....I support you wella...the ones that have been in power haven't done any good for the country rather than stealing also we need more women in the government house i.e. there should be equal rights....David was not 40yrs before he was anointed...We the youths are the future of our Great Nation Nigeria
Posted: at 11-08-2014 11:54 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- DrSoba at 12-08-2014 06:49 AM (10 years ago)
Politrick
Posted: at 12-08-2014 06:49 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Sowore, Adeyanju Join Peter Obi, Others to Lead #FREEDELEFAROTIMI Campaign Online

2. Pastor Tobi Adegboyega Loses Deportation Battle After His Church Was Shutdown Over £1.87m Fraud

3. 'Lagos Is Wild, How Do We Find Wives In This Kind Of Place' - Reality TV Star, Tochi Queries

4. I'm Only With You For Money, I'll Quit Any Day You Marry Another –Queen Dami Threatens Portable

5. New Notes: Police Officers Stole N43.16m Cash Of N74.9m From Owners, Declared N31.7m

6. A Country That Has More Religious Billboards Than Industrial Billboards Will Be Poor -Nigerian

7. Ogun Student Teacher Attempts Suic!de After She Accidentally Caused Damaged to Pupil's Eye

8. Grace Is Our Story! HICC Pastor Bolaji Idowu Affirms After His Release Over N1.5B Fraud

9. Highest Execution Toll in Decades As Saudi Authorities Put to Death Over 300 People in 2024

10. South Africa Relaxes Visa Rules For Nigerian Tourists And Business People

11. Why Petrol Price Won't Reduce Despite P'Harcourt Refinery Being in Operation — PENGASSAN

12. FCT Police to Start Impounding of Vehicles With Tinted Glasses

13. Ogun Police Confirm Suspected Assassination Of Hotel Guest

14. 3 Kidnapped As Gunmen Kill Pastor, Apostle Ranti Ige-Daniel On His Way To Burial In Kogi

15. Man Narrates How He Escaped After His Friend Lured Him To Kidnappers' Den In Anambra

16. Nigerians React To Prize Money Given To Best Graduating Law Student

17. Husband Who Survived Arson Attack That Killed Wife And Children Dies In Lagos

18. Actor Francis Duru Mourns His Son, Ifeanyi, Who Would Have Turned 16 Today

19. Harvesters Pastor Bolaji Idowu Speaks On ₦1.5bn Fraud Allegations

20. Political Fiction! French President Emmanuel Macron Dismisses Calls For Him To Resign

1. Popular Skitmaker, Phoebe Reacts As Her Alleged S3x Tape Leaks, Video Goes Viral

2. Egungun Of Lagos Caught In Cheating Scandal Amid Blackmail Drama

3. Alarm Raised As Six Girls Go Missing After Attending House Party In Lekki (Video)

4. Husband Discovers Wife's Shocking Secret After Hacking Her WhatsApp Account: A Plan Of Despair

5. Toke Makinwa Reveals $700 Face Mask Expense, Calls Her Skin Her "Most Expensive Asset" (Video)

6. Boko Haram Commander, Abubakar Shekau Killed In Yobe State Military Clash

7. "₦27bn IGR Behind Fubara, Wike Rift, INEC Now APC Member" – Deji Adeyanju (Video)

8. Lekki Big Boy, Jago Accuses Ex-Girlfriend Of Using Him For Money, Demands Gifts Back (Video)

9. Legendary Musician, 2Baba Shares Insightful Encounter With Peter Obi At The Airport (Video)

10. Nigerian Man Reveals Why He Chose A Senegalese Wife Over A Nigerian Woman