Ebola: Relatives And Colleagues Bemoan Treatment Of Victims In Lagos

Date: 15-08-2014 10:43 am (9 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 15-08-2014 10:43 AM (9 years ago)

As the number of Ebola victims in Nigeria increased to 4 with the death of Justina Ejelonu, the negligible situation of the patients and suspected cases in isolation have become visible.
Relatives and colleagues of a female medical doctor and other health workers who contracted the Ebola virus from Liberian Patrick Sawyer, called journalists for a press conference in Ikoyi, Lagos and disclosed how the victims have been left in horrible conditions and not properly taken care of.
Boyo-Ekwueme, a pathologist, and one of the concerned relatives painted a picture of utter neglect of the female doctor and her medical colleagues who have been placed in isolation at the Infectious Diseases Hospital in Lagos (IDH).
The pathologist who claimed to have been to the IDH in company with other family members and professional colleagues alleged that the Ebola patients were not being properly looked after.
Arguing that proper basic treatment and immune boosting drugs that can be of help to the patients were generally lacking, she concluded that only “international help” could make them live a little longer.
She lamented thus; “We are not fighting anybody. We are simply giving voice to the voiceless. Those people in isolation at the IDH cannot voice out these concerns. Let them have basic treatment. It shouldn’t be as if we just stood there and abandon them and watch them die one by one.
“They are human beings. That female doctor is a patriotic Nigerian and she needs to be helped. You people (journalists) should go there and see the surroundings where they are being treated. You would wonder if these are human beings who still have relatives. “They are just being left on their own. Nobody is counselling them. They are just there as if they have been forgotten. We should remember that they didn’t ask to contract Ebola and it can happen to anybody. We are appealing for international help for these health workers.”
Spokesperson for the group of seven concerned family members and colleagues of the Ebola victims, Dr. Ladi Okuboyejo, stated that people, including medical personnel deployed were now running away from the ailing victims. He insisted that the conditions under which the Ebola victims were being looked after was appalling. Okuboyejo, a medical practitioner, stated that there was a dearth of requisite drugs and basic medical supplies needed by the victims, adding that the poor general sanitary condition of the isolation facility was despicable.
He stated; “If a health facility doesn’t have light, doesn’t have water and the sanitary system is not working properly, then we have got a problem. Now the patients are critically ill and their condition is getting worse by day. People, including some medical personnel, are now running away from them.
“The reality is that the disease is beyond our capacity to handle in this country. The international community needs to rise up to our aid. The victims are not being properly treated. Forget that the Nigeria Medical Association is on strike, we cannot handle it.”

Another immediate family member of one of the patients, Deji Akinyanju, who declined to name his ailing relative, stated that the feedbacks he has got from the isolation centre showed that the Ebola victims’ health was fast deteriorating.
He alleged that the Nigerian physicians working with the American WHO experts were those with little or no experience in managing the highly contagious disease. With a note of disappointment in his voice, Akinyanju, who said he had been visiting his critically ill relative at the IDH stated that the WHO experts have also highlighted the need for more experienced hands to help salvage what remains of the health of the isolated health workers.
“There is a need for more medical personnel that will help look after them. Certain immune booster could also have been easily given to them. We are just concerned family members. But from what we have seen, we think more can be done to help them.”

Posted: at 15-08-2014 10:43 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 15-08-2014 11:17 AM (9 years ago)
God i beg o  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 15-08-2014 11:17 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Kennycynth at 15-08-2014 11:25 AM (9 years ago)
hmmmm! so so sad!
Posted: at 15-08-2014 11:25 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chylind5 at 15-08-2014 11:34 AM (9 years ago)
So So Pathetic. They don't deserve this at all. I feel their pain..
Posted: at 15-08-2014 11:34 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- omapretty at 15-08-2014 11:43 AM (9 years ago)
God help us
Posted: at 15-08-2014 11:43 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicco77 at 15-08-2014 11:51 AM (9 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 15-08-2014 11:51 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- flexy4real247 at 15-08-2014 11:54 AM (9 years ago)
very pathetic situation. God help your children in isolation!!
Posted: at 15-08-2014 11:54 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- seveneleven at 15-08-2014 12:20 PM (9 years ago)
Only God can heal and save
Posted: at 15-08-2014 12:20 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- bintalove1 at 15-08-2014 12:22 PM (9 years ago)
i feel their pain
Posted: at 15-08-2014 12:22 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Abubu86 at 15-08-2014 12:44 PM (9 years ago)
God's intervention dats wat we needed
Posted: at 15-08-2014 12:44 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 15-08-2014 01:15 PM (9 years ago)
They were all attending and giving a better health attention to that stupid foreigner(sawyer) and refusing to treat their follow countrymen. What a country.
Posted: at 15-08-2014 01:15 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- whizspecoy at 15-08-2014 09:02 PM (9 years ago)
Now i see why dat nurse fled d centre to relocate with her family before she eventually died
Posted: at 15-08-2014 09:02 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- joseusi007 at 15-08-2014 09:33 PM (9 years ago)
not surprise at all . Where is the billion jonathan is talking of on air is it going to the campaign purse. God will expose all
Posted: at 15-08-2014 09:33 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- etiese at 15-08-2014 11:11 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 15-08-2014 11:11 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- mensch at 16-08-2014 08:20 AM (9 years ago)
in a situation like these, people must pay the price,
am feeling for those who a doing that now
but lets not forget how dangerious that ebola is
Posted: at 16-08-2014 08:20 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blackdudu at 16-08-2014 09:07 AM (9 years ago)
make una c wahala oooooooooooooooo

http://www.nigerianbulletin.com/threads/lagos-govt-insists-on-zmapp-for-ebola-treatment-rejects-nano-silver.88445/
Posted: at 16-08-2014 09:07 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- godslove1 at 16-08-2014 09:54 AM (9 years ago)
HAVE YOU SEE WHY I CALL NIGERIA THE ZOOLOGICAL ZOO, SOME IDIOT WILL COME OUT SINGING FOR ONE NIGERIA  WE LOVE OUR SELF, IF NIGERIA IS ONE THEY WILL LOOK FOR BATTER SOLUTION TO TREAT THIS PEOPLE, AND LOOK AT WHAT IS HAPPENING EVERY BODY IS SCALING AWAY, WHAT A COUNTRY AND JONATHAN IS THEIR MENTION BILLION BILLION DOLLAR TO FIGHT BOKO BOYS NOT KNOWING THAT THIS EBOLA IS READY TO WIDE HIS FAMILY AWAY, TO THE PEOPLE THAT RUN AWAY FROM THIS PEOPLE, I HOPE YOU KNOW THAT THIS EBOLA VICTIM'S DID NOT ASK FOR THIS SICKNESS REMEMBER YOU DONT KNOW TOMORROW.........
Posted: at 16-08-2014 09:54 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Ololababs at 16-08-2014 11:06 AM (9 years ago)
Patric Sawyer have ruined so many lives, d same way ur family we know no peace. Anytime we remember or curse ur name, ur families who share this name with u shall be cursed for ever! Toh!!! We don't understand y u did not run to ur family in d first place and let them perish with u instead targeting an innocent country with ur madness at d point of death. Sawyer's wife still has d mouth to talk? The elders are on her case and very soon she will come out and beg d Nigerians for forgiveness on behalf of her mad husband by the time they finish dealing with her and d rest of their family. Every time people suffer and die everyday in Nigeria because of Patrick Sawyer, but his family will also have d same experience wherever they may be in dis world.

Nigerians have good heart but when some people take d peace, they dey get what they deserve!

We pray for d innocent souls who have lost d battle to rest in peace and God should help those that are still struggling with d deadly virus. This is just too much for Nigeria but there's nothing God cannot do. Our prayers goes to the victim's families as well.
Posted: at 16-08-2014 11:06 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- LINDAB at 16-08-2014 05:48 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: beneno on 15-08-2014 11:17 AM
God i beg o  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
let them visit synagogue  and stop complining let the GOD OF SENIOR PROPHET TB JOSHUA HEAL THEM
Posted: at 16-08-2014 05:48 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming

1. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

2. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

3. Actor, Zubby Michael Finally Mourns Late Colleague Junior Pope, Netizens React

4. I Saw it Very Clearly - Nigerian Pastor Insists World Will End Today, April 25th

5. Passengers Stranded, Flights Disrupted as Fire Breaks Out at Lagos Airport

6. “Man Wearing Wig” - Blessing CEO Causes Commotion Online With Her Recent Dance Video

7. Shops, Residential Houses Demolished by Ebonyi Govt For Construction of New Flyover

8. Emotional Moment Nigerian Lady Based in UK Surprising Returned Home After 14yrs (Video)

9. Oyo State Government Declares Friday Half Working Day For Local Govt Election

10. How Police Inspector Aliyu Taofeek Sent Patrick Chinemerem to His Early Grave in Lagos

11. Shocking Video: Anambra Man Flogged to De@th by His Kinsmen Over Dispute on Family Property

12. FCCPC Raids Supermarkets in Port Harcourt, Seizes Underweight And Re-bagged Rice

13. About 118 Inmates Escape After Heavy Rainstorm Destroyed Prison in Niger State

14. Suspects Arrested Over Murder of 46yrs Old British-Nigerian Man, Okechukwu Iweha in London

3. 'Brand Ambassador', Phyna Calls Out Pepsi For Supplying Her Expired Drinks

4. How Past Abia Govt Paid N107.2 Bn To Contractors For Non-existent Abia Airport & Other Projects

5. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

7. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

9. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

10. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper